New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

D Cup Imminent

Posted by gauloises1 on December 3, 2009

(Sorry for the lack of blogging, it’s not been a great week.)

So who else is excited about the Davis Cup final? The draw will take place tomorrow, but the boys have naturally enough been hitting the practice courts all week and, in the case of the Spanish team, wearing some gear gear:

Verdasco was reportedly confirmed fully fit for the tie today, and they seem pretty ready to go …

Tio Toni is getting in on the action, too:

I can’t find any really good photos of the Czech team, but there have been a couple of interesting pieces on them, one on Radek and his racquet (no, really) and one from Deuce on Berdych:

Fed on tales of how Ivan Lendl, Tomas Smid, Pavel Slozil and the veteran Jan Kodes led the then named Czechoslovakia to a 4-1 victory over Italy at the Sportovní hala in Prague for the 1980 Davis Cup title, Tomas Berdych, aided by team mates Radek Stepanek, Jan Hajek and Lukas Dlouhy, is determined to become a modern day tennis hero and inspire a new generation of Czech players to the sport.

“I remember when the ice hockey players won the 1998 Winter Olympics gold medal [1-0 over Russia] in Nagano, Japan,” said Berdych.  “Over 100,000 people turned up at the Old Town Square in Prague.  Ever since then Radek and I have been pushing ourselves to do a ‘Nagano’.” […]

“Radek is a funny guy, he makes a lot of jokes and he is a really good team player.  Lukas is the same.  Radek is a tremendous fighter on the court, as evidenced against Ivo Karlovic in a six-hour match [against Croatia in the semi-finals].  It was extremely tough for him, more mentally than physically.  If someone hits 50-60 plus aces and forty winners it is tough to survive.  He enjoys being in a team and helping the team do well.”

Not really what I meant by ‘get your head on straight’, but OK.

10 Responses to “D Cup Imminent”

  1. ptenisnet said

    How can you not root for Berdworm.

    • AmyLu said

      If Rafa could win his two singles matches, I would be on board with team Berdworm winning. I can’t believe how on edge I am about Rafa’s matches this weekend. I’m just keeping fingers crossed that clay can serve as some sort of tonic for Rafa because yeah, I don’t think I can handle seeing a Rafa who sprays shots left and right for much longer.

      • Cubbie/Carrie said

        If Rafa loses on clay at DC my Rafa loving heart which has already been crushed into a million pieces will be crushed by a steamroller, picked up and put in the bag with the dirty cat litter.

        My lord he needs good play and these two wins so much. So much. I want his smile and joy at tennis back.

      • AmyLu said

        Okay, I take back my comment. Ferru is playing singles so I now need/want both Rafa and Ferru to win their matches. I thought Verdasco might be the other singles player. Sorry, team Berdworm…I promise to root for you in the future!

    • jewell - Make tea, not war. said

      I am beginning to feel a bit conflicted…the Czech team are exerting quite a pull on me, and if it wasn’t against Spain I would probably root for them…but Rafa is on the Spanish team, and I want him to win both his matches AND hopefully to have the good feeling of a team win – particularly as he couldn’t play last year. I can’t help it. 🙂

      • gauloises1 said

        I’m not that bothered. I think the Czechs have done magnificently to get that far, but it’s hard to root against any team containing Boss and Ferru – not to mention that I don’t think I can handle the sadness of some of my favourite people if Rafa doesn’t do well. (He will.)

  2. Jess said

    What’s up with the Spanish??!!! How can the DC team be so awesome! Hot, great personalities (well, some narcissus — but forgiven).

  3. irefusetotellyou said

    Love Boss’s suspicious look in the team photo.

    Also, re: the Steps blurby, I swear I spent a couple minutes looking at the first sentence before realizing that “Fed on tales of how how Ivan Lendl, Tomas Smid, Pavel Slozil …” had NOTHING to do with Fed(erer).

  4. I wonder if any other player’s coach would be allowed the same kind of access that Tio Toni gets?

    And on a purely shallow note, the grey in his temples is turning me on in an unbelievable way. I’ld let him be my daddy any day.
    (and I mean that in a totally bad way)

Leave a Reply

 
