New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Recurring Wrist Tendinitis. Oh Good.

Posted by gauloises1 on October 15, 2009

JMDP is going home to seek medical advice and rest his wrist, which apparently bothered him first in Miami earlier this year:

“I had this injury in Miami this year, and I don’t want to risk for the end of the season,” del Potro said. “I’m a little sorry…  It’s a big tournament here in Shanghai, very important for me, but if I want to have a good finish this season, I have to recover, go home to be in good shape for the last tournaments. When I feel pain, I need to stop, because maybe it could be dangerous.

“I came here because I want to play here, especially in Shanghai. They made a good work to change the event, and they have an amazing tournament this year. So I would love to win this tournament maybe in the future, but now I have two more tournaments, three more tournaments important in this season. I hope the best for my wrist.”

shanghai juan martin del potro second round

He plans to be back for Basel. Which, frankly, I could live with him skipping.

13 Responses to “Recurring Wrist Tendinitis. Oh Good.”

  1. mrdarnley said

    Yeah I wonder why he feels the need to go Basel? maybe it’s the ATP commitment or something. He was exhausted way back in the final in Montreal, surely all the festivites after the US Open weren’t that relaxing. He must be wrecked. The man needs to rest. I think the West of Ireland is the perfect place to do so. In fact Juan if yer reading you can stay with me. Sorted.

  2. sophienz said

    I’m not enjoying all these pictures of Juan’s wee face scrunched up in pain.
    Clearly, he needs to start winning again, so that I get to see happy Elf.

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    Oh, lord!

    PLEASE skip out on Basel and rest up for London … aarhgggg

    Injured Elf is the worst kind of Elf.

  4. gauloises1 said

    He still has to play Paris, even if he skips Basel.

    All kinds of Elf are good, but yes, I take your point …

  5. irefusetotellyou said

    Oh, right, Paris. That exists.

    And true, I would take any form of Elf, be it injured, comatose, weeping, peeing. Whatever.

  6. Ela said

    “The man needs to rest. I think the West of Ireland is the perfect place to do so”, oh Mrdarnley you’re cracking me up.

  7. Aleksa said

    Bumblebee has just reminded me of Thomas C Howell when the said was a young heartthrob. https://www.originalalamo.com/images/cthomashowell.jpg

    Heh, heartthrob
    a) The object of one’s desires or infatuation; a sweetheart
    b) usually handsome movie star who plays romantic roles

    I am clearly very productive in the office today.

  8. C.F. said

    About skipping Basel… I understand that he wants to play there. I mean, he probably doesn’t want to miss this golden opportunity to annoy Roger even more. 😉

  9. Maria said

    Aw crud to recurring tendinitis, please can the poor guy rest, I don’t want him falling to pieces and have to be put back together with sticky tape like a model airplane!

    I love this:
    ‘And true, I would take any form of Elf, be it injured, comatose, weeping, peeing. Whatever.’ LMAO!

  10. Saoirse said

    …Especially the comatose version as it is probably the only way on earth I could ever have my way with him.

  11. Saoirse said

    Hummmm, comatose in West Ireland. Me, Elf, Mrdarnley, rolling hills and pints of Bushmills. This little fantasy is getting better by the minute.

  12. mrdarnley said

    Fab. how about a newballs/tennis player field trip? Very few people here actually follow tennis and chances of anonymity are high. Lunatics are just committed fans here(that’s an adjective not a verb).

  13. mrdarnley said

    Sorry speaking in tongues today … and the chances of anonymity are high…

Leave a Reply

 
