New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Au Revoir, Amelie

Posted by gauloises1 on December 3, 2009

Momo called it a career today, announcing her decision to retire from professional tennis at the age of 30.

“I don’t want to train anymore,” a teary-eyed Mauresmo said at the press conference. “I had to make a decision, which became evident in the last few months and weeks. When you grow older, it’s more difficult to stay at the top. It’s a bit sad, but this is the right decision. I was lucky enough to have an exceptional career and to experience very strong feelings on the court.” […]

“It became very hard in build-up to the US Open,” the 30-year-old said. “If I were able to enter the court, play and shine, of course I could continue, but to achieve this you need to put in such hard work. And I’m not capable of that. I dreamt of this career, I dreamt of winning a Grand Slam title. I lifted trophies in every city in the world and I lived 10 magical and unbelievable years.”

I’m sure I don’t have to explain how sad this makes me. But when it’s time, it’s time. However her life after tennis plays out, it’s going to be wonderful.

Momo was the first women’s tennis player I ever supported, and I’m so glad I got back into serious WTA-watching this year to catch her fantastic performance in Paris. Everything I’ve ever learned about her off the court has only made me admire her more. And I’m sure I’m not the only one who is going to miss her dreadfully.

One of a kind.

5 Responses to “Au Revoir, Amelie”

  1. jewell - Make tea, not war. said

    *loves Amelie* I hope she has fun whatever she does next. Will miss her. 😦

  2. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    I just read the quotes from her camp at L’Equipe and I’m crying. I’m going to miss her so much. I never wanted her to stay if it meant she would be unhappy but I never wanted her to leave either. I was hoping that if she did announce her retirement, she would do a farewell tour. She is an extraordiinary champion and I wish we would have been able to celebrate her career especially at Roland Garros and Wimbledon. I truly wish her all the best.

    • gauloises1 said

      Oh my god, I just read those quotes too and I can totally understand you’re … well, fuck, I am too 😦 Even in Google Translate, that’s just too much.

      I know what you mean about wanting to have a chance to celebrate her, but I don’t think a farewell tour is her style. No hanging around for Momo once she’s made up her mind.

      I know she’s going to have a great life, whatever she chooses to do, but I still feel bereft.

  3. jb (Go Berdworm!!..) said

    nope – am in complete denial. I’ll miss Momo something fierce. Just an all around beautiful player to watch. *sniff*

Leave a Reply

 
