New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

AO Day One: Best of the Pressers

Posted by gauloises1 on January 18, 2010

Just a few quotes I liked from today’s press room action …

Q. What do you say to yourself now in order to recover, let’s say, psychologically from a defeat which is painful, I guess?

MARIA SHARAPOVA: Uhm, that it’s a bad day and you have to get on with your life. You know, there are many worse situations in life. There are people that don’t even know what a tennis match is in the world.

You know, just a bad day. A bad day’s not going to stop me from doing what I love. I’m still gonna go back on the court and work hard and perform. I’ll be back here on a Saturday of the second week, so you’ll watch.

Actually the whole thing is brilliant. You should read it.

Q. Did you resent having to play qualifying?

YANINA WICKMAYER: What does ‘resent’ mean?

Q. Your boyfriend plays Federer. Have you had a word about how to take down the big guns?

MARIA KIRILENKO: Yeah, he had Federer and I have Sharapova. I think before the matches he said that we can start the year like loud, you know (laughter). And I already start the year loud, I think. So now his turn.

Q. You seem a bit slimmer than last year, a bit lighter.

RAFAEL NADAL: Can we bring scales tomorrow? Everybody ask me the same. If we bring something here, I gonna put… I have the same weight than last year. I weigh the same five years ago. I didn’t change.

Q. But you are playing well, too, now.

ELENA DEMENTIEVA: You’re asking me or you’re telling me?

Q. Telling you or asking you. Whatever.

ELENA DEMENTIEVA: Telling me. Thank you (laughter.)

Q. Did you take a tumble out there?

ANDY RODDICK: Yeah, I ran into one of those immovable objects called a referee. He wasn’t giving up any ground. I didn’t see him. He wasn’t really trying to do much to get out of the way.

Q. Has that ever happened to you before?

ANDY RODDICK: No. No. I don’t think so. Normally they see a player running full speed, they decide to at least move or catch the player. You know, I felt like he was trying out for WWE or something, just letting me go.

6 Responses to “AO Day One: Best of the Pressers”

  1. lauren said

    I am involved in a battle for my soul. I keep writing sneering and dismissive comments about Masha, and keep deleting them before I post them. Pray for me.

  2. irefusetotellyou said

    Despite my best attempts to always not like ARod, his pressers are usually quite entertaining.

    (Still not saying I like him, however.)

    • monique said

      He is lovable, smart, witty, intelligent, generous, sexy, good looking,very interesting, down to earth, you never heard him say one word vs other players or anyone as a matter of fact, loves his mother, has a Foundation since he is 18, very entertaining, gorgeous smile, gorgeous wife, still has friends when he was young, very loyal, loves animals, has an adorable dog, so what’s not to like??????? haha

      And don’t want an answer like, oh but he throws tantrums sometimes and argues with the umpire. He played more than 700 matches in his life and you can count about 10 matches that he misbehaved and people still remember him for those few times. Not saying anymore on the subject. Close.

Leave a Reply

 
