New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

So That Happened.

Posted by gauloises1 on October 6, 2009

JMDP lost 64 64 in the first round of Tokyo this morning, to qualifier Eduardo Roger-Vasselin. I didn’t see it, but it doesn’t look pretty.

del potro tokyo japan open first round del potro tokyo japan open first round

 

After the match, JMDP said that he was suffering from jet lag and some sort of stomach problem (dude, just STOP going to Tokyo) but that he wasn’t going to make excuses for the loss – thus using a different definition of making excuses than I was previously aware of.

Congratulations to Roger-Vasselin though, who’s one of those people whose name I always see in qualifying draws but who rarely seems to make it to the main draw. Huge win for him.

erv2

elf3

So … we’ve got a first round loss to someone ranked 189th in the world. Is this going to become a thing from now on? Because … OK.

13 Responses to “So That Happened.”

  1. linz said

    The only news more shocking to me this morning than finding out about Andy’s loss was finding out about Elf’s. Let’s just all drink heavily and forget about the rest of this week of tennis, k?

  2. linex said

    This was a huge surprise for me. Delpo is so good in winning the matches he should win, what makes me think that he was not there niether mentally nor physically in this match.

    Let us hope things improve in Shangai. I agree with Gauloises stop going to Japan, last year you felt sick in the final too.

    Hope they have some meat in Shangai … the sushi diet is not for Delpo it seems.

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    errasdffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

  4. Carrie said

    He did look rather miserable out there. He can be a n Eeyore yes- but this had a new “I am about to hurl” look about it. His serves were the creampuff variety a’la 2007. And R-V was playing well. I am not pleased that Elf lost all of his finals points- but I have to think this was a blip and not a pattern. Onwards and upwards to Shanghai.

    And one thing that I liked. In ye olde tymes I am sure he would have retired but he stayed out there today.

  5. neil in toronto said

    He certainly didn’t look happy out there for sure. Credit to Vasselin though, served into the body a lot, and kept the ball down the middle as much as possible. I think its harder for the super tall guys like Juan to get out of their own way sometimes when the ball is coming AT them as opposed to running side to side.

  6. AmyLu said

    Umm, wow. JJ woke me up this morning to tell me that Elf lost, Roddick lost, and Rafa lost a set to Baggy? Can’t say I saw the Elf loss coming at all. And clearly Tokyo doesn’t agree with him so I’m all for skipping it in the future.

  7. Saoirse said

    You jinxed it G. May that Vasselin-being-a-slippery-fellow joke haunt you for the rest of your life.

    Seriously though, I did NOT see this coming. I am obviously crushed and hugely disappointed as I was looking forward to a full week of Elf-bliss… But I am with Carrie on this one: a blip, not a pattern. He will bounce back in Shangai. Right!?!

    Now if you’ll excuse me, my friend Denial and I are kind of busy pretending this never happened.

  8. mrdarnley said

    what a downer. I haven’t seen the match but by the pics it wasn’t pretty. Hope it’s not because of the new teeth. The loser press are going to town on it and I can imagine Andy Murray is feeling somewhat more comfortable that he’s not the only one that goes out early.

    Here’s hoping Novak goes out. Deffo this will give JMDP the drive to vindicate himself if nothing else in Shanghai!

  9. Maria said

    Poor Elf, hope he’s feeling better soon.

  10. Maria said

    Found some lovely pics: http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=87072&page=121 post 1810 onwards.

  11. jjermann said

    i saw the match and he was calling trainer 3 times, i think he had somekind of stomach bug and he said that he had jet-lag, combination of these issues cost him 1st serve pace, i watched that speed radar everytime he served and he didnt serve any 1st serve over 200km/h, couple of his 1st serves were like 160km/h.

  12. siara said

    oooh, he looks like he needs a hug 😦

  13. sophienz said

    I must admit, I went “HA” when I found out he’d lost. I do regret it now though. It’s only because two minutes earlier I’d found out he wasn’t coming back to Auckland. I was pretty upset.
    Not as upset as Delpo though, by the looks of those photos. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
