New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Tokyo Jo

Posted by gauloises1 on October 12, 2009

I am so tired of writing ‘I missed this match, but …’

Anyway, I missed this match, but Jo-Wilfried Tsonga beat Mikhail Youzhny in straight sets 63 63 for his third title of the year, thus making up rather nicely for not defending Bangkok. Yay.

tokyo jo-wilfried tsonga japan open final2tokyo jo-wilfried tsonga japan open final

tokyo jo-wilfried tsonga japan open trophy

And his hair looked particularly fluffy.

Congratulations to Mikhail Youzhny too, who played his second final of the year here and seems to be making definite strides to climb out of the hole he’d dug himself into. All in all, one rather feels he deserved a bigger plate, but there you are.

tokyo jo-wilfried tsonga mikhail youzhny japan open trophy ceremony

tokyo jo-wilfried tsonga japan open trophy2

Jo’s got to be close to qualifying for the WTFs, right? Anyone good with numbers?

6 Responses to “Tokyo Jo”

  1. AmyLu said

    We watched the second set, and my analysis is pretty simple: Jo was simply better. Much better. Youzhny didn’t really have an answer (and he tried coming forward, slicing his BH…nothing really worked). Just a very straight-forward win. I actually like Youzhny better than Tsonga, but I’m really happy with the result. For Youzhny to actually make a final is a huge victory of sorts to me, and I’d love to see Jo in London so I’m happy he won, as this should help position him for one of the remaining spots.

    And, on whether or not he’s close to qualifying, I do know that he has a ton of points to defend since he won Paris last year so my guess is he may have a bit of work to do to qualify? I wish I could find where players are positioned by the points they’ve earned this year at the ATP site (Bismarck knows this info so hopefully he’ll post here and enlighten all of us). I tried searching there and keep getting a “404 error.” Have I mentioned recently how much I hate the ATP’s website?

  2. gauloises1 said

    I can’t find it either! I spent ages looking for it the other day. The ATP website sucks so much, I keep filling out those surveys and *telling* them what’s wrong with it and they WON’T LISTEN. It’s just infuriating, the WTA website has equally as many bells and whistles but actually works and is informative.

    Does failure to defend points factor into the race? I am so confused about it and the ATP aren’t exactly doing much to clarify matters. Honestly, if they want people to get excited about the race to the WTFs (which they obviously do), why don’t they have a points breakdown on the site so that we can actually see how close the players are?! They kill me.

    Oh and I like Youzhny much more since your ‘enormous book’ anecdote 🙂

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    HAHAHAHAH at Youzhny’s silver palm-sized ashtray.

    I tuned in when they were 3 all in the 2nd set, and I thought that Youzhny might make a comeback, but … guess not.

  4. AmyLu said

    Well the only reason why failure to defend points could factor in for Tsonga is that he’s defending 1000 points from Paris — so he’ll need to do well there, I think, to solidify his final spot. But again, I don’t know since I can’t find any information on how exactly you qualify at the website. And, yeah, I fill out the surveys all the time too — I’m beginning to think that if I tell them how much I love the website that maybe they’ll start changing it. Pfft.

    The best part of that anecdote is that his girlfriend was reading some magazine like People while he was engrossed in an enormous novel. And every other male player at the pool would surreptitiously or not-so-surreptitiously check out every female who appeared while Youzhny’s head never really come up from the pages. 🙂

  5. greenhopper said

    Jo is currently at #10 in the race, 85 points behind Gonzo at #8.
    Roddick is almost sure to qualify and the remaining spots will likely come from Soderling/Gonzo/Verdasco/Tsonga.

    They update this thread on MTF very regularly.
    http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=151845

  6. linz said

    YAY!!! *Hugs Greenhopper*.

    I still want to see it spelled out like EXACTLY what each guy needs to do to qualify- the ATP REALLY should provide this info- like, how far in Shanghai does Andy (or, I mean, sure, someone else) need to go to qualify?.

    Re: the actual post, LOVE the fluffy hair on Jo. Also loved his quote talking about “having a beer and maybe a little dance” on the plane to Shanghai to celebrate. My kind of man.

    And that runner-up trophy is once again ridiculous. I mean, it looks silly with Youzhny holding it and he’s pretty tiny (tennis-player-wise), but can you imagine if Elf was holding it? hahaha.

Leave a Reply

 
