New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

L.A: Stosur, Shazza, Flavia Through

Posted by gauloises1 on August 8, 2009

In ‘the other match I saw last night’, Samantha Stosur beat Zheng Jie Jie Zheng 46 63 64.

stosur

I’m thinking radioactive spider bite.

Zheng got off to a flier, but by the middle of the second set Sam was picking up her serve much better and finding her range on the forehand, and that was pretty much all she wrote. Another great run for Sam, who has the chance to make her first final of the year when she faces a blistered Sorana Cirstea in the semis tonight.

zjjz

A shame for Zheng, who is frankly adorable. I just wish she’d put together results like this on a  more consistent basis.

Next up was Shazza, who beat Urszula Radwanska 64 75. I can’t speak as to what actually happened in this match as I was asleep, but I’m getting the impression that Shazza was once again plagued by double faults. Still, Urszula must have put up some fairly determined resistance. I actually think she’s better than Agnieszka, or at least can bring more to the court, but lacks her sister’s level head. And AmyLu agrees with me, so I must be right.

shazzaurszula

I would like to know what exactly Urszula thinks she’s wearing, but that’s neither here nor there. I can’t decide if I love it or hate it. It definitely beats Agnieszka’s outfit, that’s for sure.

And in the quarter-final that it seems nobody saw, Flavia Pennetta beat Vera Zvonareva 64 62. Not a huge surprise. At least Vera seems to have recovered her tantrum-throwing form with impressive speed.

flaviavera racquet smash

So the real question is, can Flavia put an end to Shazza’s run and make the final again? What do you think?

Today’s OOP:

Stadium (from 12.00hrs)
1. King/Niculescu vs. Chuang/Yan
2. Stosur vs. Cirstea (NB 14.00hrs)
3. Sharapova vs. Pennetta (NB 19.00hrs)
4. Kirilenko/A.Radwanska vs. Hsieh/Peng

4 Responses to “L.A: Stosur, Shazza, Flavia Through”

  1. AmyLu said

    The second set of the Maria/Urszula match was a train-wreck of sorts, for differing reasons, but I found the first set to be highly entertaining with quality tennis. In the first set, I thought Maria played about the best tennis I’d seen from her since her return. Both JJ and I were marveling at Urszula — she’s just oozing natural talent. I think she hits with more power than her sister, but still has her sister’s ability to redirect the ball. She, however, is also plagued by a powder-puff second serve, which Maria was devouring all night. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Maria hit so many return winners in a match before.

    In the second set, Maria was broken three straight times on a double-fault. Her service games were mostly filled with double-faults while Urszula’s were filled with weak second serves. Urszula actually had a great chance to hold (when she broke Maria the last time — I can’t remember the score). She was up 40-0, and then she hit an absolutely atrocious backhand. It was a terrible unforced error as Maria’s ball was short and Urszula was well inside the baseline when she hit it — she just mistimed it, and it was a really wild shot. It’s the first time all match I can recall her hitting a WTF shot (prior to that most of her UFEs were buried forehands in the net, which coincedntally reminded me of Nalbandian, as that tends to be his MO on the error front — actually she reminds me somewhat of Nalbandian in her ability to hit really cleanly and redirect the ball), and as soon as she did it, JJ said I bet she gets broken. She’s going to keep thinking about that BH. Sure enough, errors flew off Urszula’s racket, Maria broke, and Urszula was deflated. She’s rather combustible, and I don’t think she’s as intelligent on court as her sister — I have no doubt that her sister would have taken that second set, which Urszula really should have won.

    All credit to Maria, though. She doesn’t get down on herself and just competes relentlessly. Both JJ and I don’t think she’s all that natural of an athlete or has a natural tennis talent a la Murray (or Urszula for that matter — I’d argue she has more pure talent than Maria does). But what Maria has in spades is will. And mental strength, and all I can say is even though I’m not a fan, Maria, I respect that immensely about you. (And for the record not at all trying to denigrate Maria or her win — she earned that win last night. And I’m very much a fan of an individual who maximizes her strengths and overcomes any “liability” with those strengths).

    • AmyLu said

      Dear lord, I wrote a novel. Sorry!

      And, may I say, Forza Flavia! She’s always been one of my favorites, and I’m so happy she’s doing well here.

      • gauloises1 said

        Never apologise for writing many insightful words :)

        You’re like my correspondent who actually watches the matches.

  2. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    I really like what Urzula is wearing from the front. The back kind of kills it for me. Does she have a clothing sponsor? And it’s definitely better than what her sister is wearing. Bear fur (with the bear still attached) is better than what her sister is wearing.

    Forza Flavia!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

