New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

D Cup: Draw & OOP

Posted by gauloises1 on December 3, 2009

And so it begins.

Rafael Nadal vs. Tomas Berdych

H2H: 5-3. Berdych’s last victory over Nadal came in 2006 and Rafa has never lost to Berdych on clay.

David Ferrer vs. Radek Stepanek

H2H: 3-3 (1-1 on clay).

Something of a surprise to see Ferrer, last seen withdrawing with a hamstring injury in Valencia, replacing Verdasco, who played very well at times in London; but Verdasco can always be swapped in against Berdych, whom he has a decent record against, on Sunday.

Lopez and Verdasco should have no problem putting away the doubles rubber if it’s played by Dlouhy and Hajek, but I’m personally hoping that we end up with Lopez-Verdasco vs. Berdych-Stepanek – two brilliant Davis Cup doubles teams against each other in what may turn out to be the decisive rubber. I could go for some of that.

This has the potential to be a really interesting final. Team BirdWorm have had a magnificent run to get here, Berdych is untouchable on his day, and Stepanek certainly will relish the opportunity to make his presence felt on the Armada’s home ground; but do they have enough left in reserve at the end of a long season with their entire nation resting solely on their shoulders (no offence, Dlouhy and Hajek) after rising to the occasion so many times before? As for the Armada, there’s enough questions surrounding the fitness of their top players to make an upset seem possible; but I think their greater resources, and the fact that the entire team have proven records of lifting their game for Davis Cup and seem to relish playing for their country, will still be more than enough to retain the cup.

I reckon 4-1 to Spain. What do you guys think?

Play starts 16.00 local (15.00 GMT).

12 Responses to “D Cup: Draw & OOP”

  1. jewell - Make tea, not war. said

    I think, *FRAZZLE*.

    and, pictures of Rafa! On NB! *adores Gauloises*

    • gauloises1 said

      Sometimes it’s needful, no? 🙂

      Whenever you say ‘frazzle’, I imagine your brain actually sizzling. Are you going to be able to watch tomorrow?

      • jewell - Make tea, not war. said

        Hopefully. If I speed-drive (probably not a good idea, you know what my driving is like) I should be home by 4pm at the latest. And I guess actual play won’t start until about 3.15…and then it will Rafa half an hour to get ready to serve…LOL. Anyway, might not see it all but will catch some. And I just don’t know about Ferrer-Stepanek, I’d like to see it, but might have to spend some time with family instead. Nuisances! 😉

        that is how my brain feels. And my stomach sort of bubbles and I feel sick and weak. (I know, pathetic…LOL)

    • AmyLu said

      I am joining jewell in frazzling — I can’t remember the last time I frazzled to this extent about a Rafa clay match that didn’t involve Fed or Nole as the opponent. I also have to grade 25 papers tomorrow so I’m guessing my students would appreciate it if Rafa plays well. 🙂

  2. kefuoe said

    Earlier today I had a premonition that Nadal would win his match in dramatic and nerve-wracking fashion. That said, my premonitions are generally worthless.

    I think the conditions (underdog, home crowd) play to Stepanek’s strengths (or am I just imagining that he relishes the role of spoiler), so I think it will be close. If they go with BirdWorm for the doubles, I think it could be close, too, but that will not bode well for those two on Sunday.

  3. naughty T said

    haha.. “I will eat your liver” says Berdy to Raffuh … “and I will sex your girfriend and possibly even you” says Sexaneck to Simba

Leave a Reply

 
