New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Beijing: Deja Vu All Over Again

Posted by gauloises1 on October 5, 2009

It was for Venus Williams, anyway; she lost to Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 36 61 64 for her second successive defeat to the Russian teenager in as many weeks. Yay Pavs.

venus williams china open beijing pavlyuchenkova

anastasia pavlyuchenkova beijing china open 2009

Tignor reckons that Pavs is following a familiar pattern and could make a strong run here. I don’t know about that, but I do know that I like the way she talks in her press conferences:

Q: What was the secret of your success today?

Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova: I think the secret was that I just went today and I just wanted to enjoy the match and enjoyed playing out there. I have nothing really to lose and I just win with that spirit on court. I wanted to show good tennis my best and, especially we played last week, so I thought if I’m going to get any thoughts through my mind and if I’m going to start to think about her, about the score, and things, I’m not going to make it. I just tried to avoid all that stuff going through my mind and just started playing and enjoy it.

Q: What is the secret to beating Venus Williams two weeks in a row?

Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova: I don’t know. There are no secrets, I guess. The first time- it actually was the second time in Tokyo- I didn’t think about anything actually. I was just playing and playing, and point by point. I was just trying to move her as much as I could. I just tried to hit shot by shot, more and more. Hit more than her. I just wanted her to play more and move, because I remembered the first time we played and I lost by 6-0, 6-1 in the beginning of the year. I was just rushing and I was just trying to do something unbelievable, I guess. I just tried to play as simple as I can. Today I just tried to do the same thing. She started out way aggressive today. Especially the first set. She was playing much better. She was already preparing for this match more than she probably was last week. She wanted to kill me I guess. She was playing really well, actually in all the match. I’m quite happy.

Go Pavs. Anyway, with the exception of the first and third seeds, the rest of the top ladies fared pretty well. Kuznetsova steamrollered Medina Garrigues 62 61, Li Na survived a tough challenge from the erratic Safarova,  and Nadia Petrova took out compatriot and very occasional giant-killer Kudryavtseva 62 in the third. In unseeded news, Wozniak beat Cornet (Coneback on hold), Hantuchova took out Suarez Navarro, Kleybanova put out the wild card Wicky 63 in the third, and sadly Licky was forced to retire down 06 01 to Francesca Schiavone. Sad faces for Licky, people.

On the men’s side, who are just getting started, no real surprises. Boss beat Almagro (yay!), PEHK beat Karlovic, and Cilic disposed of Andreev 64 64 (yay again). Nole seems to have made slightly heavy weather of it against Hanescu, but came through in the end, 63 75. Good man.

novak djokovic beijing 2009 china open

Singles – Second Round
(WC) Zhang Shuai (CHN) d. (1) Dinara Safina (RUS) 75 76(5)
Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS) d. (3) Venus Williams (USA) 36 61 64
(6) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) d. Anabel Medina Garrigues (ESP) 62 61
(16) Li Na (CHN) d. Lucie Safarova (CZE) 46 60 64
Aleksandra Wozniak (CAN) d. Alizé Cornet (FRA) 76(0) 64
Alona Bondarenko (UKR) d. Sara Errani (ITA) 63 63

Singles – First Round
(13) Nadia Petrova (RUS) d. (Q) Alla Kudryavtseva (RUS) 61 57 62
Daniela Hantuchova (SVK) d. Carla Suárez Navarro (ESP) 75 62
Francesca Schiavone (ITA) d. Sabine Lisicki (GER) 60 10 ret. (GI illness)
Alisa Kleybanova (RUS) d. (WC) Yanina Wickmayer (BEL) 57 63 63
(LL) Vania King (USA) d. (LL) Galina Voskoboeva (KAZ) 64 63

Doubles – First Round
(5) Hsieh/Peng (TPE/CHN) d. Senoglu/Shvedova (TUR/KAZ) 62 62
(6) Groenefeld/Schnyder (GER/SUI) d. Govortsova/Poutchek (BLR/BLR)
46 76(3) 104
Szavay/Vinci (HUN/ITA) d. Cirstea/Mirza (ROU/IND) 63 63
Kleybanova/Schiavone (RUS/ITA) d. Azarenka/Zvonareva (BLR/RUS) 63 46 107

Singles – First Round
[2] N Djokovic (SRB) d V Hanescu (ROU) 63 75
[8] [WC] M Cilic (CRO) d I Andreev (RUS) 64 64
P Kohlschreiber (GER) d I Karlovic (CRO) 76(6) 46 61
J Ferrero (ESP) d N Almagro (ESP) 75 76(3)
T Robredo (ESP) d B Becker (GER) 62 61
J Benneteau (FRA) d M Daniel (BRA) 63 64

Doubles – First Round
L Dlouhy (CZE) / P Kohlschreiber (GER) d [3] W Moodie (RSA) / D Norman (BEL) 67(1) 63 10-8
M Knowles (BAH) / A Roddick (USA) d [WC] H Lee (TPE) / T Yang (TPE) 63 64

Leave a Reply

 
