New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Tuesday ATP Results: Gstaad, Umag, L.A.

Posted by irefusetotellyou on July 29, 2009

Gstaad

Gstaad

Yeah, I need to move there. NOW.

The scoop: Stanley el Manley moves on, but recent Hamburg finalist Paul-Henri Mathieu is OUT, after a close match with Marcos Daniel of Brazil. Stanley da Manley

Chucho is also out.

Typical Chucho-ian antics

Typical Chucho-ian antics

[1] S Wawrinka (SUI) d [Q] F Del Bonis (ARG) 64 75
[4] V Hanescu (ROU) d I Minar (CZE) 62 62
[5] J Chardy (FRA) d [Q] T Ascione (FRA) 63 63
[6] N Kiefer (GER) d J Acasuso (ARG) 76(5) 62
M Daniel (BRA) d [8] P Mathieu (FRA) 76(3) 76(6)
I Navarro (ESP) d [Q] F Dustov (UZB) 76(2) 46 62
J Benneteau (FRA) d [WC] S Bohli (SUI) 76(4) 75
F Serra (FRA) d M Vassallo Arguello (ARG) 63 62
[Q] T Bellucci (BRA) d *[LL] S Lammer (SUI) 67(5) 76(5) 64

Doubles – First Round
[2] M Kohlmann (GER) / S Prieto (ARG) d [WC] A Sadecky (SUI) / R Valent (SUI) 62 75
[4] C Kas (GER) / P Kohlschreiber (GER) d J Hernych (CZE) / I Minar (CZE) 61 57 10-4
L Arnold Ker (ARG) / L Friedl (CZE) d D Martin (USA) / A Motti (ITA) 64 62

I’m really cheering for Stan to win this tournament … I feel he’s earned his keep.

Umag

le Boss continues on in his quest for world domination, defeating Rochus 62 63. Unfortunately, none of my questions were picked for his “Chat” on the Umag website today. Curses.

On the Doubles side, the Djoko-bros were ousted by los Italianos, Fabio / Potito (great first names.) To make matters worse, Djo-bros received a lovely bagel in their first set … OUCH.

[4] J Melzer (AUT) d B Dabul (ARG) 63 75
[5] J Ferrero (ESP) d C Rochus (BEL) 62 63
[7] A Seppi (ITA) d [Q] J Chela (ARG) 64 26 63
F Fognini (ITA) d [8] M Zverev (GER) 26 63 64
P Cuevas (URU) d [WC] I Dodig (CRO) 63 61
F Gil (POR) d S Roitman (ARG) 75 62
P Starace (ITA) d *[LL] G Zemlja (SLO) 61 63
S Bolelli (ITA) d [Q] R Ramirez Hidalgo (ESP) 76(7) 36 60

Doubles – First Round
[1] F Cermak (CZE) / M Mertinak (SVK) d S Stakhovsky (UKR) / L Zovko (CRO) 46 75 10-5
[4] J Knowle (AUT) / J Melzer (AUT) d D Koellerer (AUT) / C Rochus (BEL) 36 64 10-2
F Fognini (ITA) / P Starace (ITA) d [WC] M Djokovic (SRB) / N Djokovic (SRB) 60 75
P Cuevas (URU) / M Gonzalez (ARG) d [WC] I Dodig (CRO) / I Ljubicic (CRO) 64 62

Los Angeles

Robby Ginepri, Marat

In one of the more anticipated matches of the night (… for me, anyway), Maratski finally came through and beat Robby Ginepri, 36 63 64. A sad early exit for Robz, especially after his victory in Indy, but as it’s Marat who won, I can’t complain too much.

Victory at last

Ernests, Isner, Baggy, Consumption, Querrey, and — THANKFULLY — Horseface are also through.

J Isner (USA) d [7] B Becker (GER) 76(8) 76(3)
E Gulbis (LAT) d Y Lu (TPE) 75 62
[Q] C Ball (AUS) d M Gicquel (FRA) 62 76(8)
[Q] R Sweeting (USA) d [WC] T Dent (USA) 64 26 63
[5] I Kunitsyn (RUS) d [Q] S Devvarman (IND) 75 62
M Baghdatis (CYP) d [SE] F Dancevic (CAN) 76(3) 63
[6] S Querrey (USA) d. D Istomin (UZB) 62 60
[8] M Safin (RUS) d. [SE] R Ginepri (USA) 36 63 64
L Mayer (ARG) d. [Q] J Ouanna (FRA) 62 63

Doubles – First Round
Y Lu (TPE) / D Vemic (SRB) d. [4] S Huss (AUS) / R Hutchins (GBR) 63 67(4) 10-6

Unfortunately, though, while browsing through pictures looking for photos of Horseface in action (sadly, none to report,) I came across this \/

[Young children should leave the room and the squeamish may want to shield their eyes … ]

ARRRGHH! ANYTHING but the GIMELSTOB!

ARRRGHH! ANYTHING but the GIMELSTOB!

13 Responses to “Tuesday ATP Results: Gstaad, Umag, L.A.”

  1. linz said

    It makes me incredibly angry that clay tennis is happening in LATE July. OVER IT. I don’t know why it makes me SO F(#)*R(@#N mad, it just does. MAKE IT GO AWAY.

    So, I’m just going to pretend that it’s not clay for a second, because I want to comment: HOLY CRAP THAT PHOTO OF BOSS IS SEXY. His thighs…ohmygod. I need a minute to compose myself.

    In RELEVANT (hardcourt) late July tennis news, Marat/Genepri was a very very rare “win/win” situation. Except it’s more win I guess that Marat won because it’s his last year and he’s way sexier than Robby.

    • irefusetotellyou said

      Yeah, that Boss picture is pretty much AMAZING … wish it was way bigger.
      (Still talking about the photo here.)

  2. NORTHCAY said

    Gstaad has nice view! One cannot help but expect Julie andrews to burst into the court singing “the hills are alive…”

    • irefusetotellyou said

      That picture is AMAZING — looks so picturesque that it’s almost fake.

      I think I spy a nice little house off in those distant mountains that is calling my name …

  3. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    NORTHCAY is right; the location looks absolutely beautiful. It makes me wish the tournament got more attention.

    Not related: I need Stan in my bed.

  4. naughty T ... dazed said

    by the by … sorry to have neglected you so badly this week. Grand grand job of ersatz bloggificationitude

    • irefusetotellyou said

      Yeah, don’t worry, I NOTICED.

      And I TOOK IT PERSONALLY.

      • naughty T ... dazed said

        treat em mean to keep em keen
        .. mainly I was at the beach or drunk. Paltry excuses really but there you have it.

        • irefusetotellyou said

          Oh well. You didn’t miss too much.

          Aside from the really totally exciting and unbelievable thing that happened yesterday, MAN I CAN’T GET OVER IT, which I can never tell you, since you weren’t on the blog then. 🙂

  5. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  6. Jacques said

    John Mayer recently told Playboy ‘I don’t think I open myself to
    it. If she is from a more aggressive cultural background don’t
    be afraid to step your game up and make it clear that you like her.
    Apparently, you’re so focused on your loneliness that
    you’re failing to see the red flags here.

Leave a Reply

 
