New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

AO Day Eleven: In Their Own Words

Posted by gauloises1 on January 29, 2010

Q. Your first Grand Slam semifinal didn’t turn out like you would want, but what were your thoughts on the game generally?

MARIN CILIC: Well, I mean, in the end I’m, of course, a little bit sad because of the final result. But overall I played beginning of the match very good, and with that part I was really pleased.

I think I played some great points. I was standing on the court really good. I was playing some unbelievable points there. I think later when he got back into the game in the second set when he broke me, I think he got a little bit of the momentum going and wasn’t easy after to get back into it.

I would say my first‑serve percentage was low, and I had to play a lot of rallies, which I didn’t turn out playing as well as in the beginning where I was a little more fresher and a little closer to the ball. I was pushing him a little more and putting more pressure. Instead, he was doing that on me. It wasn’t easy to get out of those kind of situations.

But I think he played well and he deserved to win.

Q. You played three five‑set matches. Did that make you a little tired?

MARIN CILIC: Well, I mean, I wouldn’t put my tiredness an excuse for losing this match. I think he deserved to win. Any player who comes to the semis has its own way. And today I wouldn’t say that I was a hundred percent, but I gave my best, and that’s most important that I can say.

source

More please.

Q. You only lost one set so far. Could you be feeling better going into the final?

ANDY MURRAY: This is the best I’ve played at a slam, I think, you know. Obviously the match against Rafa was great. Tonight, the majority of the match was great, as well.

But, yeah, I feel good. Physically I’m going to be fresh for the final. You know, just comes down to who plays the better tennis on the day. It’s my job to do that.

Q. Is there any extra motivation for you to know that you could be the one to break a long Grand Slam drought for Britain?

ANDY MURRAY: Yeah, I mean, I’d obviously love to do it. It’s not really the only reason, you know, that I want to win a slam. I want to win it, you know, obviously for the people that I work with, for my parents and stuff, who obviously helped me when I was growing up, then doing it for British tennis and British sport would be excellent, as well.

But, you know, the pressure that I feel doesn’t come from the people that are around me. They obviously are happy with anything that I do. But, you know, I want to win for them first.

source

2 Responses to “AO Day Eleven: In Their Own Words”

  1. mrdarnley said

    Hey Congratulations on your man (well Andy anyway) getting through. He played really well and deserves to be in the final. I hate to think of the big gap that will appear between Andy and Elf in the rankings if he wins but regardless I hope he does. I’m sure Fed will be out for blood though. Looking forward to it, will be a great match!

  2. harini said

    Sad that Marin lost, but he made it to the semis. I think I’ve said that in a previous comment…but anyway.

    I think this is Murray’s chance to get the Slam title. Should be a great match and I’ll be rooting for him on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

 
