New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Ivanovic Pulls Plug On 2009 Season

Posted by gauloises1 on October 4, 2009

A bit like shooting Old Yeller or whatever, isn’t it? Ana Ivanovic has withdrawn from Beijing due to an upper respiratory tract infection and officially called time on her 2009 season. Which has, let’s face it, been one to forget. She hasn’t won a single title; only been beyond the quarter-finals at one tournament (Indian Wells, where she lost to Zvonareva in that windy final); and while she’s made it to the round of 16 at two Slams (Wimbledon and the French Open, losing to Venus and Victoria Azarenka respectively), that’s poor by anyone’s standards when you consider that she was actually no. 1 last year. God, remember that?

ana

She explains her decision on her official website:

I guess having to withdraw from Beijing is an appropriate ending to a very disappointing season. This trip to Asia has been a big disappointment and I have struggled with my health pretty much since I arrived. I am sorry to my supporters who were hoping to see me play here in Beijing. It’s very disappointing for me as well, to come here, see the amazing facility they have and not have the energy to be able to step onto court. I can only look forward to coming back here next year.

It’s especially disappointing because I was hoping to be able to see some improvements before the season ended. I have gone through a lot of training and physical changes over the past few months, which have mostly remained private until now… My body is quite fragile at the moment, because I over-trained during the first part of the year. This was, I think, what caused me to have many small injuries this season.

Instead of being patient and accepting that my best form was almost impossible due to physical limitations, I was always over-thinking things, and I never dealt with it very well. The season was a continuation of going from one disappointment to another. If I had dealt better with these setbacks, I would have had a lot more success.

I also found it very tough to switch off and have a proper break over the past year or so, partly because of these physical problems. Actually, I don’t think I can remember the last time I had a proper holiday: I was always doing some kind of fitness or recovery work during my holidays, and that meant that I wasn’t able to switch off from tennis. I guess I just want it so badly.

As you may have noticed, I completely changed my serve after Wimbledon. This was because of my shoulder: if I continued serving and training the way I was, I would have almost certainly picked up a serious injury. My team and I are confident that I will be able to go back to my old service motion when I start practising again in November.

On the positive side, I am still No.11 in the world. I have no clue how I am ranked so highly, but to look on the bright side, I can’t play any worse than I did this year and I’m still in the top 20!

I’ve learnt so much this year. It’s a bit little bit like a few years ago, when I was ranked around No.14 for almost an entire year, and many people were asking me, “when are you going to reach the top 10?” Within a year I was there, and within two years I was No.1. Sometimes you have to go through these experiences in order to become a better player.

Despite my disappointments there is not a single doubt in my mind that I will reach the top again and win Grand Slams.

One other positive to come out of all this is that I realised what a great team I have around me: they never doubted me, they supported me so well and did everything they could to assist me. I am very grateful to them all: my family, coaches and management.

I have appointed a new fitness coach, whom I will tell you more about later. Over the next month or so I can have a great break. I can rest without thinking about any future tournaments, then train and practise hard for the new season.

I have a lot to look forward to. Now is the time to rest, recharge, and come back stronger.

Love
Ana

P.S. I’d like to thank my loyal supporters for their encouragement this year. The journey is never easy!

I do love the serious and thoughtful way in which she explains herself. And frankly, if she needs to take a month off before the off-season even starts, then more power to her. I’ve never been the biggest fan of Ana (that would be C Note) but it’s far from pleasant seeing any talented player slump like she has this year. Let’s face it, she is such a marketable (read: pretty) player that she’s going to be shoved down your throat in photoshoots and so forth whether her results justify it or not, and having her firing on all or even most cylinders would be a big boon for the WTA and add to the fun at the top. She’s immensely watchable when she’s playing well, and wouldn’t it be great if after 3,000,0000 fistpumps, she actually came away with a win?

So write off 2009 and come back strong in 2010, Ana. You’re so much less irritating when you’re playing well.

2 Responses to “Ivanovic Pulls Plug On 2009 Season”

  1. naughtyT... said

    upper respiratory tract??’
    WTA lament

  2. C Note said

    Thanks for the shout out, homie.

    Honestly, I was about to fly to Beijing to pull the trigger myself.

Leave a Reply

 
