New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

“My Personal 9/11”: Navratilova Diagnosed with Breast Cancer

Posted by gauloises1 on April 7, 2010

Tennis legend and all-around bad-ass Martina Navratilova has announced she has been diagnosed with breast cancer. It’s a non-invasive form of cancer, and she’s had a lumpectomy and will undergo radiation therapy. The prognosis is reportedly excellent.

The nine-time Wimbledon singles champion said she cried when a biopsy came back positive on 24 February after a routine mammogram.

“It knocked me on my ass, really,” Navratilova, 53, told People magazine. “I feel so in control of my life and my body, and then this comes and it’s completely out of my hands.”

[…] Navratilova, who is a health and fitness ambassador for AARP, a US campaign group for the over-50s, described herself as very lucky to have had the cancer picked up so early.

However, she admitted she had “let it slide” by going four years between mammograms, and said: “Another year and I could have been in big trouble.”

In a statement, issued through AARP, she cited her toughest tennis opponents – Chris Evert, Steffi Graf, Monica Seles and, in doubles, the Williams sisters – but said battling cancer had been tougher. She said: “The day I was told I had breast cancer was my own personal 9/11. I was completely shocked and the news knocked the wind out of me.

“This is a huge wake-up call for me and just goes to show no matter how much you watch what you eat or exercise you just never know.

“Here I am, the health and fitness ambassador for AARP, speaking to millions each month about staying healthy and I let my annual check-ups fall to the bottom of my to-do list. It’s not all about eating right and exercising. Preventative steps can make just as much, or in some cases more, of a difference. Getting my mammogram literally saved my life.”

source

You know what? I have absolute faith she’s going to be fine. Because she’s Martina fucking Navratilova. And I actually think there’s nothing she can’t do. So yeah. No offence, cancer, but you’re going down.

4 Responses to ““My Personal 9/11”: Navratilova Diagnosed with Breast Cancer”

  1. mrdarnley said

    oh that’s horrible. touche to get well soon and get stuffed cancer.

  2. harini said

    Awful news. She’ll kick its butt, for sure.

    Hopefully.

  3. AmyLu said

    I was so sad to read this — wishing her the absolute best as she fights it!

  4. Annie said

    OK girls, schedule your mammograms today. Where I live in New York you can go in to an imaging place without a RX and they will perform the test.

Leave a Reply

 
