New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Oh, Mandy …

Posted by gauloises1 on February 25, 2010

You came and you left without winning.

And no, I will not feel sorry for you.

So … Andy Murray lost today to Janko Tipsarevic, 76(3) 46 64. Good times. It was during work hours and while we did have it on the TVs, I couldn’t pay it that much attention. Looked like lots of fun points in the third set though.

Anyway, it’s not that much of a surprise given his utterly shambolic form against Kunitsyn and Tipsy’s love of the big stage / the upset victory. What interests me is how Andy discussed the loss afterwards:

“It was obviously disappointing to lose, but I tried some things out and I think it was a good learning experience for me,” Murray said. “I would like to have won, but it’s not the end of the world. If it was a Slam or something my tactics and my game style would have been a bit different.”

He added: “When I’m getting ready for the Slams and the big events, you need to try some things. If you ask someone like Roger Federer how he gets ready, it’s not necessarily about winning the week before or playing your best the week before. It’s playing your best at the right times of the year.”

source

Apparently the things he tried involved serving and volleying a lot more, slicing his backhand less frequently and going for … wait for it … winners. And that’s all well and good (or alternatively things I virtually pray for on a daily basis). But it’s not like he doesn’t know how to play that sort of game and play it in big matches, too; we’ve all seen it. The problem is that, in the biggest matches, he doesn’t play like that. And I’m not convincd that dicking around until you lose in the second round to the world no. 39 is the way to go about fixing that particular problem.

Can be a dick.

But whatever. More rest before Indian Wells or … whatever. I’m done.

And it’s not like Tipsy’s some hack, either. In fact it was nice, in an agonising sort of way, to be reminded how well Tipsy can play when he has the opportunity and inclination. No question he played a great match and seriously earned the win. And I love a player who hardcore emotes.

On you go.

9 Responses to “Oh, Mandy …”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    Eh. Maybe because I didn’t see the match, but I’m rather apathetic about his loss. Ehhhh.

  2. meretricula said

    wait. wait wait wait. is Tipsy making a HEART in that last picture? I think I’m in love.

  3. lauren said

    Glad I didn’t see the match as it sounds like a long, slow horror story. But I’d rather he did continue to work on parts of his game – even if he does lose in the Cash Cow tourney to the Cod-philosophy Kid. It’s better than doing a Roddick and fossilising your game. I totally agree about needing to play the ‘right’ way in big matches, but I guess he’s realised that the only way to make that a natural fall-back position is to play more like that regularly.

    Personally I’d be grateful for Andy to win a Slam. Right now, despite two finals, his game comes under constant criticism and scrutiny. Meanwhile Nole’s game – and results – are absolved all sins because of that one trophy.

    • gauloises1 said

      Mmm. I actually do agree about needing to play like that regularly, as it happens. I just think there’s a level to which if it isn’t broken, you shouldn’t be trying to fix it.

      And I may have been a bit harsh on Andy in general. But it all comes from love. If I didn’t care, I wouldn’t criticise …

  4. neil in toronto said

    Aaah Tipsy, the world would be his if he could always and only play the spoiler. He has such trouble against the guys he’s supposed to beat.

  5. mindthelurker said

    Oh Andy. he’s right that Fed does use the smaller tourneys to test out new tactics and styles. but then Fed also usually makes sure he WINS.

    When you’re down a set or a break, it’s best to fall back on how you play best dude.

  6. […] he’d lost his passion for tennis. Being forced to hang out with Ian Bell for no reason. And the losses, oh, the losses. I’d say ‘Mardy Fish‘, but I don’t want […]

  7. […] post-AO final slump. To be honest, given the beating he took after showing up last year and losing to Tipsy, I don’t blame him for […]

Leave a Reply

 
