New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

RG Day 10: And Yeah, This Guy

Posted by gauloises1 on June 2, 2010

And now a word from (hopefully) the slightly saner part of my brain concerning Roger Federer. And the word is: ouch.

That ballkid’s face. Says it all.

Just so we’re keeping score, that pretty much ends Roger’s hopes of equalling Pete Sampras’ record for consecutive weeks at no. 1. It definitively (spoiler alert!) ends his hopes of defending his title here. Oh, and that little matter of twenty-three consecutive Grand Slam semi-finals; that number’s going to stay static now. When will someone ever – ever – have a record like that again? When my long-held plan of stealing Delpo’s sperm and conceiving a child that will be raised to be a ruthless tennistical assassin with no human emotions to get in the way finally comes to fruition, that’s when. But probably not before. And I really have to wait for the LTA to sort itself out first. Or move to Spain.

Anyway. I’m being flippant because it’s a tough, tough loss for Roger and his fans. But he’s still the GOAT, he’s set benchmarks in the sport that may never be equalled, and he’s got plenty of time to rest up for Wimbledon now. Ponder that. Also, he seems to have taken it pretty well.

Q. Two hours after the match, tell me something about the emotions. You must be very disappointed.
ROGER FEDERER: Well, disappointed to a certain degree. You know, I don’t think I played a bad match, so it’s easier to go out this way, I think.
Conditions obviously were on the rougher side for both of us, and I thought he came up with some great tennis.
You know, it’s a touch easier to digest this way. […]

Q. You have, of course, the great semifinal streak that is now broken. What does that mean to you? Obviously all good things come to an end at some point.
ROGER FEDERER: Yeah, I mean, like you say, they all come to an end at some stage. You hope they don’t happen, but they do.
No, I mean, it was a great run. Now I’ve got the quarterfinal streak going, I guess. (laughter.)
No, I mean, it’s been an amazing run. I think it sort of started here when I lost to Kuerten back in ’04, I guess it is. If then I could have signed for all those semis in a row, I would have done it right away.
I’ve made, how you say, incredible progress in terms of my play at the highest of level to be able to always come back and play semis after semis after semis in Slams and give myself chances to win in Slams. I was able to win many of them.
I was proud to have that streak, and it’s probably one of the greatest ones I have in my, you know, history books, really, for me. […]

Q. Once you got in the rallies, do you think the lower bounce because of the heavier conditions favored him over you?
ROGER FEDERER: Look, I don’t mind slow clay. When it gets rainy, it’s tough, you know. Not only for me, but for the opponent too, usually. It’s not a lot of fun for the fans either, and for us, the players, it’s hard, you know, because you never know when it’s gonna be interrupted.
You know, your mind starts wandering. It was tough conditions. I guess today they favored him, but I really felt like he played great. He was able to hit consistently through the ball, and on the offensive I put them close to the lines. That’s something, you know, that was impressive.

Q. As you look inside yourself, what is worse for you: having been beaten in quarterfinals and have no chance to win another Grand Slam title, or let the chance open to lose the No. 1?
ROGER FEDERER: I mean, you just take the defeat as it is. You don’t think of the consequences. I guess most disappointed I am that I can’t defend my title here. I really felt like my tennis was good enough to come here and do it again, but that was not the case today.
So it’s more the disappointment in having maybe not delivered my very best performance today, conditions and opponents didn’t allow me to.
And, yeah, then you move on. You know, you move on to the grass and forget a little bit.

And on we go.

(He also, incidentally, gets many brownie points for shouting out Delpo in his presser. And for turning up at an ITF function to present an award to Guga Kuerten, the last man to beat him before the semi-finals in a Slam. Well played.)

6 Responses to “RG Day 10: And Yeah, This Guy”

  1. naughty T...urbane gentleman said

    24 slam quarter finals ain’t too shoddy a record either… just sayin… and out of those quarters went on to win 16. If his fans are sad then it should be a little tempered by those stats. seriously Sød was the guy who handled the day better and played the big points BIGGER. Well done I say.

  2. irefusetotellyou said

    More importantly, is his shirt in the presser photo VELOUR!?

    Now THAT is something to be depressed about. 😯

    • Saoirse said

      Hum, looks more like sateen to my untrained eye… Debate!

      Seriously though, kudos to Fed on the awesomeness of his ongoing lifetime achievements and for what I would call an uncharacteristically classy presser, where he finally took defeat like a man, made no lousy excuses for losing and was actually genuinely graceful to his opponent. Well done Sir. What’s more you’ll probably be holding something gold and shiny (and no, I am not talking about a new Rolex) in about six weeks’ time so no worries.

    • gauloises1 said

      That’s why they call him the velour fog.

  3. Charlotte said

    I’ve never been a Fed fan, but OHMIGOSH that Delpo shoutout was precious. Major props to him for that, indeed. I miss Elf and I think Fed does too.

    I SHALL NEVER FORGET!!!

  4. tali said

    Its a new Nike top, they have them in Niketown in tennis section by Rogers gear! It does look like velour on pic but its just like normal polo shirt. Love Roger, after years of wearing blazers, vests and belted shorts with golden threads he can pretty much carry off velour and noone will even blink…

Leave a Reply

 
