New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Who’s The Biggest WTF of Them All?

Posted by gauloises1 on November 17, 2009

In case you’ve been living under a rock for the past whatever … did you know that the year-end no. 1 spot is up for grabs at the World Tour Finals?

You can find all the various scenarios here. Basically, Federer leads Nadal by 945 points, with 1,500 points on offer to any champion in London who goes undefeated in round-robin play. You do the maths.

And just to offer them both equal press coverage; you can find a nice article on Federer here and one on Nadal which seems nice when Google translated here (did you know religion is the biggest killer in history?).

11 Responses to “Who’s The Biggest WTF of Them All?”

  1. AmyLu said

    I think I have a better chance of defending my dissertation by December than Rafa does at finishing the year ranked number one (and let’s just say that I have yet to defend the proposal version of my dissertation so yeah…) I mean, I’m happy Rafa seemed to regain some of his form, but I really can’t see him winning the WTF. I’ll consider it a huge victory if he can make the semis — that’s really all I’m shooting for, and I don’t see that one as a given at all (in fact, I’m rather prepared for him not to make the semis — it will be a very nice surprise if he does to me).

    I enjoy reading Rafa interviews in Spanish so much more than in English — and lately I feel like he’s been even more open with the Spanish press since his injury. I’ve had the sense from previous interviews with Rafa that neither he nor his family are “religious” in the sense of being really strong practicing Catholics or anything of that sort. His recent quotes (and some of Toni’s) really seem to support that notion.

  2. greenhopper said

    I’m not even Rafa can hold on to #2, given how well Nole is playing right now. I’ll be really, really happy if he wins a couple of matches.

    • AmyLu said

      I’m expecting that he’ll lose number two by the end of the Australian Open (if not sooner, of course, but I’m having a tough time envisioning a scenario where he’s going to be ranked number two after the AO ends — even if he defends his title, Nole can pick up quite a few points, and I think the gap between the two will be very narrow by that point). And I’m okay with that — it’s amazing how the fact that he’s reached number one has made the rankings issue pretty “meh” to me. I don’t frazzle about it now like I was in 2008. I just want him to be healthy and play to his capabilities. That’s it.

      • gauloises1 said

        I still can’t quite believe that Nole can keep up his strong form through three round-robin matches and so on.

        But hey, I’ve been monumentally wrong before.

      • gauloises1 said

        And I also meant to say that I thought Rafa was like his pre-knees self against Tsonga. So, encouraging signs there. I think he could have a good performance in London.

        • AmyLu said

          The Tsonga match was definitely encouraging. And I thought his comments after losing to Nole were pretty spot on. I’m definitely more optimistic about his chances now than I was after the Almagro and Robredo matches, that’s for sure.

          The Nole/Rafa semifinal reminded me of their 2007 Rome match — just the reverse in terms of outcome. In that one, Rafa just steamrolled, but I didn’t think Nole played that badly. He just caught a very in fire Rafa, on his best surface. That match (and the 2007 match against Youzhny) are honestly the ones where I thought he’s played his best on clay.

          • greenhopper said

            I think most of it is in his head. He holds up a grudge pretty well, and if he makes up his mind to take control of a match, he goes for it. But currently has problems sustaining that level. Hopefully, he can get a step further in London in putting up a good fight even if he doesn’t win any matches.

            I too am not too worried about the ranking after 2008 happened. Also, I’d really love to see a Fed/Rafa semi at a slam. 🙂

  3. Aleksa said

    ATP wanking system is giving me headache and is annoying me to no end.

    Nole played the personal best clay season (save RG conundrum) and still lost his rankings to in-form Muzz. Fine. Then he has shown impressive game including some brilliant shot making moments during autumn and has apparently given his No.3 ranking new shine of glory. Or so I am told.
    He however can lose his No.3 ranking to Muzz again if he miserably fails in London and Muzz wins the whole thing.

    Honestly, this ever elusive No. 2 ranking has become an insurmountable obstacle for Nole, either by the Rafael Nadal himself which I find admirable and worthy, or by the wanking system dropping points formulae shiz which I find extremely annoying and mind bollocking.

    I have hard time believing that either Roger or Rafa will stumble and fall once London starts rolling. I also find it unlikely that Novak will win all his RR matches and defend his title.

    I hope he comes to London strong and fit to compete on highest level so he could take the momentum to Melbourne. And finally excel during Slams as he should and is capable of.

    After Basel and Paris all I can say is that I am proud and impressed by Nole. He was splendid.

  4. harini said

    Well, I’ve always been sort of whatever about the ranking system. I just care about results and the ranking stuff never bothered me. But, that said, I don’t think Rafa will get the no. 1 spot. I agree with greenhopper, I just want him to win a few matches and end the year on a good note.

    I dunno about Nole. He always seems to be in super top form and then he tanks the next tournament. Granted, he stayed strong through Basel and Paris, so he could probably win the WTFs. But every time I think he’s going to be great, he disappoints. I’d love for him to win the WTFs!

    Thanks for that article, Gaul. I love reading Rafa’s interviews, although it was kind of difficult to get some points properly due to the translation (Google’s translator is SO much better than Microsoft’s!). It’s times like these I wish I knew Spanish!

    Rafa, just do your best at the WTFs and then chillax before next season.

Leave a Reply

 
