New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

So Can We Still Call Her The ‘Real No. 1’?

Posted by gauloises1 on October 6, 2009

Well, she’s back. Serena Williams beat Ekaterina Makarova 63 62 in Beijing this morning, which means that she will now be no. 1 when the rankings are reissued on Monday.

serena beijing china open

I actually watched this and I thought she was playing pretty well, not that Makarova put up much of a resistance. One thing that struck me was how subdued she was – not lacking in intensity, but very quiet and undemonstrative, at least until the last game where she unleashed some ferocious fist-pumps.

Anyway, back to no. 1 it is for the second time this year and naturally it was the main topic of discussion at her press conference:

Q: Serena, you said a couple days ago that you really wanted to earn No. 1. Do you think that you have done that? Can you tell us what you think in your ear has earned you the position of No. 1?

  A: I think I’ve earned it. I’ve won two Grand Slams. I wish I had gotten more, but you know I’m just excited to have those two this year. It’s great. I think I got pretty deep in the other ones, but if you don’t win, it doesn’t count whether you get deep or not. I’ve just been playing really consistent throughout the year. [Oh, really?!] Especially in the beginning of the year, I did well. Then I got sidelined a little bit by injury, but I kept fighting. I kept showing up and doing the best that I could do. [Oh, really?!!!] Sometimes, it was a first round loss, but I really tried, and I think at the end of the day, that’s what matters.

Q: Do you feel, I’ll try to put this carefully, do you feel vindicated at all in the discussion of the rankings system between players like yourself who really rise to the occasion at the Grand Slams and other players who maybe do well in lesser tournaments but don’t have those big victories? Do you feel like now it shows really who are the great players, who is the great player?

  A: I definitely feel better. I mean I would be lying if I sat here and said that I didn’t. I always say the ranking will come. I’m not focused on being No. 1. For me, I would rather have won the titles that I’ve won this year as opposed to having the ranking, but fortunately now, for next week at least, I’ll have a little bit of ranking.

All credit to Serena for taking back the no. 1 spot. I’m pleased for the following reasons:

1. Maybe now everyone will STFU about the whole ranking issue

2. Hopefully, this will make Safina’s life easier, or at least less of a constant torment

So … yeah. Is it 2010 yet? Anyway, my commentators during the Makarova match were saying it would be interesting to see the level of commitment Serena shows during what remains of the season, now that she’s got the no. 1 spot back. Indeed.

5 Responses to “So Can We Still Call Her The ‘Real No. 1’?”

  1. Carrie said

    I swear to God, if she gets lazy again, and Dinara gets the ranking back just by dent of playing, I… I… I don’t even know.

  2. Carrie/Cubbie said

    *1. Maybe now everyone will STFU about the whole ranking issue*

    Oh lord I hope so. That dead horse has been beaten so many times it came back to life and then decided that death was better anyways and died again.

  3. AmyLu said

    Okay, maybe I’m just an idiot, but is anyone else having trouble following the logic of the second question? How can Serena be vindicated NOW by a system that hasn’t changed? The rankings that have Serena ranked as number one are calculated by the exact same system that had Dinara ranked as number one.

    And, yes, I’m hoping everyone will just move on from discussing the rankings — and hopefully Dinara can be happy again.

  4. gauloises1 said

    Basically all along people have been blaming the system because they don’t like the outcome. It’s just … idiotic.

    And as for Serena’s comments about playing consistently, well, to paraphrase C Note, she should really take a look at her year’s results and get a clue. If she had been playing consistently, or achieved even half of what she does at the Slams at the other tournaments, she would have been no. 1 this whole time. So yeah, I don’t get it.

  5. AmyLu said

    Completely agree, gauloises. I’ve found all of the complaining to be ridiculous, but I really fail to understand what there is to be vindicated about — or how Serena is now right. And, until the US Open, it’s not as if Dinara crashed out early at Slams — I mean she made two finals and a SF, but I like how that never entered the discussion either. People acted as if all of Dinara’s points came from “small” tournaments.

Leave a Reply

 
