New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Australian Open: You Can’t Stop It

Posted by gauloises1 on January 14, 2010

Is anybody else having a slightly difficult time getting their heads around the fact that the Australian Open is, like, next week? No? Just me, then.

Anyway, it is, and the players have been out on the practice courts in Melbourne to prove it.

Mr. Incredible.

Venus just showed up to be serene at you.

Justine … didn’t.

Andy Roddick sweats a lot.

Andy Murray mucks about a lot.

Kim wears a lot.

And Masha proves again that she’s ten times prettier just practicing …

… than she is selling earrings or whatever the hell is going on here.

Kolya, meanwhile, continues with the grand plan.

They’ll never see him coming.

5 Responses to “Australian Open: You Can’t Stop It”

  1. AmyLu said

    I can’t believe it starts next week either, and I’m just hoping I make it there with my sanity intact. This week has been a VERY busy and trying one for me (and I’m hoping to make it with my sanity intact…I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday *sighs*) so I feel like I’m completely out of the loop with regard to tennis. I have no idea who’s won in the past few days (will have to read your other posts :))and the time difference makes me feel even more confused…I’m just hoping things calm down here so I can actually have a clue about what’s going on in the AO!

    • gauloises1 said

      Ouch, sounds stressful. I hope things calm down for you!

      I wouldn’t hope to get too much of a handle on things from my other posts; between starting a new job, repeatedly getting snowed out/snowed in/generally divided by acres of frozen tundra from where I need to be at any given moment in time, and the time difference between Australia and here, I’m amazed I even know my own name right now 🙂

      • AmyLu said

        Thanks gauloises! I hope the snow calms down for you and that your new job is going well…and believe me your posts make me feel MUCH more in the loop than I did before. I realized that the past two days are the first time that I can remember in the last several years when I didn’t have a scoreboard open while live tennis was being played. 🙂

  2. linz said

    I’m pretty sure the AO is going to kill me, but hopefully in a good way. I’m really pumped for it but I also know that I will get like an hour of sleep a day the entire two weeks. I also predict that I will mess up the time change approximately 1,335 times.

    LOVE this post btw. You’re totally right- I don’t think Masha glams up well- she’s much prettier au natural.

    VENUS! I kept having nightmares that she would w/d. I constantly worry about her health. I’m glad she’s there so she can lose in the second round again, it’s a really, really fun game she plays.

  3. Mlle. Marseillaise (a.k.a Joan) said

    Kolya’s head scarf should match his purse.

Leave a Reply

 
