New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Cincinnati: This is Starting to Suck

Posted by gauloises1 on August 19, 2009

The Mariners sunk without trace tonight as Marin lost in straight sets to David Ferrer.

ferru

In further knees news, Gonzo was forced to retire against Tomas Berdych. Sad face. Two more seeds fell, as Guillermo Garcia-Lopez scored a great – if somewhat baffling – win against Fernando Verdasco, and Hewitt put paid to Robin Soderling in his first tournament back after his elbow injury.

ggl

Well done to GG-L. And frankly, given the state of Verdasco’s hair, it was a blessing.

nando

In this photo it looks kind of like an awesome beehive. It wasn’t.

Results

Singles – Second Round
[9] G Simon (FRA) d I Andreev (RUS) 76(5) 67(6) 61
D Ferrer (ESP) d [14] M Cilic (CRO) 76(4) 62

Singles – First Round
T Berdych (CZE) d [10] F Gonzalez (CHI) 64 ret. (knee)
G Garcia-Lopez (ESP) d [11] F Verdasco (ESP) 76(4) 76(4)
L Hewitt (AUS) d [12] R Soderling (SWE) 36 76(8) 63 – saved 2 M.P.
[Q] M Youzhny (RUS) d V Hanescu (ROU) 75 62
J Melzer (AUT) d F Lopez (ESP) 57 76(4) 76(7)
A Seppi (ITA) d [Q] J Hernych (CZE) 36 64 61
[Q] C Guccione (AUS) d P Kohlschreiber (GER) 75 26 63
I Kunitsyn (RUS) d J Blake (USA) 76(5) 67(5) 64
P Petzschner (GER) d [Q] S Bolelli (ITA) 76(6) 63
[WC] J Isner (USA) vs T Haas (GER)

Doubles – Second Round
R Lindstedt (SWE) / M Melo (BRA) vs [2] D Nestor (CAN) / N Zimonjic (SRB)

Doubles – First Round
M Llodra (FRA) / J Tsonga (FRA) d J Melzer (AUT) / R Stepanek (CZE) 76(2) 64

Wednesday’s OOP:

cincy wed

6 Responses to “Cincinnati: This is Starting to Suck”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    Great: RobSod, my sort-of boyfriend, is out. Didn’t quite anticipate that happening. Maybe his elbow injury is really a problem — could he have permanently hurt his funny bone?
    Yoking, just yoking!

    Tomorrow’s OoP seems to be interesting —
    Sex v. Safin!?
    Federer v. CHUCHO??!
    BEAUTY (Paul H. Mathieu) v. THE BEAST (Dr. Ivo) ????
    (The above title could have also have been used for the potential Chardy / Haas pairing.)

  2. AmyLu said

    I would really like the time back that I spent trying to watch Blake/Kunitsyn today. Ugh. The tennis was just terrible. Although I’m thrilled for Kolya that Blake lost — for some reason he can’t beat Blake. Ever. Including on clay. So I feared he would lose to Blake, but Kunitsyn prevented that from happening.

    And tomorrow’s OoP is loaded. I’m very glad that I have nowhere to be tomorrow — so it’ll be me, my laptop, and tennis. My favorite type of day — productivity and tennis. :)

  3. linz said

    I just typed “I can’t believe that Blake lost” and then quickly erased it because I realized it was a blatant lie. Nice thought though.

    Nando- the hair is out of control. It’s taken on a life of its own. You own the hair, the hair does not own you.

    Sorry about Marin, but I am happy to see Ferru playing well. I’ll never forget that match he had against Rafa in the ’07 Open- it’d be great to see him play well there again this year.

    And wow, you’re right AmyLu- an AMAZING OOP tomorrow! Enjoy your day of tennis-watching and I look forward to hearing your insights!

    I really don’t know what to do with Cincy. I think it scares me.

  4. AmyLu said

    Linz, Cincy scares me and makes me feel like I know nothing about tennis. For the first time ever I made picks in the ATP challenge thing. JJ always does it, and he told me to make picks for him in Cincy because he didn’t feel like making them. I’m doing absolutely atrociously. It’s really rather sad. Somehow I don’t think he’ll ask me to make picks for him again in the future…

  5. linz said

    Hahaha, yeah, I have done almost every single bracket challenge and have been almost dead last in every single one of them. It seems to defy the laws of probability! I like doing them though because they get me familiar with the draw in a way that reading a PDF doesn’t.

    I feel like I’m a bit rattled by Cincy because DC had such a stacked draw this year, so it already feels like we’ve had two really big tournaments back-to-back and therefor Cincy is honestly just a bit of overkill (probably moreso for Roddick and Elf fans). I’m sure I’ll get more into it as the week goes on, there are some incredibly intriguing matchups!

  6. lauren said

    Blake / Kunitsyn on tv last night. I decided to clean out the cat litter trays. Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

