New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Shanghai: Determined Davydenko Defeats Saucy Success-Seeking Spaniard

Posted by irefusetotellyou on October 18, 2009

I don’t have much match analysis to contribute (erm … do I ever?), especially as I’m watching a replay of the match RIGHT NOW, and it just began.

Anyway, Nikolay Davydenko beat Rafa Nadal 7-6(3), 6-3 to win the Masters 1000 and his 4th ATP title of the year.

From what I’ve seen of the match so far, Nadal didn’t play badly–although he did have the opportunity for a set point in the 1st set–he just couldn’t keep up with Kolya. Kolya was moving well, returning aggressively, and slamming amazing angles cross-court. All I can say is: YOWZA! A well-deserved win for Mr. Davydenko, indeed.

In lieu of any substantive post-match analysis, please just accept these pictures and be thankful that Gaul is coming back soon:

14 Responses to “Shanghai: Determined Davydenko Defeats Saucy Success-Seeking Spaniard”

  1. lauren said

    Much as I love Rafa, I can’t help being pleased for Kolya. He was so heppy in his on-court interview I thought his smile was going wraparound. And Irina cried. Awwww.

    Rafa sweetie, can you please retire those Rupert Bear shorts now?

  2. AmyLu said

    I am also happy for Kolya (and I correctly predicted to JJ before the quarters that I thought the tournament was setting up for him to win), and while I’m disappointed that Rafa didn’t win the title (as I’d really, really, really love to see him biting ANY trophy at this point), I am cautiously optimistic about his form. I feel like he just needs one big win, and then the rest will come, but he’s starting to put himself in the position where he can actually win one of those “big” matches. His serve finally seems to be a “real” serve, and he finally started to hit through his backhand. He’s obviously not quite there yet, but I think he’s making progress, however small the steps may be. I don’t really expect that he’ll win either Paris or the year-end event in London, but if he can continue to improve (and not get injured), I’ll be happy.

    And, anyway, I feel like Rafa could take heart and lessons from Kolya — he was injured at the start of the year, and he’s rounding into really great form now. For a player like Kolya and Rafa who thrives with rhythm and matches, it’s always going to be a process to work your way back into form. And Kolya’s play against both Nole and Rafa was simply phenomenal — I find his ball-striking and footwork to be a joy to watch when he’s playing well.

  3. Bismarck said

    thanks for once again putting your gauly hat on, irtty. ( and you´re looking mighty fine with it 😉 )
    it´s just not a real day in tennis without NB.

  4. irefusetotellyou said

    I try, Bis, I try. But let’s face it — just not the same without ol’ Gaulster. (Not that you’re “old” or anything, G.)

    Perhaps my favorite thing(s) about this match: the long rallies, the moments where I was like “SHIT HOW DID HE GET THAT?! GASP GASP GASP.”, and when Kolya got all hugey-smiley-ecstaticy (as Lauren noted.)

  5. westney said

    AmyLu, I totally agree with your thoughts regarding Rafa. His progression these past two tournaments has been really encouraging. One “big” win would definitely do him a lot of good.

  6. AmyLu said

    Thanks Westney. 🙂 At some boards, I keep reading all sorts of doom and gloom with regard to Rafa so I was beginning to think I may be nuts. I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who thinks that way!

    And, I totally second Bismarck. Thanks much IRTTY for updating — I completely agree that it’s not a day without NB for tennis. 🙂

  7. AmyLu said

    Oh, I also wanted to say how appalled I was by the following question Kolya was asked after he beat Nole. I can’t believe someone had the gall to ask him the question — and I give him so much credit for actually answering it (my answer wouldn’t have been fit to print):

    Q. Is that because you’re not so good looking and keep looking outside the court which makes you put more focus on your tennis? And given a chance, would you like to be more good looking or keep your life going like this?

    NIKOLAY DAVYDENKO: Um, you know, if I be — if I don’t have wife, you know, maybe I can say, Yeah, I disappoint I’m not maybe good looking, yeah, but really I have many girls can be in Russia. I don’t know about China, but in Russia, it’s — I still look good, like feeling comfortable, you know. (laughter.)
    I mean, it’s okay. I really not think about this, yeah?

  8. linz said

    OMG, AmyLu, I had not seen that question!! How APPALLING that someone would ask that! Love Koyla’s answer though, shows what us fans know- he really does have a great sense of humor!

    And I think this might have been the only Shanghai result that could have made me happy after the disastrous beginning, haha! But yes- AmyLu and all Rafa fans- Rafa is here to stay. He will be at the top of the game for a long time- I think he will definitely win another major in 2010!!!

  9. Carrie/Cubbie said

    AmyLu- I agree with you about Rafa’s form. He builds into it. He has had bad periods before- and at least this final was not the horrible booting that he got from Nalby in Madrid or Paris in 2007. I am not ready to put the nails on his career coffin yet!

    I am very happy for Davy though. And to get on the shallow train- I have always felt he has a lovely face. He may be balding and my be scrawnier than the average player but gosh darn if he does not – at least imo- have very nice almost pretty facial features.

  10. Carrie/Cubbie said

    Just remembered- These two dudes- although not likely chums per se because of language and running in very different circles- seem to have a nice relationship. I remember that Rafa came out quite vocally in support of Davy during the match fixing scandal and may have been the most vocal player in his support- at least in the English language press.

  11. imtotallyrad said

    those shorts combined with that jacket make it look like rafa is in his pyjamas…seriously that last picture with the stars in the corner make it look like there in some bizarre nursery and rafas just about to take his trophy plate thing and settle down for the night….

  12. irefusetotellyou said

    AHH! AmyLu, I can’t believe the audacity of that question either!

    Geez, the nerve of some people. I dunno if they have a video; I wonder if the questioner wasn’t a native English speaker and something got lost in translation? (I can only hope.)

  13. thickmike said

    Where’s my Gaul gone?

  14. harini said

    I was bummed to hear Rafa lost (esp. since I made the effort to tape the early morning match…which i still haven’t watched) but well, he made the final, which is great. And I’m always happy when Kolya wins ‘cos the dude deserves it.

    You know, I always thought tennis reporters have awesome jobs, and then you get THAT guy (or girl) who asks a question like that. Who allowed that person to attend tennis pressers?!? Maybe that’s taking it too far, but anyway. For what it’s worth, I’ve always found Nikolay adorable. And anyway, his wife’s obviously into him. Seriously, what a rude question to ask.

    I love that last picture of Rafa and Kolya. Lovely. Thanks for posting IRTTY!

Leave a Reply

 
