New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Beijing: Marin! That Is All.

Posted by gauloises1 on October 10, 2009

Baby Jesus bless him and all who sail in him. While I was sleeping, he backed up his win over Kolya in the quarters with a straightforward demolition of Rafa, 61 63. I am kicking myself for not getting up at 5 a.m. to watch this match, especially as most people who actually did see it just seem to be mumbling “too good, too good” or words to that effect. It sounds like Rafa had his chances to get back into it in the second set and didn’t take it. But regardless, this is just a fantastic result for Marin. I couldn’t be happier.

TENNIS-CHINA/

Rafa has been demoted to the WTA, apparently.

Or is that promoted, sexists?

beijing atp marin cilic china openbeijing atp marin cilic china open2

Actually love him.

So it’ll be Cilic-Djokovic in the final, after Nole beat Verdasco and then battered Soderling 63 63. Nole is 3-0 up on Cilic, but I’ve seen Marin play him pretty close sometimes. And weirdly, they’re both going for their third title of the year (Nole’s are admittedly better). Exciting stuff! (I’ll sleep through it.)

beijing atp novak djokovic china open

With this win, Nole will definitely move back to no. 3 next week, taking over from Andy Murray. Great for him, but … oh, I don’t want to be negative today. Great for Nole, whom I love very much. There.

5 Responses to “Beijing: Marin! That Is All.”

  1. AmyLu said

    So I mercifully slept through the Rafa/Marin match (although how nice of it was my husband to tell me as I’m falling asleep that Rafa won all of 2 of the first 20 points of the match? PFFT), but I did watch bits and pieces of it today, as it was shown on tape-delay in the US. And, yeah, too good — I mean Rafa hitting the ball short isn’t exactly a recipe for success (and he really needs to stop feeling the need to continually slice backhands), but the ease with which Marin was playing was really impressive. He’s one of the few players I can think of that beat Rafa (since he’s been an established player) the first time he played him (Nalbandian did, Blake did, and then I’m drawing a blank) — normally his spin throws off opponents, but it didn’t seem to affect Marin at all, from what I saw.

    I also was able to watch the second set of Nole/Soderling this morning, and I was really impressed with Nole. His game seems to be clicking again so I think this final should be quite fun. I’m hoping Nole wins, but I really do like Marin so I would be pleased for him if he won, too.

  2. greenhopper said

    and he really needs to stop feeling the need to continually slice backhands”

    Can you please somehow get it through to him? I mean they’re starting to look like poor dropshots.
    I’ll help you make a poster.

    Loved how cool Marin stayed throughout the match. Even after getting broken while trying to serve for the match.

  3. AmyLu said

    Umm, yes, I think it needs to be on a poster. And, so there’s no confusion, we can make a poster in Spanish: Deja de jugar con slice. Pégale a la bola de revés.

  4. harini said

    I’m happy for Marin, but wow, that scoreline! Oh Rafa, at least he got to the semis. I’m just happy that he’s making it to the later rounds. I’ll wait for him to start winning things next year.

  5. irefusetotellyou said

    The LiveScoreboard thing seems to be telling me that the “Cilic — Nadal 61 63” match is still live and ongoing, for suspicious reasons.

    I’ve pretty much the same feelings as Harini: happy for Marin, but I wished it coulda been more competitive. And I actually woulda been MORE happy to see Rafa win the whole shebang … oooh well.

Leave a Reply

 
