New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

DC: Elf Through, Marin Out

Posted by gauloises1 on August 5, 2009

OK, first of all, what’s with dropping a set to Lu? What exactly is up with that? Oh, well. At least he won.

elf

Washington Tennis

And WHAT is up with that “cut here” line across his chest? It’s like the groping shirt, but if you want to dismember him. Much less fun.

Boss beat Nico Lapentti in three sets (including a bagel) and Ernie maintained his proud streak of second round losses. The big shock of the day was Somdev Devvarman knocking out my man Marin in straight sets. Somdev Devvarman. Straight sets.

somdev

I blame the girlfriend.

Singles – Second Round
[2] J Del Potro (ARG) d Y Lu (TPE) 46 63 62
[Q] S Devvarman (IND) d [6] M Cilic (CRO) 75 64
[8] T Berdych (CZE) d E Gulbis (LAT) 62 76(6)
[10] T Haas (GER) d F Dancevic (CAN) 61 46 64

Singles – First Round
[Q] S de Chaunac (FRA) d D Istomin (UZB) 63 76(7)
B Becker (GER) d R Ginepri (USA) 76(3) 67(1) 76(4)
J Ferrero (ESP) d [LL] N Lapentti (ECU) 64 67(5) 60
R Schuettler (GER) d L Mayer (ARG) 61 36 76(5)

Doubles – First Round
[2] D Nestor (CAN) / N Zimonjic (SRB) d J Coetzee (RSA) / J Erlich (ISR) 43 ret. (Erlich – right arm)
[3] M Bhupathi (IND) / M Knowles (BAH) d M Mirnyi (BLR) / A Ram (ISR) 76(6) 26 10-7
[WC] C Guccione (AUS) / L Hewitt (AUS) d [4] B Soares (BRA) / K Ullyett (ZIM) 46 75 12-10 – saved 2 M.P.
M Damm (CZE) / R Lindstedt (SWE) d L Kubot (POL) / O Marach (AUT) 75 75
F Gonzalez (CHI) / T Robredo (ESP) d [WC] J Isner (USA) / S Querrey (USA) 36 76(5) 10-6
S Huss (AUS) / R Hutchins (GBR) d [Alt] M Melo (BRA) / A Sa (BRA) 61 64

Wednesday’s OOP here. Roddick plays his first match against Becker, Tsonga plays Isner, and Boss plays Robredo. Fun stuff.

38 Responses to “DC: Elf Through, Marin Out”

  1. Beckham said

    G, this is all your fault, I hold you personally responsible, you made the curse real… I don’t know if I should murder the kid, or give him a great big hug…le sigh

    • gauloises1 said

      You have to laugh a little bit though. I mean, when you’re making Tomas Berdych look like a solid player. That’s a little bit funny.

  2. AmyLu said

    I’m not at all happy that Marin lost and the Elf lost a set to Lu. I really think if Marin hadn’t gone down a double break in the second set, he would have at least pushed it to a third set. Based on my scoreboard, non-TV watching, experience, I would venture a guess that Somdev was nervous closing it out, seeing how he was broken pretty quickly the first time he served for the match. That would be lesson number one for a rising player like Marin — don’t let yourself fall too far behind because your burgeoning experience and an inexperienced player’s nerves could keep you in a match.

    And, at least the Elf seemed to right the ship pretty well. Here’s hoping his form improves. A lot.

    • gauloises1 said

      No, I’m not happy either. Someone like Somdev you can be OK with them getting hot for a set, but you’ve *got* to stay in touch. Marin can be so frustrating. Every time I think he’s found his feet, he manages to lose them again. And they’re huge. Does not compute.

      Yeah, I don’t really know what to say about the Elf scoreline. It’s hard to say without having seen any of it, but I’m hoping that Lu just played really, really well for a set … maybe. It’s only going to get so much tougher from here.

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    ELF! ARRRRGHHH! When he lost that first set, I was about to get violent.

    On another note, I just remembered I had a dream last night about Elf (sadly, nothing explicit) — I was watching him play a match, and he had this new ear piercing with a big gold hoop. And I was like … WHAT THE HELL!? WHY ARE YOU WEARING A GOLD HOOP!??! I HAVE LOST ALL RESPECT FOR YOU!

    That’s my story.

    On another note, is Robredo / Gonzo the best doubles combination ever or what? (OK, maybe not EVER.) Wish I could actually see them play. Sigh.

    • gauloises1 said

      Unfortunately, it was nearly 4 a.m. by the time they started and I had to fall asleep … or maybe that was fortunate, as I would have been royally freaking out.

      • irefusetotellyou said

        Agreed.

        Especially when you’re “watching” it on the LiveScores tracker thing, it’s a bit hard to tell what’s going on. Which adds to the frustration factor.

        Especially when there’s a long pause between points, and I’m wondering whether the score thing is broken or whether someone (ELF!?!?!?) has an injury, etc., etc.

        I might as well be staring at a blank wall for all the good it does me.

  4. irefusetotellyou said

    P.S: In other disappointing Argentinews [ (c) me ] — HORSEFACE!!! HOOOORRSSSEEFAACCCEEEE!!!!

    He has failed me YET AGAIN.

  5. crazyone said

    Hey guys, I’m back from LM, got back yesterday.

    I took plenty of pictures of your main man, G–your actual main man, Teimuraz Gabashvili. He’s an angry young man for sure–ranted at his supporters after almost every point, and threw his racket onto the ground after losing.

    http://tinyurl.com/mftkz5

    Somdev had a ton of crowd support in DC, due to his having been the NCAA champion at UVA (a school very close to DC). He got a standing ovation for beating Sugita, which surprised me until I remembered the whole UVA thing. My guess is that he was buoyed by crowd support while Marin was rusty because it was his first hardcourt match (while for Somdev it was his fourth).

    • gauloises1 said

      Crazyone! Great pictures!

      All the toys out of the pram, eh? Bless.

      You seem to have seen lots of Ernie … OK, off to peruse the pictures in more detail.

    • gauloises1 said

      OK, having properly looked at them now … great photos! It looks like a really great tournament to attend, loads going on. Is everything pretty central?

      • crazyone said

        Yeah, G–you can even see the two side play courts from the main stadium on one side, and the practice courts are right near by as well. Though, I was told Haas and Becker were practicing in the “back” but never could find them 😦 (though I doubt that disturbs you, hehe).

        I just wish I could spend the whole week there…stupid work.

    • irefusetotellyou said

      WHOA! Great pictures! Thanks for now making me ULTRA JEALOUS.

      Especially the one with ROBREDO! ( … assuming that’s you) Seriously, security would have had to cart me away for indecent exposure or something.

      Was the tournament pretty crowded?

      Now excuse me while I go seethe with envy.

      • crazyone said

        Yes that’s me, though to my horror my hair is frizzing out of control.

        It was fairly crowded by evening, and I expect it to be totally packed as the week goes on.

        I’ll tell this story later, but I actually ran into Tsonga too…

  6. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    I love the blue color of Elf’s shorts and as usual, I want to get in them.

    • gauloises1 said

      I’m not convinced.

      About the colour, I mean. The other thing, absolutely sold on that.

      • irefusetotellyou said

        What?! I really like the blue. In fact he looks downright resplendent.

        Let’s face it — he could wear tie-dye rainbow sparkle shorts with bunnies on them and he would STILL look totally sexy hot.

        In fact that could be a great look. Someone get on that.

        • gauloises1 said

          Oh I’m not saying he doesn’t look totally sexy hot. I’m just not convinced about the perforated top and the colour of the shorts. I need to see him running about in them, probably.

          • irefusetotellyou said

            Let’s hope that the top IS truly perforated, and the next time he wins he can savagely rip it off to reveal the majesty underneath.

            Also, he would then be wearing one of those hilarious ’80s half-shirts.

            LOVIN’ IT.

  7. Nancy said

    Dude Crazyone! AWESOME photos….esp the one with Disco, it’s a killer. I’m so jealous even though I’m not that into Robredo. Actually I don’t like him at all. I confuse myself.

    • gauloises1 said

      That was exactly my reaction 🙂

      I think probably anyone standing next to crazyone instantly becomes approximately 769068 times more likeable.

      • crazyone said

        I’m not hugely into Robredo either, but I saw him and jumped on the opportunity to take a picture with him, and that is the result.

        It was either that or get Robin Soderling’s autograph, though I’m still a bit sad I missed out on that, it would have been too funny.

        • irefusetotellyou said

          Uh oh, that is a hard choice … I love me some RobSod, but I think a photo with a player is ultimately more exciting then an autograph.

          Which explains why I got Wawrinka’s autograph at Wimbledon and NOT his picture. (PUNCHES SELF IN FACE)

  8. irefusetotellyou said

    P.S: RE Your fascination with Elf’s “pointy off-hand” —
    don’t painters (the “Masters”?) typically show Jesus / Plato / important figures with an outstretched pointed figure? To represent divinity / greatness / intellect / whatever?

    Um, yeah. So he’s imitating that, OBVZ.

    • gauloises1 said

      Seriously, get out of my brain. I swear I spent a large portion of my afternoon searching for a particular painting I remember of Jesus or one of the saints where he’s pointing in identical fashion.

      • irefusetotellyou said

        GAH! Get out of MY BRAIN!

        I’ll let you know if I find it. I was trying to find the same thing on google but have yet to encounter it / some sort of explanatory article on the hand position.

  9. Aleksa said

    I have missed BumbleBee so much.
    And Marin’s mysterious brunnette is to be blamed. I agree. He’s been getting some and it’s not helping his HARD court game.

  10. Bayview Hotel Pattaya

    DC: Elf Through, Marin Out « New Balls, Please

Leave a Reply

 
