New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Dubai: Comeback Kid

Posted by gauloises1 on February 27, 2010

Novak Djokovic had his third consecutive three set come-from-behind win in Dubai today, which according to my hazy maths works out as about ninety thousand cubits of awesome. He beat Marcos Baghdatis 67(2) 63 64. Nole made faces, Baggy lost a shoe, there was extreme net love, it was that kind of fantastic match. That I had to work through.

Luckily other people did watch the match. Step forward, Flatman:

“It was an incredible struggle again,” admitted Djokovic, who will now be looking for revenge over Youzhny after losing to the Russian in the Rotterdam semi-final a fortnight ago. “For the third time in a row I’m fortunate to get through.

“There is no excuse. I’m definitely tired. It’s been a long week, but a final is a final and I have faced this kind of feeling and situation before in my life. It’s ups and downs, and it shouldn’t be happening at this level. Now I’m just focused on the fact I’ve never defended a title before. I want to do it now.” […]

The Cypriot, so entertaining when he reached the Australian Open as a rank outsider four years ago, has been plagued by injuries since. He is determined to recapture a place in the sport’s elite yet clearly has a problem with his concentration.

Repeatedly he engaged Djokovic in long rallys and seemed to have the point won only to slam a basic unforced error either into the net or wide of the court. “I just don’t know what is going on in my head,” said Baghdatis, who was sufficiently focused to win the title in Sydney a week before this year’s Australian Open.

“What can I say? I lost a match that I had in my hands. I’m really frustrated. I put him back in the game when I had him on the ground, and I should have kept him there.”

source

Bendy.

The other semifinal saw Mikhail Youzhny – who really is playing scaringly well this year – beat Jurgen Melzer in straight sets. Now he is all that stands between Nole and defending a title for the first time, which would be great, apart from that whole Rotterdam semifinal thing that happened a few weeks ago, which I am choosing to erase from my memory.

All we have to fear is fear itself. And Mikhail Youzhny.

Singles – Semi-finals
[2] N Djokovic (SRB) d M Baghdatis (CYP) 67(2) 63 64
[7] M Youzhny (RUS) d J Melzer (AUT) 75 76(4)

Doubles – Semi-finals
[2] L Dlouhy (CZE) / L Paes (IND) d C Kas (GER) / D Norman (BEL) 26 76(6) 10-7
S Aspelin (SWE) / P Hanley (AUS) d F Lopez (ESP) / T Robredo (ESP) 62 36 14-12

2 Responses to “Dubai: Comeback Kid”

  1. Aleksa said

    This post. So much awesome.
    Bendy Nole pic. To die.

    I am lost for words due to hours spent watching the match. Hyperventilating. And hoping.
    I have nothing to fear tomorrow. But fear.

    All kinds of Awesome, Gaul.

  2. AmyLu said

    I am SO happy Nole won. I watched a good portion of the first set, and Nole seemed to be laboring his way toward a loss. I’m really, really nervous about Youzhny tomorrow, but Nole’s shown quite a bit of determination this week so I’m hoping that continues tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
