New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

The News From Your Bed

Posted by gauloises1 on May 25, 2010

So I’m in a good mood (by which I mean I’m nicely drunk), and not that much interesting stuff happened at Roland Garros today, so I’m going to talk about Delpo for a minute. Any objections? Excellent.

Our man lives! And he’s wounded, yet hot. I am conflicted.

So it seems that after all the whining in the Argentinean press (and, to be fair, all the complaining by me), Delpo has got himself a twitter. The Argentinean press are certainly treating it as valid, and I’m assuming that it’s him because he’s posting, well, candid photos of himself. If it isn’t him and is instead some unknown person that has enough access to take and post that photo while pretending to be him … well, then, good on you, mysterious stranger. Keep it up. Try to get him in the bath. Anyway, he more or less christened his twitter by announcing he’s no longer in a cast. Hooray!

Meanwhile, he’s dropped to no. 6 in the rankings. Sad sad news, I hear you say. But wait … apparently, ‘sixth’ in Argentina is ‘sexto’, at least according to my fuzzy squinting at articles like this. Yep, Delpo is sexto, and if that doesn’t give you at least a tiny, tiny flicker of amusement, then you’re a far more mature person than I am.

Also, this seems like a good a time as any to post this recent-ish photo of Delpo being given a Santamarina shirt, for some reason. 

And if that doesn’t cheer you up, how about these oldies but fried goldies, courtesy of MTF …

And that concludes our random Elfday.

20 Responses to “The News From Your Bed”

  1. Jenni said

    Somebody needs a new twitter background. Sandals with socks? Really, Juan Martin?

    • gauloises1 said

      Oh, I think the giant dogs are adorable.

      Plus we already know that he’s got awful taste in footwear (https://newballs.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/i-witness-rulin-in-montreal/) so it just adds another level of authenticity, I say.

    • Saoirse said

      Oh I *LOVE* the argyle (no less) socks and sandals… And the skinny scarf… AND ARE THOSE SWEATPANTS THAT I SEE?? *getting hot flashes*
      I am getting an overdose of pure adorableness – and I can’t possibly be the only one. This is so sweet I may just have to brush my teeth!!
      I think I can live with Elf not currently playing as long as he pops up every now and then with candid pictures of his gorgeous self lying in bed (in various states of undress) splashing around in a swimming pool (preferably naked) or playing with the family’s oversized dogs (fully clothed, please). See, I for one am clearly a mature person.
      Thanks for this G, you’ve made my summer!

  2. Michele said

    The handstand picture reminds me of yoga. His form looks rather poor, but with some help, he could improve. Does Elf do yoga? I am trying to think of an elf asana.

  3. AmyLu said

    I’m so happy he appears to have Twitter — and very smart on his part to be able to interact and remind fans he’s still there. 🙂

  4. irefusetotellyou said

    JUAN, I LOVE WEARING SOCKS TOO! I WEAR THEM ALL THE TIME! CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT THEM!

    Let’s open a sock factory together.

    Also, I bet it’s just Martiniano writing his twitter or some other underling like that. 😉

    • gauloises1 said

      Yes, yes, we all know you’re obsessed with socks, IRTTY.

      If it’s Martinininininiano, then well done him. Keep it up, man.

  5. SA said

    Why is he wearing a cape? And a short cape at that?

  6. rulin said

    *sigh* So who the hell is twitter.com/delpo? Stupid twitter.

    Anyway, I am glad this post came up, because I was feeling kind of down about the whole no JMDP for this major or *any* major this year situation. What started my “mood” was (warning: very lame story ahead) a Walmart commercial where someone says ‘Walmart Team’ but I swear it sounds like ‘Juan Martin’ (it fools me every time)… My head immediately snaps up, excited that for some random reason JMDP is appearing in a Canadian/American commercial, only to be bitterly disappointed.

  7. mrdarnley said

    that delpo twitter account is a bit off – wierd to impersonate someone on twitter. Anyway, back to the real juan del potro … the background, the photo, the smoking profile pic … it’s all so lovely. oh la la. Now, if only he was playing.

  8. sophienz said

    I’ve never hearted a back more than I do in that handstand picture. Thank you! Also, how are you all seeing the socks and sandals in his background? His tweets are covering that part up. All I can see is his face and hair. His shaggy, lovely hair.
    Is there a way to see the whole background picture?

    • mrdarnley said

      click on the background and with one or other buttons on your mouse you’ll get a drop down menu and you can save it . then you can see it – lawn furniture, dogs, socks, sandals, shadow of woman (sister?) – in all its glory.

  9. Maria1 said

    Holy shit! After a long hard day these pics are gold. He likes dogs. And they are big just like him. *is in heaven* Yes, Juan is sexto. *snorts*

  10. Maria1 said

    Oh and Delpo in the bath made me snort, does he have a rubber ducky?

  11. harini said

    He’s got the cutest look in the Twitter background picture. “I don’t want my picture taken but OK, I’ll humour you.” Hehe.

  12. Alice said

    *sobs* i missed the background with dogs and sandals =(

Leave a Reply

 
