New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Beijing: Marat Actually Shows Up, Roddick Doesn’t

Posted by gauloises1 on October 7, 2009

So don’t look now, but Marat actually won a match to liven up his farewell tour of failure. He beat Chucho, 64 62. I’m confused by this.

marat safin beijing china open

Charging headlong into history.

In other, equally odd news, Roddick lost in straight sets to zombie Kubot. I actually watched this match and I still don’t know what’s up with that. Roddick cited a possible lack of preparation afterwards, but given that he still hasn’t actually qualified for the WTFs, he doesn’t want another blip like this next week.

roddick beijing china open 2009

lukasz kubot beijing china open 2009

Other than that, all the top seeds – Rafa, Kolya, Verdasco, Soderling, Gonzo – got through, although oddly only Gonzo who perhaps had the most difficult match (against Ferru) managed it in straights. I’m not sure what was up with Rafa dropping a set to Marcos Baghdatis, but there you are.

baghdatis marcos china open beijing 2009

“And for my next trick, I shall make my potential disappear. Watch carefully.”

I’m even less sure what’s up with Rafa’s outfit.

rafa

Could these shorts be uglier?

Singles – First Round
[1] R Nadal (ESP) d [WC] M Baghdatis (CYP) 64 36 64
[Q] L Kubot (POL) d [3] A Roddick (USA) 62 64
[4] N Davydenko (RUS) d I Kunitsyn (RUS) 61 67(6) 62
[5] F Verdasco (ESP) d [Q] R Ginepri (USA) 67(7) 61 62
[6] R Soderling (SWE) d J Chardy (FRA) 63 46 62
[7] F Gonzalez (CHI) d D Ferrer (ESP) 75 64
[WC] M Safin (RUS) d J Acasuso (ARG) 64 62
J Blake (USA) d [Q] F Mayer (GER) 63 36 63
I Ljubicic (CRO) d P Mathieu (FRA) 76(8) 46 61
V Troicki (SRB) d [Q] F Fognini (ITA) 76(5) 75

Doubles – First Round
J Acasuso (ARG) / F Gonzalez (CHI) d [1] D Nestor (CAN) / N Zimonjic (SRB) 67(7) 63 10-3
[2] B Bryan (USA) / M Bryan (USA) d B Soares (BRA) / K Ullyett (ZIM) 61 76(11)
L Kubot (POL) / O Marach (AUT) d M Llodra (FRA) / P Mathieu (FRA) 61 61

17 Responses to “Beijing: Marat Actually Shows Up, Roddick Doesn’t”

  1. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    I’m pretty sure sliding on a hard court isn’t good for one’s health especially if you already have crappy knees, just ask Bambi.

    I really like what Rafa is wearing but I don’t think the shirt and shorts look good together. They would go better with other pieces and those shorts would look better on a golf course than a tennis court. The ensemble kind of reminds me of the elderly.

  2. naughtyT...asia doesn't swing,it blows said

    I am elderly which perhaps explains why I feel this is the most interesting outfit currently on the men’s circuit… and you know I can’t stand the the guy in the outfit, so it pains me to say it.
    Nike have been brilliant in modifying Rafas image and moving him to appeal to a much more sophisticated audience.

  3. AmyLu said

    I absolutely love Rafa’s shirt — I think green looks really nice on him, but why on earth is he wearing that shirt with those shorts?!? That looks like the clothes a 4 year-old who’s dressing himself for the first time would pick as an outfit. And while I prefer the shirt, I think the shorts are okay, but they definitely should NOT be worn with his green shirt.

  4. AmyLu said

    Do you really like the shirt with the shorts, Naughty T? I like both individually, but I really can’t stand them together.

  5. Saoirse said

    Love the green on Rafa. Minty fresh. He looks ready to Excel-erate my breath.

    Handsome bloke, smooth move. Shame about the shorts.

  6. gauloises1 said

    For the record, I really like the shirt.

    But the shorts? I’d be the first to admit I’m a total fashion neophyte, but I knows what I likes. And that is not it. Why would anyone wear that anyway, it looks so … old man in sitcom standard uniform. And to play tennis?! No.

  7. naughtyT...asia doesn't swing,it blows said

    AmyLu, yep love the combo. It is daring and really the kind of thing that fashionable early twenties guys are wearing… (confesses to being a bit of a perv that spends a lot of time watching young men walking about.)

  8. AmyLu said

    NaughtyT, I don’t think I’d mind the combo so much if the shirt was a solid green one and didn’t have the design on the front, but like gauloises, I confess to not knowing much fashion-wise beyond what I like (and don’t like). And I teach undergrads in the South in the U.S., so yeah, we’re not exactly daring on the fashion-front down here. 🙂

    And, for the most part, I’ve really loved Rafa’s clothes this year. Far more than in previous years — I know he’s supposedly changing back to sleeveless shirts at the French Open, but I’m hoping his clothes will continue to look more like they have this year than in previous year, sleeves or no sleeves.

  9. naughtyT...asia doesn't swing,it blows said

    I have liked Rafas clothes this year too… I am consistently amazed at how right Nike get it, as opposed to Adidas who seem intent on making every player look like crap… Caro anyone???? Jeezus fuck, what a mess. Oddly MaKiri has come out of that debacle looking athletic and sexy. Nice.

  10. AmyLu said

    I think it’s disgraceful how Caro looks in her new clothes. And I don’t think Dinara’s clothes are the right fit for her body type either. It does say something that MaKiri actually looked good in the crap that Caro is wearing, but I much prefer her in the new line.

    One thing I can’t figure out — why don’t more clothing lines design shorts for their female players? Vika looked good in shorts, from what I’ve seen in photos from this Asian swing, and I also thought ElenaD (and Myskina) looked phenomenal when they wore shorts.

  11. linz said

    DEAR GOD PLEASE QUALIFY FOR THE WTFs. THAT’S ALL I ASK.

    OMG, what if he doesn’t qualify?!?! He’ll qualify, right?!?! Why am I so freaking out about this?!?!

    And I LOVE Rafa’s outfit. LOVE. Tablecloth shorts are MUCH better than tablecloth shirts. But don’t go getting any ideas Roddick and Cilic, you two need to stay away from the tablecloth prints FOREVER.

  12. irefusetotellyou said

    Don’t worry, Linz, I’m sure he’ll be fine.

    And if not, I’ll just shoot you with a tranquilizer gun and wake you up when it’s all over. 🙂

    That’s what I’m here for.

  13. linz said

    Thanks IRTTY, I appreciate it. I just hope he can wrap up his spot soon, because if not I’m going to have to start rooting for some of my other faves, like JoJo, Koyla, and Nando to start losingt and that will make me feel EVIL. But, I mean, I’ll do it. Don’t get me wrong. I’m taking this pretty seriously for some unknown reason.

  14. rulin said

    Those shorts on Rafa are such a prep fail. He actually had that checkered pattern on the black shorts, but it was subtle (thankfully).

  15. Westney said

    AmyLu is correct. My fellow undergrads and I in the South aren’t too fashion forward for the most part. Well, not me at least…

    I don’t know what it is, but I love his outfit. Shorts and all. On any other player, I think I would probably hate it. But with Rafa, he always pulls off everything he wears and I end up liking it. That shirt is boss!

  16. harini said

    I love the green on Rafa. It looks great on him. I don’t mind the shorts. I looked at some other pics to make sure I still liked them, and yeah. Something about them works for me. I dunno.

    And YAY Marat winning! I’ll take a win while I can, while he’s still around on tour!

  17. naughtyT...asia doesn't swing,it blows said

    …much much later

    Have seen the matching tracksuit jacket for Rafa and it is fucking fantastic… FANTASTIC.

Leave a Reply

 
