New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

RG Day One: Oh, Bum

Posted by gauloises1 on May 23, 2010

Three players from whom much was expected bit the dust today at Roland Garros on the very first day. Ernests Gulbis, two sets and a break down to Julien Benneteau, was forced to retire in the third after pulling a hamstring (or what looked very much like an arse muscle, whatever you call that) sliding for a wide ball.

In Ernie’s own words:

 “When I returned a serve, 2 1, second set, I stretched my leg, my hamstrings, and I heard two cracks. I don’t know what is it, so I’m going to go to MRI to hospital in 20 minutes and check it. I hope it’s nothing serious, because it can be anything, but it’s for sure like a little bit stretch of the muscle, but I hope it’s not here. So we’ll see. Of course I’m disappointed. I prepared really good for this tournament, but it’s okay. It’s a Grand Slam, it’s a big tournament. But I have maybe nine more, eight more years of my career, I will have 20 Grand Slams in front of me, and if I concentrate on one, which wasn’t that good, I will get nothing, but it’s okay.”

It’s really bad luck that he got injured and I hope he gets better soon. But I don’t think the result would have been that much different had he not been hurt, because Julien ‘Lamb’ Benneteau was having one of his occasional days when he plays like a top 10 player. He’s beaten Roger and played Nole close before, and from what I saw, Ernie would have had to have been serving at least 15-20% better to really impose himself on the match. Just my opinion and a well-deserved win for Benneteau.

It was a sad day too for Rome champion Maria-Jose Martinez Sanchez, from whom much was expected especially given her position in the weaker bottom half of the draw. She strained her back during the warm-up and went down tamely to Akgul Amandurova, 62 64.

And in what was technically but not actually the biggest upset of the tournament so far (all one day of it), Victoria Azarenka lost 61 62 to Gisela Dulko. I thought this would be the outcome as soon as I saw the draw, frankly; not only is Vika no clay-courter, she’s retired three times since Miami – the last time in Madrid – and has barely had time to get her feet under her. It’s a good win for Dulko, but she didn’t really have to do that much.

Now for god’s sake rest up for Wimbledon, Vika.

One Response to “RG Day One: Oh, Bum”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    I still can’t believe I missed the Ernie butt debacle (buttgate 10).

    That’s all.

Leave a Reply

 
