New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Shanghai: Another One Bites the Dust

Posted by irefusetotellyou on October 17, 2009

[Note: Fortunately and/or unfortunately for you all, I’ll be posting sporadically while Gaul is on her well-deserved mini-break. Last I heard she was planning on jetsetting over to some mysterious South American country to tend to some tall guy’s right wrist, but … that’s just speculation. –IRRTY]

Whew. Well, a lot happened today. Or yesterday. Or whenever. (I don’t deal too well with this wibbly-wobbly timey-whimey stuff.)

First off: London-hopeful and perpetual under-the-radar-man Nikolay Davydenko beat Radek Stepanek 6-1, 4-6, 6-1. Kolya was able to convert 6 out of 14 break points in his quest to win his 4th ATP title of the year.

If Kolya is able to win on Saturday, he’ll jump 2 spots to No. 7, thus capturing a spot in London in November. Says the always-practical Kolya of this prospect as well as his upcoming semifinal match: “If I win I always have more points, but tomorrow I don’t need think about that. … If I win, is good. If not, bad luck.” 

 

In the next match of the day, Novak Djokovic beat Gilles Simon 6-3, 2-6, 6-2. Evidently there was a bit of this:

Then some of this:

But, in the end, it was this:

 

In my personal “Wha?!” moment of the day, Feliciano Lopez beat Robin Soderling 7-6(4), 6-3. FeLo did have a 3-2 record against RobSod coming into this match, but I was nevertheless a bit disappointed that RobSod couldn’t pull through. I guess FeLo’s new cropped hair/manicured beard will live to see the camera tennis court another day.

 

Finally, Rafael Nadal won 6-3, 3-6 against Ivan Ljubicic after Ljuby retired, citing his left hip. A rather unfortunate end for Ljubicic, who had been playing really well in this tournament. Get better soon, old man.

 

Singles – Quarter-finals
[1] R Nadal (ESP) d I Ljubicic (CRO) 36 63 ret. (left hip)
[2] N Djokovic (SRB) d [8] G Simon (FRA) 63 26 62
[6] N Davydenko (RUS) d [13] R Stepanek (CZE) 61 46 61
F Lopez (ESP) d [9] R Soderling (SWE) 76(4) 63

Doubles – Semi-finals
J Benneteau (FRA) / J Tsonga (FRA) d [3] M Bhupathi (IND) / M Knowles (BAH) 76(2) 62

Doubles – Quarter-finals
J Knowle (AUT) / J Melzer (AUT) d [5] W Moodie (RSA) / D Norman (BEL) 46 76(6) 10-6

6 Responses to “Shanghai: Another One Bites the Dust”

  1. lauren said

    Kolya can be relied on for two things – quietly qualifying for the end-of-year tourney while everyone is watching more charismatic players battle vainly for a spot, and squashing any remaining shred of enthusiasm out of any interview. It’s an art form. I think I love him for it, but, boy, can he be a miserable sod sometimes. I wonder if he was secretly born and raised in Yorkshire.

    Oh and Feli? That teapot/fistpump dance and that Ashton Kutcher beard? Just NO, that’s all I’m saying.

  2. harini said

    Still can’t get over Feli’s run. I’ve missed all the Shanghai results and had to do a “Wha?” face when I heard Rafa made the final.

    Tough for Nole 😦 I thought he’d win Shanghai.

    Also? I don’t deal too well with this wibbly-wobbly timey-whimey stuff = Win.

  3. linz said

    KOYLA!!!!!!!!! I just really love him. So much.

    Now that Roddick’s not gone from the game forever (not that I ever invent worst-case-scenarios in my mind or anything….) I can officially enjoy the journey that is the “race to qualify”. I mean…Roddick should definitely qualify now *fingers crossed, knock on wood, hold breath, etc etc*. So that leaves 2 spots and lots of guys I love…. I REALLY want Soderling to qualify, just because I think if you make it to the final of a major by providing one of the most epic upsets ever and then backing it up with two more wins, you deserve a spot at the WTFs. Hopefully he will earn it….Would love Koyla to get the other spot just so he can have a shot at defending his points from last year- if he loses all of those points he will probably finish the year outside of the top 10, which would be sad. I’d also love Nando to qualify, as he’s been consistently good all year round. Realistically it’ll probably be Koyla and Nando, which would be fine with me too. Or JoJo or Gilles. Really, I love them all. Such a slut.

    Not sure why I just typed all of that…BEAUTIFUL post IRTTY. Good pics. Yummy.

  4. irefusetotellyou said

    Thanks Linz. 🙂

    And I agree with you about the London “race” thing — I would really like RobSod to qualify as well, I feel like he’s really earned it. But then again, as you said, Verdasco has been playing quite well too … and Tsonga … ARRRGGGHH! Can’t they just ALL play? Then no ones feelings get hurt. And that’s how I roll.

  5. greenhopper said

    Chicken legs might be almost back to where he left off last year. He’s either won or lost to the eventual champion in the last three tournaments he’s played.

  6. greenhopper said

    Except for the losing to Djokovic bit.
    Time to shut up now.

Leave a Reply

 
