New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Delpo With a Splint Makes Me a Sad Panda

Posted by gauloises1 on February 27, 2010

La Nacion has an interview with Delpo in Buenos Aires. Headlines: he’s taken a complete break from training, is healing and hopes to return for Miami. And there are photos that make me sad.

This is what I picked up from the google translate version:

  • The problem is an edema (?) of the ulna (??). So … not tendonitis, then. Unless it’s the same thing. Is there a doctor in the house?
  • On medical advice, he’s taken four weeks off with the splint. Next week will be week number four. Doesn’t leave a lot of time to get into playing shape for Miami, which is his likely return.
  • In case you were wondering, there’s basically nothing that can be done to get rid of this problem. It’s just chronic and has to be managed.
  • He’s cautiously optimistic about the Davis Cup tie with Sweden, noting that Pico (who loves him like a brother, lest we forget) is playing really well at the moment.
  • Gives a fairly flat denial to the whole World Cup replacing Davis Cup idea.
  • He’s in favour (unlike Boss) of Buenos Aires becoming a hard court tournament.
  • He says that he and his team made some variations to his game to try to take the strain off the wrist before the Australian Open. That worked out well, eh?

I am concerned that he’ll rush his recovery and come back too soon. But mainly, I’m just miserable.

Artist’s impression of my emotional state.

Anyway … he’s still adorable. Thanks to my fellow suffering Argy fan Julia at VamosDavid for the link.

34 Responses to “Delpo With a Splint Makes Me a Sad Panda”

  1. Aleksa said

    Group hug.
    I need a drink.

  2. Saoirse said

    I was hoping for a post on this sad piece of news which, let not kid ourselves, is nothing short of tragic. I am devastated and since misery loves company, I need some comforting before I seriously consider drinking my grand mother’s old bottle of No5 – What? There’s nothing with an alcohol content left in the house and desperate times call for desperate measures.

  3. linz said

    Aaaw, you guys need to be cheered up. Here you go:

    • gauloises1 said

      That’s worse. Thanks for trying, though 🙂

      • linz said

        That’s WORSE? You’re impossible. I’ve watch Roddick’s USO win every time I’ve been depressed about him since 2003 (which is AN INSANELY ENORMOUS amount of times).

        • gauloises1 said

          Sorry. It just makes me think dark thoughts about what if it never happens again and so forth.

          But to be fair, you’ve got it worse than me. No offence to Andy 🙂

          • linz said

            LOL. No offense taken. After Wimby I was at first perturbed by the universal pity given to Andy and all his fans, but I’ve recently begun to embrace it.

            Don’t worry, DelPo will get back there. I pinky swear.

  4. gauloises1 said

    I leave you with this thought: everything is fine.

  5. AmyLu said

    I’m a very sad panda too. The highlight of my tennis year has been a Shakira video — and it doesn’t look like that’s changing any time soon. 😦

    I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that he doesn’t come back to soon. Am I correct that he wasn’t planning on playing Monte Carlo? Maybe he should consider playing that tournament and skipping Miami, if he doesn’t feel ready to go yet?

  6. robert said

    Edema of the ulna simply means that there is a swelling near the bone (ulna = inner and longer bone of the forearm).

    This is a typical complication of a neglected tendonitis: you continue playing with your tendon inflammed from overuse and the tissue surrounding the bone swells with liquid. The same complication that finally compelled Nadal to take a prolonged break after RG.

  7. Imtotallyrad said

    *joins sad panda club*

    aaawww pobre pequeño Juan =( he’s like my age and has a reacurring sidelining problem! >=( its not fair!! damn it its not fair! but ohh i forgot how pretty he was…splint or no splint(obviously “no splint” is preffered) it pains me to say but i dont want him to rush into playing again just because he thinks he can we all remember a certain R. Nadal…who tried thatt and it didnt exactly work out for the best

    im not enterly sure what exact changes they “made” to he’s lead up to the AO and im not an expert by any means….but its doesnt appear they did a very good job ¿no? oh im so sad…*reaches for industial sized bag of easter eggs* im going to eat myself into a chocolate coma now….excuse me ='(

  8. Rafadoc said

    Hugs to you Gauloises. What the hell is wrong with him? I don’t get it. I hope beyond hope that whatever it is, he fixes it now. Don’t rush it Crazy Elf!

  9. jb (go smiley fed) said

    oh just crap. there will be no elf photo opps for NB. i was hoping to be your blog photog… 🙂 useless at the open, as elfie will be too far away.

    hopefully the month off will be good enough. and maybe he can play only the required clay tourneys?

    sorry chica.

  10. irefusetotellyou said

    Harrumph.

  11. sophienz said

    I almost think that I’d rather see no photos of Delpo than photos of him in a splint. Almost.
    😥

  12. SA said

    Dear ITF/ATP/WTA/WHOEVER THE FUCK IS IN CHARGE,

    I’m tired of all my favorite players being injured. I’m tired of them overplaying because they have mandatory and/or required number of tournaments they have to play in. I’m tired of them not having a proper off season therefore not being able to get their bodies and minds healed up from all the tennis. And most importantly, I’m tired of you not doing a damn thing about it. Fix it now. A 21 year old shouldn’t be out for a prolonged period of time with an injury. A 23 year old shouldn’t have a somewhat vast amount of recurring injuries. Please finally realize something seriously is wrong and needs to be fixed.

    Sincerely,

    SA (and I’m pretty sure the majority of tennis fans worldwide)

    (Sorry Gaul, but this is what popped into my mind after reading this post. I feel bad for Delpo and pissed off at the dumbasses in charge.)

  13. Maria1 said

    Hear, hear SA the number of players picking up injuries is worrying to say the least! Edema of the ulna makes me wince. 😦 crap, crap and more crap. Which leads to bleak thoughts. Everytime I think of him high-fiving the crowd in that match I smile, giggle then I think of now and think bad things like Juan after that third set….

  14. mrdarnley said

    ditto to all and an emphatic ditto SA! I met a dead ringer for Del Potro at the pub after the England -Ireland rugby match, not as tall though, about 6’2. Try acting normal in that situation.

  15. Maria1 said

    You met a Delpo lookalike?? Wow, I’ve yet to see a tallish green eyed brunette anywhere in Scotland. I can but dream and sigh…Lucky you!

  16. Sara Christen said

    Oh no… I was hoping to see him at Indian Wells 😦

    This is a great site. Kind of random, but it is, so I thought I would tell you.

    Love from California

  17. Jackobeanz said

    Edema of the Ulna???…isnt that one of his arm bones swelling???….Dina has Edema of the lower back doesnt she???….*sigh*….Edema is quickly becoming not my friend…..

  18. Roger Love said

    Delpo go!

  19. jewell - Make tea, not war. said

    Aw, I’m sorry, dear. *hugs Gauloises & Amy & everyone*

    Edema – can’t that be a swelling caused by tendinitis? It’s what Rafa had in his knees around Wimbledon time last year, no? I’m not a doctor but that’s what I vaguely remember.

  20. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished
    to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    again very soon!

  21. Great info. Lucky me I discovered your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

 
