New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Serbian Semi-finals in Rome

Posted by gauloises1 on May 7, 2010

Yes, it’s still happening. Ana Ivanovic won a fourth consecutive match against a high-quality opponent, defeating Nadia Petrova 62 75. I didn’t see the match, but the result speaks for itself. And if it didn’t, C Note would.

Yep, we’re back to this.

Ana has a winnable match against tricky but unpredictable Maria Jose Martinez-Sanchez next, and could be in the final of her first WTA event since Indian Wells in 2009. It’s happening.

But I want to talk about the match I did see, which was JJ defeating Venus, 60 61. That’s Venus’ worst defeat in her career, and – as the result suggests – a huge, huge performance from JJ.

I’m familiar with the ‘Venus is not what she was’ arguments, and the second set was certainly fairly woeful from her. But she played well in the first set, and it simply didn’ t make a difference. This JJ, and the one that beat Wickmayer, didn’t wear her opponent down or outlast her or rely on unforced errors. She overwhelmed Venus, and rendered what she was doing more or less irrelevant. I’m not saying she’s going to be able to sustain this form; I’m just saying it was a reminder of what she can do, and a revelation too. If she can bring this kind of game to Roland Garros …

Tough times tomorrow, though, as she’s playing Serena Williams, who overwhelmed Maria Kirilenko today and isn’t going to want to lose to JJ.

Excellent tournament for Maria Kirilenko though, who beat Svetlana Kuznetsova and Dominika Cibulkova on her way to this quarterfinal. Solid work.

Still, no disrespect intended to anyone else left in the draw, but I really want JJ to win tomorrow. Not to get to the final; just to see more of the way she’s been playing. It’s been, simply, the sex.

10 Responses to “Serbian Semi-finals in Rome”

  1. linz said

    That Venus/JJ match- man oh man. I mean, I always want Venus to win (except for against Dinara) but I really didn’t expect her to win. But to get the worst beatdown of her CAREER? I mean this isn’t Caro we’re talking about- Venus has been around since 1994. SIXTEEN YEARS. That’s…insane. Completely and utterly INSANE.

    Not a huge fan of JJ or Ana, but when they were slumping (to different degrees, but I think they could both be called a slump) the WTA was definitely a weaker place. The more girls at the top of their game the better for everyone. So I say bring it!

    And hopefully Venus will figure out how to fight a bit harder- because I know JJ was playing crazy good but it takes two for a rout like that to happen, and Venus hasn’t been to the semis of a major outside of Wimbledon since like 2001 (I looked it up during Oz, but I’m too lazy to verify right now) and I really feel like her time is running out to make another deep run and I REALLY was hoping she’d fine some form in this clusterfuck of a WTA season.

    But seriously- I’d love an all Serb final. The more storylines the better I say.

    • AmyLu said

      I haven’t looked up the stats either, but I think maybe the AO 2003 is the last time Venus made a semi other than Wimbledon? That’s the AO that clinched Serena’s Serena Slam, right? I think I have my years right (and now I feel really old because I remember watching that match with friends in college).

      I would love for Venus to find form this year. She’s grown on me so much over the years (I was a huge Serena fan from about 2000 to 2005 — and always rooted for Serena over Venus. Now it’s the opposite when the two play).

      I also would love an all Serbian final — it’d be great if both players can find their form. Not really a fan of either, but I do like their presence when they are playing well.

      • linz said

        You’re totally right of course AmyLu, for some reason I was thinking the crazy Serena Slam year was 2000, not sure why! She made the AO finals in 2003 and hasn’t been to a non grass slam semi since then.

        She had really found her form earlier this year, which is why today shocked me even more. Maybe she’ll surprise us at the French?

        You said it so well- I love the presence of JJ/Ana when they are playing well- I hope they both stay in the mix!

        • linz said

          BTW, as many complaints as I have about the ATP website, the WTA site is a thousand million times worse. It took me FOREVER to find the chart of her grand slam finishes- that should be one of the easiest things to find! *grumble grumble grumble*

          • AmyLu said

            Oh completely agree on the WTA. I rarely visit the site because I normally can’t find what I’m looking for there and end up getting frustrated/irritated with the whole exercise.

            And, I’m hoping Venus finds her form again — she really did have a nice run for a bit. Hopefully she’ll get that back again! Since Kim looks doubtful for the French, Flavia has played pretty sucktacularly this year, and my only hope for Safina is that she doesn’t a) further injure her back and b) not look like she needs to be put on suicide watch at the end of tournaments, I would really appreciate it if Venus came through with a good run at RG!

          • Cubbie said

            I sometimes just give in and look at Wikepedia for grand slam finishes for tennis players. Who knows if it is correct- but at least it is easy to find.

            • linz said

              Yeah, I LOVE the Wikipedia pages for that stuff- although unfortunately they didn’t have it for Venus, which is completely random.

  2. naughty T....urbane gentleman said

    She’s like a green tornado!!! whoosh.

  3. coookies said

    JJ still has a Justine problem, I do hope if she finally beats her it’ll be at RG or maybe Wimbledon to spoil Justine’s “reason” for a comeback and not because Henin is injured. A Serb final would be awesome, but I’m still waiting for an Ana/Serena match which I have never seen since I got into tennis 2 years ago. And JJ and Serena have never played on clay, so that should be interesting.

  4. Jenni said

    Ugggh. JJ and Serena are probably going to slug it out almost to the death, Ivanovic will fist-pump her way to the title over the exhausted finalist, and I’ll die a little inside.

Leave a Reply

 
