New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

It’s Not Finished …. It’s Finished

Posted by gauloises1 on November 11, 2009

Good news? Juan Martin del Potro is through to the third round of the Paris masters to face Fernando Gonzalez after a three-set win. (I feel the urge to go ‘YEAH BABY!’ a la Ola Jordan at this point, but I shall restrain myself. Oh, what the hell. YEAH BABY!). The bad news? Said win came over Marat Safin, ending his career 64 57 64.

marat safindelpo

 

I thought JMDP played quite well overall. He made only 2 UFEs in the first set, served his 500th ace of 2009 somewhere during the second set, and if it hadn’t been for a badly-timed wobble (probably the lack of match practice) serving to stay in the second set he may well have got it done in two. I think Marat was reasonably satisfied to have his final match be against del Potro – if only because, as he said during the post-match presentation, that may possibly entitle him to a share of the prize money should JMDP win the whole shebang – and there was, er, shall we say genuine warmth between them at the net.

marat delpo

delpo marat

delpo marat

JMDP was basically wholly adorable, directing the crowd to applaud Marat, sitting down next to Marat for a chat, and printing ‘MARAT’ on the camera and getting Safin to sign it instead of signing it himself. All of which was making me wibble a little bit, and that was before Marat’s goodbye ceremony, where a bunch of players past and present came on to wish him well and applaud while he was presented with the key to the Bercy stadium.

marat safin

Here’s video of the whole thing, from match point on, in case you missed it:

I realise I’ve spent most of this post talking about JMDP and not Marat. The truth is that my fandom relationship with Marat has been so long and rocky that I don’t quite know what to say. Still, I’ll miss him. I think we’ll all miss him.

Oh just have some more photos.

marat delpo

marat greeting line

marat goodbye

marat goodbye2

marat goodbye3

marat

24 Responses to “It’s Not Finished …. It’s Finished”

  1. harini said

    I’m sad that Marat’s officially retired. But at least he lost to JMDP… in three sets! So he had some fight in him. And I like JMDP so I’m not TOO upset, lol.

    Loved the pics and I’m hoping I have this match recorded so I can watch it when I go home. I love that Gilles and T-Rob came along to say farewell.

  2. Jackobeanz said

    *doesn’t know what to do*
    So much hott….just gone like that….

    if Dinara had been there i wudnt have stopped cryin……ugh….this is almost beating Sugiyama retiring in sadness…..and its hard to beat crying Dani….
    *curls up in ball*

  3. Jackie said

    Ohhhh, Gilles falling over/laughing. And Nole helping him. Presh!!!

  4. mrdarnley said

    Great match it was too. He fought to the end (which is more than I can say for Almagro against Nadal – the last two games he just accepted his fate and gave up.)
    So brilliant to see Delpo out in fit form again. Phew. Hotness galore. I loved it when the ATP coverage showed flashes of all the women in the audience. Looking forward to the match against Gonzo.

  5. mrdarnley said

    also the picture of them almost kissing is sort of wierd but strangly alluring. Imagine what their love child would like. wierd but HOT.

  6. Molly said

    I’m not ashamed to say I cried… a lot… while watching this match. And ate a whole load of chocolate. I suspect thousands of women all over the world were doing the same.

  7. harini said

    I have more time to write a proper comment (I was rushing when I wrote my earlier one).

    Love the pics Gaul and I’m really psyched to watch the match today *really hope my brother didn’t cancel the recording*

    I just can’t believe Marat won’t be playing anymore. On one hand, it relieves me of the constant desire to want to kill him when he loses so badly. On the other hand, it depresses me that I won’t be seeing him on TV anymore (unless he decides to come back for a short stint…).

    Sigh. I’m glad it was a good match and I’m looking forward to it. Looking forward to also watching my first Delpo match since the USO final!

  8. irefusetotellyou said

    I was unable to watch the match, so I don’t have anything useful to say (as usual), except to drool all over the 2nd Marat/Delpo almost-kissing picture.

    SECCREEET LOVERRRRS
    THAT’S WHAT WE ARE.

  9. Maria said

    Lovely, lovely pics. I’m in heaven. Del Po and Marat after the match was sweet.

    Nole looks like he’s squeezing Simon’s knee, attempting to take out the competition huh? :p

  10. linz said

    I’m going to miss him so much- I’ve realized in the absence of Andy since the USO that while I LIKE a whole lot of players, very few evoke passion in me. But how could you not be passionate about Marat? I must say that this was a FANTASTIC way for him to go. Against a great young champion in a good match in a city where he’s had LOADS of success. And the ceremony was really, really well done too. Good job Bercy, good job.

  11. lira vega said

    Praise the lord, it’s finally over! He sort of got me into following tennis, but he’s been doing nothing but moping and tanking on the court and whining off of it lately that I couldn’t help but cool off on him a bit (well, A LOT actually…). Foot fault rule is stupid and should be ignored, Agassi is an idiot, Berdy is a cheater…I’m hoping to suppress the image of grumpy old Marat after a while and conjure up infinitely better young version when I think of him.

  12. Gaby said

    ohh noo marat what are going to do without you, what are bloggers going to do without you, i actually feel genuinely sad about your retirement, but how epic was that it was against jmdp?? you should be thankful for that

  13. AmyLu said

    I am sad that Marat is officially retired (and will definitely miss him), but I’m quite happy that he lost to a player like the Elf. Even though a defeat is a defeat, I still find it easier to take when a player’s last match is to someone of the Elf’s caliber. And the whole ceremony was wonderful…if I were smart, I would have just stopped the tennis viewing for the day there! 🙂

    Up until this year’s USO final, the favorite match I watched live was Safin/Nalbandian at the 2006 USO. It was classic Safin (and Nalbandian) — sublime shots followed by ridiculous ones, much ranting and angst, and a really hilarious on-court interview — he really is one-of-a-kind. I don’t think I’ve completely processed that he’s not playing again yet.

  14. Joolz said

    I think Delpo handled the situation very well. Very gracefully. Well done.

    As for Marat… I’m still in denial. I refuse to start missing him until after the Copa Argentina exho he’s scheduled to play in December. Preferably with a last match against David. 🙂

  15. imtotallyrad said

    awww marat =( he was really one of a kind ill miss the crazy russian bastard thats for sure….
    i was torn sometimes that it was against juan martin i kind of wanted marat to go on tot he next round (then i realised fena was in the next round and i would have been just as torn between them two lol) i didnt want juan to lose in paris after not playing so long.

    im glad that he managed to take it to 3 sets and he put up a good fight and didnt tank in his final match and i think juan was very sweet at the end….and yes i cried when they hugged at the net and when they played the video…it was all very emotional.

    it would be a lie however to say im not unessacerily excited about feña and juan-osaurus in the next round!! im getting flash backs to washington…..*happy thoughts*…its on like donkey kong yeeaaah! =D

  16. Arun said

    Cool coverage. Exactly what I wanted.
    Thanks!

  17. Harini said

    I’m back again…but this time I actually watched it!
    The bad part…I started taping RIGHT at the second to last game of the match so I missed the majority of the good stuff *insert sad face* GRR I should have just set the recording last night, and I didn’t record the replay so I will have to somehow find a Marat’s Greatest Hits DVD to watch the entire thing someday, somehow.

    OK, whining over…

    I loved the trophy ceremony. I did not cry as much as I thought I would but I was tearing up. And I saw the pics you put up top, Gaul, but for some reason I totally did not notice that Costa and El Aynaoui were there. I had to do a double take when those dudes showed up. It was sweet. Nole laughing the entire time in the background to something while Marat was talking cracked me up. And Gilles’s serious face! He’s got the best smile…after Marat.

    I’m going to miss him so much! I kept thinking about when he won Paris in 2000 (was that when he had the bloody nose/eye? Or was that a later win?). Oh Marat. I kind of can’t believe he’s actually done with the tour now…

    Sigh. Well. I’m going to go look at the pretty pictures. Oh and Delpo was adorable, and I loved how he and Marat were just chatting while the tourney organisers tried to get everyone ready for the ceremony. And his laugh when Marat asked him for a share of the prize money he won. Very cute.

    OK, I’m done. Going to go watch that video again…

    • lira vega said

      OMG, I completely forgot about El Aynaoui! Most definitely highlight of the ceremony

      • harini said

        I loved how Marat said “the old guys.” I kept thinking DUDE you’re not old! But it’s weird that tennis makes you think they all are, lol.

        I definitely miss El Aynaoui. He was always super fun to watch.

  18. sealver said

    guys, you have to check this out. it’ll totally put you in christmas mood!!!!!!!!!!

    http://elfyourself.jibjab.com/view/oeJlLnevNbX8jjSY?cmpid=ey_fb_self

  19. sealver said

    guys, you have to check this out, it’ll totally put you in christmas mood!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    http://elfyourself.jibjab.com/view/oeJlLnevNbX8jjSY?cmpid=ey_fb_self

Leave a Reply

 
