New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

WTF Day Five: No, Really … WTF?!

Posted by gauloises1 on November 27, 2009

I believe I’ve said before that in my experience, it’s much harder to identify, latch on to and follow the narrative of the larger significance of a match when you’re watching it live than it is when you’re watching a broadcast. Which can often make it less stressful. And can often make it more – well …

Believe me when I say not a person in the O2 tonight knew what was going on after that match ended.

Anyway. In a match that was reportedly a war of attrition rather than brilliant tennis from either, Andy Murray overcame Fernando Verdasco 64 67(4) 76(3) to attain a 2-1 record in his group, only to be edged out by the narrowest of margins from making the semifinals.

 

Instead, it’s Juan Martin del Potro and Roger Federer who are through, after Delpo (MY MAN! sorry, still coming down) vanquished Federer 62 67(5) 63 in what was a truly brilliant performance from the Argentine.

It may have been confusing and odd, the margins may have been incredibly slim, but tonight, I thought del Potro was not simply indomitable, he was good and more than good … great.

More thoughts to follow as soon as I’ve had some sleep and don’t have to type everything three times to try to spell it corectly corretly correctly …

10 Responses to “WTF Day Five: No, Really … WTF?!”

  1. harini said

    Said it before but loved your tweets, glad you got to see your man win, and I’m still confused about what happened when the match ended. (wasn’t watching it, and I just saw all the comments on Twitter. I’m guessing it’s the whole Murray thing? Which I am sad about…that just sucks!)

  2. Jess said

    So Happy – JMdP – you rocks!

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    I absolutely love that last picture of JMDP. (Though I pretty much absolutely love ANY picture of JMDP, so it’s a bid hard to judge.)

    Anyway, I hope you had the time of your life and drank as much bubbly as possible. I SUPPOSE I’ll forgive you for not streaking, but Elf may not; in the 1st photo, he’s obviously saying “WTF, Gaulzy? My victory is not complete without seeing your glorious, glorious bod.”

    Amen and alleluia.

  4. mgasol said

    JMDP was amazing! 🙂 With both of my guys through to the semis (Fed and Delpo), I now have my Christmas wish, lol. 🙂

  5. AmyLu said

    Yay! So happy you were able to see the Elf win live! 🙂

    We recorded the match and hopefully will be able to watch it later tonight (my parents now have the Tennis Channel, which was not at all exciting yesterday but is today). First tennis match I actually want to watch that I’ve missed with travel and Thanksgiving.

  6. Jess said

    It’s so close, so confusing

    “I asked Juan Martin myself at the net, ‘Did you make it or not?”’ Federer said. “He said, ‘I don’t think so.’ …
    http://www.tennis.com/news/news.aspx?id=192794

  7. sophienz said

    I’m SO happy for him! he did exactly what he needed to in the last set, it was awesome. what a great match – lying on the couch watching it was a perfect remedy for my hangover 🙂

  8. imtotallyrad said

    oh the joy of having sports commentators explain the margins and possibilities with handy on screen charts 😀 i was practicly on top of the tv when he was playing to break in the final set nowing he couldt allow fed to win more then 3 games then i was off my tree with happiness when he won by exactly the bare minimum!! way to go juanito way to go!!! *dances*

    and i loved ur tweets! the best commentary i’ve seen lol

  9. Maria said

    Well done to Juan, he played some beautiful tennis. Was gaping at his scintillating strokes at times. Was so happy. Afterwards was just WTF??! No one knew what was going on and after that match in which my heart was going boom boom the hoohaa just made it worse! My mind went temporarily blank after he took his shirt off and it then went to a very bad bad place….

  10. maedel said

    gauloises, love your posts (just discovered this blog/website). looking forward to your comments on the remaining matches as well…!

Leave a Reply

 
