New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Tokyo: Queen Bees

Posted by gauloises1 on October 2, 2009

I don’t know why, but in their very different ways, I feel like the term ‘queen bee’ suits both JJ and Shazza down to the ground. And despite all the wailing and gnashing of teeth, a JJ-Shazza Tokyo final is hardly bad, and that’s what we’ve got. Great stuff.

li na

jj2

Li Na was no match for JJ’s hamster-cheeked powers, falling 64 63. I saw the first set half-asleep and thought JJ was playing decently enough, but that Li Na was in general a mess. Thoughts? Anyway, I missed the entirety of Sharapova-Radwanska, but from the highlights that Eurosport played earlier, I thought that Agnieszka played pretty well throughout, but that Sharapova’s level dipped and soared alarmingly. Could make things very interesting tomorrow. And apparently Radwanska picked up a code violation for an audible obscenity. I’m really sorry I missed that.

agnieszka radwanska tokyo sharapova

maria sharapova tokyo radwanska

And in more warm and fluffy news, Daniela Hantuchova and Ai Sugiyama are through to the finals of the doubles, beating Petrova and Dulko to face Kleybanova and Schiavone in the final. Go girls!

ai sugiyama daniela hantuchova tokyo doubles

Singles – Semifinals
(7) Jelena Jankovic (SRB) d. (15) Li Na (CHN) 64 63
Maria Sharapova (RUS) d. (11) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) 63 26 64
Doubles – Semifinals
Kleybanova/Schiavone (RUS/ITA) d. (1) Black/Huber (ZIM/USA) 76(5) 63
Hantuchova/Sugiyama (SVK/JPN) d. Dulko/Petrova (ARG/RUS) 76(4) 75

5 Responses to “Tokyo: Queen Bees”

  1. mrs. saifin said

    I couldn’t hear what the obscenity was, I thought maybe the violation was for time because she was arguing a very bad line call–she was totally robbed. Wish the court microphones would have picked it up.

  2. gauloises1 said

    I’m just going on what my commentators said. It might well have been for time …

  3. linex said

    While I have nothing against Sharapova, I enjoy Radwanska´s game quite more because it reminds me of Hingis, a pity that she did not win.

    Gauloises in another topic, I will try to transalte extracts of the grip magazine on Delpo. I can either post them in the last post on Delpo or mail them to you. The advantage of the first possibility is that everyone sees them.

    I just arrived from a long tennis day. I attended the Challenger tournament played in the clay courts of the Vilas Club. I watched 3 good matches. Gaudio beating tandilense Maxi Gonzalez, Chela beating the attractive Nico Lapentti, and the upcoming argie player Horacio Zeballos beating Brian Dabul.

  4. gauloises1 said

    Linex 🙂 If you mail them to me, I can put them in a separate post and make sure everyone sees them, but it’s absolutely up to you. I’m ybounden@hotmail.co.uk if you want to mail me.

    Wow, that sounds like a great day! I love Gonzalez and Lapentti. I keep hearing the name Zeballos but I don’t know much about him.

  5. linex said

    Gauloises Nico Lapentti is so hot. Can you believe that he passed just beside me after warming up for his previous match on wednesday. I could not miss the chance to tell him something so I said “congratulations for your win against wawrinka” He replied politely Gracias. Unfortunately he lost to Chela. I find Chela´s game boring, but Chela is too solid, and Nico made some silly mistakes that cost him the third set.

    Zeballos has the Gaudio look (check at fuebuena.com.ar they have some recent posts on him), he looks alike him, a little taller and slimmer though, he has a nice one handed backhand too and a reasonable serve. He is ranked 70 now, he already played the Us Open and won a match. You will probably see him playing the Australian Open this year. He is a late boomer because he is already 24 and only now is playing his best tennis.

    Gonzalez played very well today for a set and half, he was driving Gaudio mad with multiple drop shots and painting the lines. At a certain point Gaudio said aloud “this is not possible I cannot believe that you already hit like 35 balls on the lines … Gaudio ended the match playing brilliantly as the scoreline of the third set shows 6-1. Gaudio has tremends about of talent, but he is already 30 and it is a little late for him to start to believe in himself. I realized today about Gaudio´s unfulfilled potential.

    I will mail you the stuff on Delpo then.

Leave a Reply

 
