New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

AO Day Seven: Marin Kills His Albatross

Posted by gauloises1 on January 24, 2010

I hope to have some thoughts on this later, but for now …

Marin Cilic d. Juan Martin del Potro 57 64 75 57 63

 

Rather shambolic from Delpo.

Really impressive from Marin.

Discuss.

16 Responses to “AO Day Seven: Marin Kills His Albatross”

  1. mrdarnley said

    Well I’m wired on coffee so here goes. I didn’t think Delpo was shambolic as such, but most definitely not at his best. It was all a little Italian footballer at times with the underlying threat of the wrist, a knee issue at one point, and then a toenail issue. But Marin did play well and, okay fine I’ll admit it, overall better (but the result was only a sliver of difference – which I think says a lot for Delpo, with him not in his best form).
    The relationship between the two seemed quite friendly with loads of mutual respect. Like when Cilic mixed it up and tapped the ball over the net so Delpo couldn’t make it, Delpo applauded him. And when Delpo lobbed the ball too short he knew what was coming and turned his back on Cilic’s return, and Cilic instead of smashing the ball down, just finished off the point without too much blood.
    Cilic had more double faults, unforced errors and winners. This is going to be a great rivalry. And like Delpo said the rankings lie. I hope Marin makes it into the semis and/or finals and most deffo into the top ten soon.
    Sorry to see Delpo go, but he wasn’t playing in top form. Better luck next time.

  2. Maria1 said

    I wish I could have seen this match, whilst I’m a bit sad part of me isn’t because it was to Cilic. Oh well, indeed better luck next time DP. I hope Cilic goes far.

  3. linz said

    *hugs*

    Let me know how you’re coping, looks like I’m going to need tips…

    • linz said

      Okay, now that I’m not mid heart-attack I can actually comment.

      I saw the first 2 sets of this and was impressed by both guys (like I usually am). They really move so well- you completely forget you’re watching two giants. No “lumbering” going on out there.

      It was obvious that Delpo had a million aches and pains, I hope he gets some rest and gets healthy for the rest of the season- he should obviously be focused on Miami/IW where he has a lot of points to defend.

      As for Marin, I just never give him enough credit. I mean, I saw LIVE what he did to MAndy at the USO and it was some of the most flawless tennis I’ve ever seen. Not sure how his form was at the end of this match, but I’m assuming it was pretty great- if he can string that together for a few more matches you never know…

      He’s certainly got a good shot to beat Roddick, who has not showed anything special this tournament so far (besides patience).

      But big *HUGS* to all you Delpo fans =)

  4. Mom2KidsMortgage said

    Damnit, Delpo. GO RODDICK!!

  5. Either way, the winner of this match will be beaten by Roddick.

  6. neil in toronto said

    I saw only the first 2 sets of this match but Kudos to both guys. Definitely the men’s match of the tournament so far ( tho i am gathering Gonzo/Roddick was high drama as well). I like Marin and am glad he’s through to his first AO quarter final. I didn’t think Elf was moving all that well, and lacked a bit of sting on that massive forehand of his. He did well to battle his injuries to get as far as he did.

  7. imtotallyrad said

    to say i was shattered would be an understatement….i sprited my ass out that stadium the second delpo hit the last ball, delpo just couldnt catch a break i could see he was always aching somewhere and i knew that was going to be a problem, and the croatian spectators just made it so much worse for him and he lost his sh*t a few times and really let them get under his skin.

    i really dont like cilic but i have to hand it to him he played very well, i lost track of the amount of times juan hit a ball and marin returned it some how and i thought “that ball should never have come back over the net” marin just somehow got to almost everything juanito hit! its hard to explain but he was everywhere,

    delpos serve didnt seem AS shaking as it had been in the blake match, but it hink the biggest problem in this match was his focus, i think he was focusing on the pains he had and like i said he really let the crowd get to him, he yelled he swore, he smashed rackets against things, he kicked garbage cans….he did all the wrong stuff, and in the end the better man of the match won…..which might be true but doesnt mean im not still pissed about it!.

  8. Maria1 said

    He was smashing the racket against things not to mention the rest? Not good….. 😦 I hope that doesn’t become a habit. Gomez where are you? Remind him of the way he was taught to play: no smashing of rackets.

  9. SA said

    I thought it was a good match. With that said, if Delpo was at his best I think he would have won. I usually hate it when people say this with Federer, but Cilic needed five sets to beat an obvious injuried and extremely annoyed Delpo. JM needs to rest up, get his ankle/foot injury and wrist injury healed and get ready for whatever his next tournament is.

    And good for Marin. He didn’t let every little thing get to him and just played good tennis the entire match. Delpo is right, Marin should be higher ranked then he is now. I honestly think the Roddick/Cilic match is a toss up and considering the last time he played Murray* and Rafa he beat them I like his chances at getting to the final. I really do.

    (*the last time match I remember between Marin and Andy was the US Open rd. 16. So…that could be wrong.)

  10. Budour said

    *Hugs*
    To be honest, though, I think you are being a bit harsh on him. I’m not a fan of JMDP, but I didn’t think he was shambolic. Sure, he made uncharacteristic erros and poor shot selection in big points but these things happen in such a mentally and physically draining match. Considering that he wasn’t at his best physically, I thought he made a monumental efforr. He went down like the champion he is.
    As for Marin…Well, I’m so impressed with the way he composed himself after the 4th set. I still believe he is capable of playing better (which, considering he’ll play my man next, scares the heck out of me) and am absolutely delighted for him. Just hope his breakthrough doesn’t happen in this tournament. 🙂

  11. irefusetotellyou said

    Argh = my summary of the match.

    Well, Marin played really well, so kudos to him. And it’s not like JMDP was terrible, but I really wish he just had focused a bit more (I know the spectator shiz was really frustrating, but he shouldn’t have let it get to him that much.)

    Oh well. I’m fairly A-OK with him losing to Cilic, especially as Cilic played so well. Also, after seeing Cilic’s’s’s’s on-court and off-court interviews, my heart went out to him. He was very humble, complimentary of Delpo, and well-spoken.

  12. Maria1 said

    Delpo’s Next tournament is I think February 15th, Marseille (France). At least a little time off will do him some good I hope.

  13. AmyLu said

    DelPo just didn’t quite seem to have it yesterday, but even with all the grumpiness, the aches and pains, and the misfiring of his FH and serve (at times), he pushed Cilic to five. I thought Cilic deserved to win — he was the better player, and I was actually slightly worried as the match moved to five about how he would handle a defeat. The only part of the match that still really rankles me as a DelPo fan was the end of the third set — I would definitely call his play after he broke to serve for the set shambolic.

  14. sophienz said

    I definitely thought Cilic was the better and deserved to win, but that doesn’t mean I’m happy about it. I actually thought if it went to five, which is it, Delpo would be in with more of a chance than Cilic, though I’m not quite sure why I thought that. As it was, he generally looked a bit tired and out of sorts, and Marin seemed to do just enough to take advantage of it. The tournament will be a little less fun now, but at least Delpo can take some time to recover back in Tandil 🙂

  15. […] AO Day Seven: Marin Kills His Albatross […]

Leave a Reply

 
