New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

D Cup Final: Domination

Posted by gauloises1 on December 7, 2009

Spain 5, Czech Republic 0

Rafael Nadal d. Tomas Berdych, 75 60 62

Well, hello there, Rafa. Nice to see you.

Big statement from Rafa in his penultimate match of the year. Can we stop with all the ‘Rafa is done’ talk now? He obviously thinks he isn’t, and that’s the only opinion that really matters:

I am lucky to play tennis. Is my hobby and at the same time my job. So for me is not very difficult wake up every day and practice hard. Always the motivation is important, wake up every day with the goal to improve something. The day when I wake up and I don’t feel this thing, I going to play golf or another thing.

source

David Ferrer d. Radek Stepanek, 16 26 64 64 86

Oh, Ferru. You little five-set warrior, you. One of my favourite matches of last year was watching him come back from 1-2 down against Roddick in the semifinals (a match that also ended 8-6 in the third). I didn’t get to see this one, but he basically clinched the tie with his comeback victory, ensuring that Navratil was forced to tap Berdych and Stepanek for the doubles, leaving them exhausted even if they managed to keep the tie alive into Sunday. (Which they didn’t.)

And of course the cheering!Boss photoage was just a bonus:

Feliciano Lopez / Fernando Verdasco d. Tomas Berdych / Radek Stepanek 76(7) 75 62

You kind of knew it was going to end up this way.

I don’t know what it is with Lopez, Verdasco and Davis Cup, but whatever it is, it seems to work. They handed Berdych and Stepanek their first ever Davis Cup doubles defeat, and they did it to clinch the tie and the defense of the trophy. Cue the celebrations that slashers love …

The dead rubbers were also efficiently wrapped up by Spain, with Nadal beating Hajek, 63 64, and Ferrer beating Dlouhy, 64 62.

Really tough weekend for the Czechs, but they’ve done amazingly to get this far. Spain just have too many good players who have the ability to rise to the Davis Cup occasion. Once Ferrer beat Stepanek, it was really all over bar the shouting, hugging, champagne-spraying and trophy-biting …

So that’s the Davis Cup done and dusted for 2009, remaining firmly in the hands of Spain. I do just want to say how pleased I am for Jewell, AmyLu, Rafadoc and the other Rafa/Armada fans who comment here and have not had the best time of late … hope you’re smiling now 🙂

18 Responses to “D Cup Final: Domination”

  1. AmyLu said

    Thanks for the lovely wrap-up and photos. And thank you much for the really kind words — yes, I am smiling now. 🙂

    I can’t say enough how much of a joy this weekend was to me, not only because I felt like I saw Rafa play tennis again, but also for Ferru’s gutty, inspirational win. I am SO thrilled for him. And seeing the passion and emotion on the Spanish bench during his match was a treat in and of itself.

    I do feel really badly for Stepanek, though, and I really do hope that team Berdworm gets another chance at the Davis Cup in the future. I will definitely be on board and rooting for them.

    • gauloises1 said

      Well said 🙂

      Yeah – the shame is that Steps is what, 31 now? It’s hard to see him being able to sustain this level through another year. On the other hand, Steps does seem to be powered by some form of energy not available to the rest of us, so who knows?

  2. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    Feli…well…I’d hit that into next week.

    He and Verdasco should play doubles at Roland Garros.

    • gauloises1 said

      Do they play doubles at Slams? They totally should.

      • Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

        A quick search on the ATP’s website says that they do. They lost in the first round of the French Open this year which I find weird. I would have expected them to do better.

  3. linz said

    I am basically in love with the entire Spanish team besides Nadal (who I don’t hate or anything, I’m just not really a big fan), so even though I was totally Team Czech for this tie (I’m a sucker for an underdog), getting to see Ferru, Lopez, Nando, and Boss so happy is a more than worthy consolation prize.

    And yes, Joan, I’m TOTALLY for Feli and Nando playing more doubles together. I really can never get enough of the Bromance. They’re really, really awesome at hugging.

    And I too am happy for all of the Rafa fans who have had to deal with to much negativity surrounding Rafa these past few months. He’ll win a major in 2010.

    • irefusetotellyou said

      “They’re really, really awesome at hugging.”

      HAHAHAHHAHA

      If there’s ever a HUGGING competition at the Olympics, they’ll definitely secure the gold.
      Just think about it: hugging over obstacles, hugging while standing in quicksand, hugging while wild animals try to attack you …
      so many possibilities.

      • linz said

        LOL!!!! I mean seriously, every time I see them they’ve come up with new and more exciting ways to hug. I think they might be practicing…….

  4. SA said

    This Rafa and Armada fan is ridiculously happy right now. And let me say, after Daveed won he went right over to Boss and gave him this long and tight hug. It was adorable and hot all at the same time.

  5. jewell - Make tea, not war. said

    *adores Gauly*

    I know I am a horribly infrequent commenter but thank you for the kind words. 🙂

    Ferru = man of the match, for me.

    But I do love the picture of Rafa biting the trophy. :)))

    I am sad for the Czechs, and hope they do well next year.

  6. harini said

    Love this post. And every time I see pics of Ferru from his match, it makes me SO happy. I was (and am) so thrilled he pulled out that win.

    Sigh. I love the Armada.

  7. Rafadoc said

    Gosh…so late to the party! Its been two weeks *sniff* .

    Thanks for the wrap up Gauloises. Lovely and well done and thanks for the very kind words to Armada/Rafa fans. 🙂

    Love your comments on Ferru-the five set warrier. I have always enjoyed bonding with you over our Ferru love. I hope this win gives him the kind of momentum it gave Fer in 2009. Go Daveeeeed!

  8. […] friend to the animals; well-established Davis Cup warrior, thus making it less annoying when Spain inevitably win; besties with Boss in an adorable fashion; prone to ripping off his clothes; he’s so adorable […]

Leave a Reply

 
