New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Paris: The Real WTFs?

Posted by gauloises1 on November 13, 2009

Welcome to Bercy, where the laws of probability and causality no longer apply.

robin soderling

Soderling survives in the race to London, beating Kolya 64 in the third …

nikolay davydenko

… but Kolya qualifies for London anyway, courtesy of …

marin cilic

… Marin Cilic’s victory over Fernando Verdasco, which means that …

jo-wilfried tsonga belly

… Jo-Wilfried Tsonga is still in the hunt if he can beat …

rafael nadal

… Rafa, who survived in three sets against a fellow Spaniard again, this time …

tommy robredo

… Robredo, who served for the match before choking spectacularly …

andy murray groin

… not unlike Murray, who breadsticked Steps in 20 minutes and went on to lose …

juan martin del potro

… but unlike Juan Martin del Potro, who lost a 5-2 lead in both games and tiebreak points to drop the first set to Gonzo, but then saved seven match points to even up the match, at which point Gonzo abruptly retired.

Beat that, London.

27 Responses to “Paris: The Real WTFs?”

  1. naughty T said

    Muzzard is a two fingered wanker…I just knew it!

  2. naughty T said

    Lord Marin’s forearms are no thicker that the shaft of his racquet!! His body defies any physiological reason.

  3. greenhopper said

    I really like these twitter style captions. This is all you need to know about today’s matches anyway.

    • naughty T said

      or this week in its entirety.

      • gauloises1 said

        Well, if I’d tried to actually describe the events of today, the blog would have folded up and imploded, possibly tearing a hole in the fabric of reality and taking the universe with it.

    • AmyLu said

      Completely agree! Fantastic captions — I missed the Elf/Gonzo match, as I had to teach, but I can see things were no less bizarre after I left.

      And, while I fully acknowledge that Tommy donated a break to Rafa at 5-4 in the third, I did think he played incredibly well in the second set. There were several times where his winners had me slightly shocked and in awe.

      • gauloises1 said

        I completely agree, I thought Tommy played fantastically, I’ve never seen better tennis from him. I’m glad Rafa won but I’m also sad for Tommy, because realistically I can’t imagine him ever getting a better opportunity to beat Rafa / get such a big win going forward, and it’s a bit of a shame he couldn’t make it count in the end.

      • linz said

        I concur about the great, snappy post. No need to actually try and make sense of Paris! And yeah, I was GUTTED for Robredo. He was just a tad wobbly at the end there, obviously realizing what a big moment it would be in his career. You just can’t wobble for a second against Nadal at the end, he’s too good of a competitor. I hope Robredo can build on this performance though, I’d love to see him have a good 2010.

  4. naughty T said

    by the way I think we are looking at 3 alternates for Londinium whowhatwherethefucks.

    • gauloises1 said

      I agree, but I still think it’s exciting to see who gets the ‘proper’ spots, if you like … you don’t agree?

    • AmyLu said

      I think it might be easier to get alternates this year since it’s in London, but who knows, everyone may just be ready for vacation at this point in time.

      • gauloises1 said

        God, I wonder if there’s any way that Marin could get an alternate spot? There are probably too many people ahead of him, but maybe if Gonzo isn’t feeling physically up to it / wants to go back home … Steps might want the week off to prepare for Davis Cup …

        • AmyLu said

          I’m not convinced that Roddick is going to make the trip, which could potentially open up another spot for Tsonga/Verdasco/Soderling — and if that happens, I think there’s a very good chance Cilic could make it as an alternate, which I’d be thrilled with.

        • naughty T said

          you are mainly thinking the way I am thinking G. It could end up being very WTeffy if not iffy in Londinium Toon

          • gauloises1 said

            Well, let’s see … Fed *seems* physically fine but he was doing stretches the other day against Lamb, Rafa and Nole are probably OK, Muzz has a wrist and groin issue, Elf has a wrist and probable abs issue, Roddick has a knee thing, Kolya couldn’t breathe properly today …

            Line up the alternates, London.

            • naughty T said

              Fudd .. brain strain, despite what he says. sadly.
              Maybe the WTF’s are different but he is so “been there done that.” at the moment. I think he just wants to be high on a hill living like a lonely GOATherd yodelay yodelayeeehoooooooo. To quote Ms. Andrews.

              • gauloises1 said

                Well, even if that is true, the Australian Open will reignite his competitive instincts, I’m sure of that.

                Just call him Serena.

                • naughty T said

                  I can only hope. Never want to see the Fuddhand in action again.I would rather he retired.

                  • naughty T said

                    there now i have succeeded in making the post really skinny
                    . Just like Marin

                    • gauloises1 said

                      I know I have posited this question before, but I don’t see how there’s room for any internal organs in that body of his. Is he human, or is he dancer, that’s what I want to know. And I’m amused at how skinny this comment will turn out to be.

  5. linz said

    I have just fallen so crazy deeply in love with Gonzo, even though I feel I should still hate him for what he did to James in the Olympics, I just am obsessed with the crazy. I can’t believe he retired! When my friend came over for dinner he had just squandered his fourth match point. How very Gonzo of him. It is physically impossible for the man to play a boring match.

    Also, so I’m pretty sure that Roddick won’t go to London- I mean, he qualified, which is good enough, and he’s played in so many of these year-end things that I doubt he’d risk his health in any way to do so again. (Now, would I be thrilled if he changes his mind and goes and kicks butt? Well duh!). Anyways, so that leaves room for Fer, Koyla, and Sod to qualify with Jo as the alternate? And Gonzo can go too? I love them all. Unless of course Jo defends his title and automatically qualifies, leaving Sod as the alternate- or Fer- or something like that- I basically have no clue at all what I’m talking about, I just want them all there.

    • imtotallyrad said

      oh welcome to my world 😉
      fena is one crazy mutherchucker….and he also happens to be easy on the eyes lol…
      the olympics are in the past…forget about james and embrace the chilean love 😉

  6. imtotallyrad said

    my god! :O there IS something in the tennis playing populations water over there in paris!!
    thats just messed up like…how in the name did soderking defeat koyla and marin beating tabs?!?! the world has gone insane….much like it did in roland garros this year…crazy results MUST mean were in paris baby!!

    although now only del potro and jo-wil are my shining stars and my tallest star..according to his match with feña.. seems to have tummy troubles…uh-oh :S

Leave a Reply

 
