New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Blogging Advisory: Cryogenically Unfrozen

Posted by gauloises1 on January 19, 2011

Well. It got a bit dusty in here, didn’t it?

It’s been about five months since I went on sabbatical, and I think – I think – I’m back. I stopped blogging because I was having a crisis of … well, everything; time and confidence and direction and so on. I didn’t have the time and energy to deliver what I wanted, and even if I had, I wouldn’t have been able to deliver it, because I wasn’t sure exactly what it was. I didn’t know what kind of blogger I wanted to be, or what kind of writer, or whether those two could be the same thing. Also, I was getting up at six a.m. and it was making me really tired.

You’ll be pleased to know that I’ve addressed and resolved to my satisfaction precisely none of those issues. I still don’t know what I’m doing with this blog, or what I want to be doing, or how I’d go about doing what I wanted to be doing even if I knew what it was. But the one thing that’s become clear is that I really miss writing about tennis on a daily basis. And now that I’m differently employed again, there’s no reason for me not to do that (apart from all the very good reasons listed above).

Also, I really miss having an excuse to post lots of photos of players.

So I find myself in a strange new world. I put this blog to sleep back in August, when there was still conjecture that JMDP would play the US Open, when Serena was supposed to be back pretty soon, when Murray was allegedly on the brink of winning his first Slam for about the twelfth time. And while New Balls, Please has slumbered peacefully, immune to the winds of chance, the spectacle of Slams and season-ending championships and Davis Cups have flickered fitfully before its unseeing eyes.

And now it rubs the crusty bits from its eyes, adjusts its tangled underwear, and emerges from the rumpled sheets of time to find a bright, shiny new order, where Serena isn’t playing, and Ana Ivanovic is toiling, and Caroline Wozniacki’s consistency is being rewarded, and Gulbis is losing early, and Federer and Nadal are dominating Slams and the WTFs and are all anybody seems to talk about. It’s freaky. We’re through the looking glass here, people.

No, my references haven’t got any less dated.

And with my usual impeccable timing, I’ve chosen to make this grand return right slap bang on the third day of the (so far insanely fun) Australian Open, just to force myself to really hit the ground running.

So let’s see if I still remember how to do this …

19 Responses to “Blogging Advisory: Cryogenically Unfrozen”

  1. linz said

    This makes me really, REALLY happy.

  2. Saoirse said

    OMYGOD OMYGOD OMIGOD, SHE’S BACK! (I knew that checking on a daily basis would eventually pay!)
    I will admit that your ‘departure’ left me as confused as a hungry baby in a topless bar… Welcome back you awesome creature!

  3. SA said

    You’re back. And with Futurama screen caps.

    Finally the tennis blogging world has become full circle again.

  4. sophienz said

    Welcome back :)

  5. Hart said

    You’re back!!

    somewhere, a chorus of titanium-wristed Tandil-ese cherubs are singing hymns of joy while drilling 110mph forehands…or something.

    so! what’s next?
    :)

  6. Kristin said

    HUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!

  7. lauren said

    *doing a little happy dance* Yesssssss!

  8. Silvia said

    Hello there!!! So happy to see you’re back! Welcome :)

  9. yellybean said

    woooooooooooooooooooooooot!!! weeepteeedeeep tee! :))))))

  10. twinningstea said

    These un-retirements are sooo last year!

  11. AmyLu said

    YAY! Am completely late to this news, due to an absolutely crazy week work-wise, but I’m SO happy you’re back blogging! :)

  12. MoneyPenny said

    Welcome back! I’m so glad you’ve got your mojo back. What a great way to start a new season.

  13. PoorLittleMonique said

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!! Finally :)

  14. harini said

    YAY!!! So happy you’re back!

    I checked before the AO to see if you were up but I guess I checked in too soon.

    Welcome back :)

  15. Max said

    *is delighted*

  16. LordOompaLoompa said

    Glad to have you back online, you’ve got a great site here–missed this when you were gone. Glad I kept it bookmarked! :)

  17. irefusetotellyou said

    Who are you again? What is this form of blogular contraption? JMDPque?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

