New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

The Withdrawal Method: JMDP Out

Posted by gauloises1 on February 12, 2010

And this just in, filed under reasons not to be cheerful: Juan Martin del Potro has withdrawn from Marseilles, Dubai and the March Davis Cup tie against Sweden due to tendonitis in his right wrist.

The reports describe him having injured himself in practice today, or presumably exacerbated the tendonitis, and according to Martinininiano, he’ll need four weeks of rest and then four weeks of practice before he’s ready to play. Maths isn’t my strong point, but I’m pretty sure that’s two months.

So, no Elf action for the foreseeable future. Not to mention that without Delpo, and with David’s participation in doubt, Argentina is basically screwed against Sweden.

Bugger.

39 Responses to “The Withdrawal Method: JMDP Out”

  1. rulin said

    Sad news. What about the Masters in March? They’re like a month away, if I know where I’m at on the calendar (just barely).

    • gauloises1 said

      Well, if we’re talking eight weeks, then he’ll miss them.

      Better to take a long break though and come back properly healthy … if he comes back properly healthy. There’s the rub.

      • rulin said

        Well, darn. I thought (wished) that perhaps he was foregoing all the “lesser” tournaments during this time but was going to find the effort for March hard court.

        • rulin said

          Forgot to add that he did have some solid showings there, and it would be a shame if he couldn’t back them up, ranking-wise. I think he shows up if he has even a little chance.

          Of course, healing the injury is most important.

  2. Aleksa said

    Sad. I think I am about to cry.
    Fucking fuck. Very ladylike of me.

  3. Maria1 said

    Crap and more crap….And balls. I hope he does after that long break Gauloises.

  4. irefusetotellyou said

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SON OF A MOTHER’S FATHER’S AUNT JEMIMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Another Juan said

    http://www.ole.clarin.com/notas/2010/02/11/tenis/02138303.html confirmed that he will be out for a month, he will be back in Indian Wells, i think…

  6. AmyLu said

    That absolutely sucks. 😦

    The 2010 tennis season has absolutely sucked so far for me, and it doesn’t look like that’s changing anytime soon. Can we just fast-forward to 2011?!?

    • Cubbie said

      I hear ya. Elf injured- Dinara out for who knows how long right when she was getting her brain together and the whisperings that Rafa’s carerra is over.

      I mean- I am looking for Nico Almagro to bring me some excitment in the next few weeks- Nico Almagro?! And Belluci. And the hope that Pico can finally win a title. Grasping at straws… 😦

      • Jenni said

        Well, there’s always Chucho.

        I know, I know. Straws.

        • AmyLu said

          Umm, hate to be the bearer of bad tidings, but according to the Argentinean press Chucho had to have surgery (I think on his knee? But I honestly can’t remember) and is going to be out through the clay swing.

          • Jenni said

            Fine, then. Schwank it is. It will be the Spring of Eduardo (I really hope that’s his first name – kind of proving my point, I guess).

            • AmyLu said

              I’m fairly certain his first name is Eduardo, and if it’s not, I hereby christen him Eduardo. 🙂

              • gauloises1 said

                I think we have to look to the next generation of Argies – Facundo Bagnis? Federico Del Bonis? Guido Pella, anyone?

                No, me neither.

            • irefusetotellyou said

              People, people, people!

              We’re obviously forgetting a very promising (er…) Argentine whose name rhymes with Lorsemace.

      • AmyLu said

        I was going to say that I do have Nole (my list of woe is the same as yours…although I can’t claim that Nico will bring me excitement. Belluci could, though), but I’m beginning to think that Nole has a permanent head injury.

        • Aleksa said

          My dear Amy, I also think Nole has a permanent head injury. Namely, his brain is broken.

          And I believe it all started with Hamburg 2008 semis and battle for No.2. After having won a Grand Slam title, his major accomplishment thus far, he somehow ended up in a fierce long excrutiating dogfight with Rafa. Rafa won and went on to have the best year of his professional career. Nole on the other hand lost all of his important battles spiking it up with the heartbreaking Beijing Olympics semis. And it all happened long before the epic battle of Madrid 2009 occurred.

          Yeah. Permanent injury. To his mind. And heart.
          He better recover.

          *hugs*

          • gauloises1 said

            I must confess that when I was thinking over the prospect of an Elfless eight weeks, my first thought was “Nole better bloody win EVERYTHING.”

            My second thought was, “Oh shit, I’m depending on Nole?”

          • AmyLu said

            *hugs back*

            I think it’s a combination of Hamburg and Queens, to be honest. JJ and I have watched the Queens final several times, and I think Rafa fully grasped the significance and magnitude of that match whereas I think Nole treated it pretty casually (and later grasped what it could have meant had he won — that coupled with Hamburg, I think is what really did a number on his psyche for the rest of 2008). 2008 was a strange year for me — I was so happy for Nole at the beginning of the season, but felt utter despair at points for Rafa (particularly after he got killed by Tsonga in AO and Kolya in Miami) — and then it reversed.

            • Master Ace said

              I remember that time frame where Novak was going for the number 2 spot for the first time in his career in Hamburg where he and Rafael battled it out where Rafael survived the first set then closed it out in the final set. After that match, Rafael went on to take number 1 from Roger winning the match of the 2000s and a gold medal along the way. Seems like when Novak see some water, he runs toward it until it disappears as it was a mirage(sp..)

  7. happy ions said

    haven’t been around for a long time. but i just want to remind you i love your blog. i no longer love delpo. i am not a rafa fan. i could careless about cilic. but you know your tennis. and i love your pure, blessed fandom. sorry if i may put some rainwater on your fandom from time to time. but just saying you are so good at this tennis blog thing. and don’t think i’m not sorry for you about delpo.i’m just not sorry for delpo (sheepish grin). he really lost me last year. i don’t think i have ever turned on a player like that before. but bless your joy and vigor. i need to read about tennis and this is the place!

  8. linz said

    *HUGS*

  9. SA said

    So let’s see-Delpo injured, Rafa injured, Jo injured, Gael sick (but playing), Dina injured, Serena injured…

    God damn. Why must you hate me tennis gods? Why?

    In serious, good that he’s taking the time off. Let him get healed up now and (hopefully) have the rest of the season to play well. Because of Rafa’s injury last summer I’ve stop caring about all the little tournies and rankings. Hopefully he’ll be back in time for IW or at least Miami*. And if not then on the clay. He has A LOT of RG points to defend and I rather him defend those then hurt himself at Dubai coming back too soon.

    (*I hope he trains at U of Miami again this year. Or am I dreaming up that picture of him posing w/ someone in a Miami shirt?)

  10. Rafadoc said

    Hugs Gauloises. That sucks big time. Glad he is taking the cautious route though. He will be well rested for clay season. *sad face* for you though.

  11. Imtotallyrad said

    fuck that rgiht off thats gay! >=( tendonitis is a bitch. its like a slow death for any tennis player who gets it!!
    im having giant argentinian withdrawl now…add onto that another 2 months, i may possibly die! i think a very small but none the less very real part of me may actually die! I love the davis cup like nothing else and now del potro less argie seems a little bit screwed!! *sad face*x100000000
    im going to find a dark place somewhere and have a little cry…..

  12. Aleksa said

    I am still sad. And I miss BumbleBee.
    Major bugger.

  13. Master Ace said

    If the reports have Juan Martin out 8 weeks, he won’t return until Monte Carlo.

  14. mrdarnley said

    bad news I agree. How’s my fantasy life supposed to be maintained? Maybe he could do a magazine spread to tide us over.

  15. Daniel said

    And to think there were people questioning his injury during the Aus open.

  16. Maria1 said

    There still are some questioning it even after this. 🙄

Leave a Reply

 
