New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Miami: A Good Week’s Work

Posted by gauloises1 on April 5, 2010

Andy Roddick d. Tomas Berdych 75 64

I want to tickle underneath his chin.

Ten years after appearing in the Sony Ericsson Open for the first time at the age of 17, courtesy of a wildcard, Andy Roddick won his second title in Miami after beating Nadal on the way. Nice work. I’ve only seen highlights from the final, but it looks like Roddick did a nice job of keeping Berdych discombobulated and on the back  foot, not really allowing him to build any rhythm.

He may not have been really in the final, but Berdych did brilliantly to get there against the opponents he faced and mastering the trick of actually stringing big wins together. Still, the story is Andy this week. It’s true that with Delpo and Kolya injured and Murray, Djokovic and Federer losing early, the only higher-ranked opponent he faced was Nadal, but with the way Rafa was playing earlier in the week, that was a huge win. And it’s fantastic to see someone who has repeatedly been written off or marginalised proving, once again, that he deserves to be in the conversation.

His pressers, as always, are down to earth and charming, too:

Q. Could you talk a little bit perhaps about the maturing that you’ve undergone? 
ANDY RODDICK:  I get a lot credit.  I’m not that mature.  I get a lot credit for it right now for like the last six months.  I went from the most immature person on the planet to maturity.  I like it. 
 
Q. It’s fairly commendable, though. 
ANDY RODDICK:  Thank you.  Your turn.

[...]

Q. You hadn’t won a Masters Series event since 2006.  Did you ever doubt you could win another one, and is this a big relief for you?
ANDY RODDICK:  There’s always any athlete who says they don’t have a “what if” moment probably isn’t being too honest with you.
I’ve certainly what my share of them throughout the course of my career. You know, I talked about this a lot after Wimbledon last year, but even after ’08 Wimbledon I openly talked to Brook and wondered if the best of it was gone.
I didn’t know. I honestly didn’t know. But I knew there was a way to find out, and that was to kind of go back to the drawing board and give myself every opportunity to succeed. 
Luckily, that’s given me some good days.

[...]

Q.  Given the in past year you’ve been known for your many achievements outside of tennis, do you feel that maybe the fates were with you, that you also won because today is Easter Sunday and we’re in the middle of Passover? 
ANDY RODDICK:  Hadn’t thought about it.  But I’ll take some divine intervention any time it wants to help me out.  I’m not above it.

source

And oh yeah, he also found time this week to appear alongside Gonzo, Jim Courier and Guga Kuerten in a charity exhibition which raised $125,000 for victims of the Chilean earthquake:

So yeah. I think we can call that a full week.

11 Responses to “Miami: A Good Week’s Work”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    CONGRATS to Linz and other ARod fans who have had might heavy hearts these past few months …

    and too bad Berd couldn’t pull out a win, but he seemed happy enough to be at the final. And at least he didn’t really crash and burn.

    • linz said

      THANKS love!! Yes this surely helped the heavy hearts =)

      Berd played well enough for it to be a tense final (well, to be fair, I would have been tense if it was 6-0 5-0), and I’m glad he had a good week- it’ll be interesting to see how he plays on clay (I have no clue if he’s a good clay court player now that I think of it)

  2. irefusetotellyou said

    P.S: Anyone else (who watched US TV coverage) think that Mary Carillo has a major crush on Berd? I think she was about .23 seconds away from running on court and making out with him.

  3. AmyLu said

    Many congratulations to Linz and the other Roddick fans — truly am happy for you that Roddick won Miami (and he certainly has played really impressively in IW and Miami).

    In between IW and Miami, I feel like someone has ripped my heart out and stomped on it repeatedly so I can’t say I’m sorry to see the end of hardcourts for a bit. Although I’m beyond terrified of the clay season at the moment so I’m not quite sure what I wish for in tennis right now…maybe an off-season? ;-)

    • linz said

      Thanks AmyLu!

      *hugs* I hope Rafa bounces back in the clay season, he certainly looked amazing most of the time in Miami, and only lost in 3 sets in the semis to on-fire opponents (both of who went on to win the tourney!). Not bad for his worst surface, right?

  4. linz said

    THIS IS MY FAVORITE POST EVER.

    “And it’s fantastic to see someone who has repeatedly been written off or marginalised proving, once again, that he deserves to be in the conversation.”

    *hugs G*

    The only thing that could have made this week better is if the Hit for Chile had been televised. But overall it had just been an amazing month- I was unsure after his form earlier this year if he was going to ever get back to being relevant again, and I’m just so glad he once again proved me wrong. This winning stuff is fun =D

  5. Budour said

    Such a beautiful post, G, thanks so much!! :)
    Like Linz, I’m beyond thrilled he, once again, proved us wrong. I was starting to doubt his ability to compete with the top guys and to win important stuff again. The first set and a half against Rafa only enhanced my fears but then he stepped up big time. I am still basking in the afterglow… almost forgot how fun winning can be.
    Oh, and this was the best way to celebrate my 10th Andy anniversary. Could not have possibly asked for more.

  6. Budour said

    Ps–*hugs Amy* I truly hope Rafa has a stunning clay-court season. I’m on the Rafa for Monte Carlo bus! :)

  7. Master Ace said

    Roddick was the man during the North American spring hardcourt swing therefore, it was only fitting that he won at least one of the two.

  8. Maria1 said

    Congrats to Roddick, and well done to Vampire (Berdych) for getting to the final anyhoo. First time I’ve ever heard him speak! His voice kinda reminded me of Kolya.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

