New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

AO Day Nine: Marinspam

Posted by gauloises1 on January 26, 2010

Because he’s adorable, he backed up his win over Delpo, and he’s made his first Grand Slam semi-final … and basically because it’s my blog and I can do what I want.

The limbs. The giant clown feet. Sigh.

I’ve been *this* close to him, you know. He climbed over a fence to avoid me. True story.

I love how unfazed the linesperson is by this turn of events. Like giant Croatians thundering inexorably down on her, narrowly avoiding her head with their groin, is such a regular event she can’t even raise an eyebrow any more.

In which case, I want her job.

As is customary, Marin briefly became Jesus when winning …

… and then lost control of all his limbs.

Bless.

He’s even serious about doing this.

Ajmo.

23 Responses to “AO Day Nine: Marinspam”

  1. neil in toronto said

    So Glad he won!! It was a great match, chock full of long ass rallies. I totally respect the fact that every time i figure Marin hasn’t the energy to go on or might fold, he totally comes through. Plus he’s a wicked smooth mover AND doesn’t make a sound out on the court. Quickly zooming up into my 3 top faves.

  2. harini said

    I. Love. Marin.

    I’m so happy he won. I was worried for Roddick there (I taped the match but saw a bit after the second set when Rod had his injury timeout) and thought that Marin would just breeze through. Kudos for Roddick for hanging in there.

    BUT AH MARIN!!!!

    I’m now hellbent on a Marin-Nole final for some reason. It could happen 🙂 Thanks for the picspam Gaul!

  3. mrdarnley said

    Love the one where he’s jumping over the line judge. That’s some leap frog trick. Neil in Toronto – long ass rallies is right! Cilic looks so smooth and controlled, elegant is a good word for him. And he’s got a great pokerface. Anyway I hope he goes the distance.
    Thanks for all the pix!

  4. Maria1 said

    Awww bless, and o_o to the linesperson ducking as a giant man leapfrogs over her. LMFAO! A part of me thinks she’s also very lucky she’s that close to his person. 😮 He and Delpo have ruined other men for me. Tall men with stick legs, long limbs and size 16 feet s’il vous plait.

  5. Bismarck said

    *[…]he shared his joy with the crowd by throwing his official Australian Open towels into the crowd. He threw handfuls of them away – and carefully handed one to a little girl who could not reach through the throng*

    aww. such a good boy that marin. how great is it that he´s in the oz semis? UTTERLY great. 😀

    *I love how unfazed the linesperson is by this turn of events. Like giant Croatians thundering inexorably down on her, narrowly avoiding her head with their groin, is such a regular event she can’t even raise an eyebrow any more. In which case, I want her job.*

    JAJAJA. i´ll admit that after this scene happened i immediately thought “what will gaul say about this?” you did not disappoint. 😛

    • irefusetotellyou said

      A delayed CONGRATULATIONS on your Maid Marin success, Bis.

      Perchance I am pulling for him to win the whole thing — ??

  6. irefusetotellyou said

    I was :lol:ing quite madly at this post.

    And when, per se, did he jump over fences to escape you? Last night?

  7. monique said

    If he is so good, how come he could not win in 3 sets and he was playing against an injured player. He does not have a great personality. He will be demolished by Murray.

    • Saoirse said

      Looks like someone has some bitterness to vent, don’t you Monique? 🙂

      Seriously though, I am totally with you on that one. Go Andy. Make him bleed. And to say that I am not a Murray fan would be the understatement of the century so that speaks volumes about my long-standing dislike of Marin, who has about as much personality as canned tuna.
      Admittedly, he is a great player but I’ll kill myself if he makes it to the final. Can you think of a least charismatic potential Slam winner? In tennis history?? I can’t.

      Everyone seems thrilled about him making the semis and, more disturbing still, quite a few ladies now have Marin as their imaginary lover so maybe there’s something wrong with us… But I sure am glad I am not alone.

      • monique said

        There is a lot to say about the women’s taste for players here on this site. Anyway to each his own. Of course, I am disappointed for Andy’s loss but being injured, he toughed it out but he was taking a chance of agravating his injury. Hope it is not serious. I know Cilic is a good player but an uninjured Andy would have beaten him. The 3rd and 4th set, Andy played great tennis but in the 5th, he let Cilic come back and being injured, I am sure he was worried a little. Tennis is a grueling sport. Even if Andy had won, the way Murray plays right now, I do not know if Andy not being 100% would have had a chance. I hate to say that. But Murray lost to Andy in Wimby so he had even more reason to want to beat Andy. Revenge is sweet. That’s Cilic will lose. He beat Murray not long ago. It will be a Fed/Murray final but I do not care because I only have one favorite.

    • naughty T....urbane gentleman said

      can we make monique spam.. she is fecking nightmare.

  8. lauren said

    Need to hear that fence climbing story. Pronto!

  9. Charlotte said

    Oh, Marin… always so cute. *hearts*
    I’m new to this blog, but i think it’s great (mainly cos I’m such a Delpo/Marin/Murray/Nole maniac). I watched this match & thought it was totally brills. Especially loved how he weirdly collapsed when he won. He looked so stoic, then just kind of fell head-first to the floor, thought he was gonna hurt himself or something (but it was still so cute). Anyways, hope he can totally bring it to Murray in the semis, but either of them in the final makes my life complete (but i have a strong feeling its gonna be Murray.

  10. Maria1 said

    So he’s not the life and soul of the party, not everyone can be. 🙂 I’m happy for him I quite like the guy, because he hasn’t done anything to piss me off (on court behaviour, interviews etc.) to the extent that the mean part of me thinks I hope you don’t get far, and even if he did I’ll just cheer for the other guy instead. and he works hard As for imaginary lover, ok I find him quite cute, I refuse to feel bad about that. 😀 :p Delpo’s still numero uno.

  11. jen said

    i don’t see why people complain about cilic, he seems like a guy who works hard and tries his best to do well. what’s the big deal?!

  12. lauren said

    Can we have a rule that whichever Andy is higher in the rankings is called Andy. Because I’m a) getting confused and b) resistant to the idea that the name is trademarked by a Texan. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
