New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Glass Half-Full (of Chocolate Vodka)

Posted by gauloises1 on April 27, 2010

Which does exist, and it’s disgusting. Anyway, ahead of her return to the courts in Stuttgart this week after being absent since the Australian Open with a recurring back injury (a double stress fracture and a ruptured muscle), Dinara Safina revealed that she’s frightened that the injury, if exacerbated, could mean the end of her career:

“My physio is here and I really want to take it step by step. I only started playing on court again on April 3.

“Everybody, including my brother Marat (Safin), told me to take my time but it was really difficult because I wanted to come back on court so badly.

“Right now I feel safe and comfortable, but I need to watch closely that it stays that way.

“My back injury is the worst you can get, because if things go wrong again, that might be it for my professional career altogether.” [...]

“There is no way that you can go easy on a lower back injury,” she added.

“With a broken arm or leg, you can rest it, but with your back it is almost impossible.”

Cheery stuff. However, this being Dinara, there’s an upside:

It has made me realise how much I love tennis.

“I just want to get back on court. Regarding things like rankings, titles, defending points – who really cares?”

source

Could we really see a new, live-for-the-moment, life-affirming Dinara, playing without a crushing weight of pressure visibly dragging her shoulders down?

No. But it’s amusing to imagine it.

11 Responses to “Glass Half-Full (of Chocolate Vodka)”

  1. AmyLu said

    Here’s hoping all goes well — I’m keeping fingers crossed that she’s not coming back too soon. I’ve really missed her. And, I give her half a set at most for playing without the weight of pressure on her. :)

    • gauloises1 said

      I know. I can see the new, relaxed, improved Dinara who just wants to enjoy her tennis lasting right up until the first service break.

      I had no idea how much I’d missed her until I read these quotes. I really hope I get to watch her play this week (unlikely, but …). Davai!

  2. lauren said

    My god, I actually had a dream with Dinara in last night. And she was laughing.
    I bet it has been a fascinating period in the Safin household – probably the first time since Marat was 13 that they were all at home at the same time. I’m guessing it will have done Dinara the power of good. Fingers crossed the back will let her play properly again.

    • gauloises1 said

      Do we get any more details about the dream? Or was Dinara just cackling in a corner?

      • lauren said

        Apparently she came to visit me in some bizarre city, and we were having a great time. Sadly I woke up just as Marat arrived. Damn.

  3. Nic said

    Even though I’ve really missed her, when these comments came through, suddenly I didn’t want her to play Stuttgart anymore. I want her to take as much time as it takes, and even if she says she’s well, to take a bit more. Last time she said she was well enough, she came back for Sydney and then the AO happened. I don’t want to be constantly waiting for this injury to resurface, and especially not now that there is the threat that if it does that would be the end.

    And on a final note:

    Chocolate… Yaaaaaammmmmmmmi!!!

    • linz said

      I agree. Because the thought of Dinara being gone forever is too soul crushing to bear. At least if she’s taking time there’s hope.

    • Claire said

      Oh dear – now I am worried too! But then, I am always half watching Dinaras matches from behind a large glass of wine so I guess now is not a good time to change old habits. Fingers crossed that the injury stays away and Dinara stays smiley.

    • gauloises1 said

      I know what you mean. It does feel a bit rushed.

      Just hoping for the best really.

  4. naughty T....urbane gentleman said

    Also … G?? Not a fan of a chocolate martini????

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

