New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

RG Day 11: This Is Why I Shouldn’t Say Things

Posted by gauloises1 on June 3, 2010

Oh, those whacky tennis gods. I knew my long rant yesterday about the existential satisfaction of seeing an underachiever come good was a bit ‘be careful what you wish for’.

Pretty sure I did not wish for this.

Novak. What’s happened to you? Where have you gone? And I don’t mean losing from 63 62 20 up, although that was a treat. Where has the confidence gone? The authority? How did your game become so ineffectual? And why can’t you ever seem to be in control of a match any more?

At least his time might be better served rummaging down the back of the sofa for his serve rather than enduring a beatdown at Rafa’s hands, which is probably the fate that would have awaited him and the last thing he needs.

Meanwhile, the laws of the universe require me to be pleased for Melzer.

It’s a work in progress.

Save it for the inevitable final, Rafa.

7 Responses to “RG Day 11: This Is Why I Shouldn’t Say Things”

  1. naughty T...urbane gentleman said

    Well perhaps you can take comfort that Satan is moving into the arena of the underachiever and therefore will at some point come good…

  2. AmyLu said

    I’m so deflated about this loss…I really don’t know what to think about Nole. I thought he was ripe for a loss to Ferru in the quarters, but once his draw cleared the way it did, I just assumed he’d make the semis. And the most agonizing aspect of this loss? I had to “follow” most of it on a scoreboard since the Tennis Channel decided it was more important to listen to Gimelstob’s “analysis” before the Rafa/Nico QF started than to watch LIVE tennis, and then once the Rafa/Nico match started, they didn’t once flip over. Things didn’t get any better when ESPN took over coverage (I love tennis in the US, you have to change channels in the middle of matches) since ESPN also decided it wasn’t worthy to ever peek into the match during the Rafa/Nico QF and then once that match ended, we had to see Venus and Serena win in doubles. So all I saw was the last two games of the match, which obviously sucked from a Nole fan’s perspective. Melzer seemed to be playing incredibly well in the little bit I watched, but I’d like to know what exactly happened in that third set.

    I miss confident, brash, arrogant, whatever-you-want-to-call-it, Nole. So much. Even if that Nole causes me much angst as a Rafa fan, I want him back. ASAP.

    • linz said

      “I miss confident, brash, arrogant, whatever-you-want-to-call-it, Nole.”

      I completely agree- and not because I liked him, I’ve never been a huge Nole fan (I also am not a hater though)- but because the entire ATP was a much more interesting place with that Nole. I miss his intense matches with Rafa, Murray, and Fed. He used to such a compelling presence, now he’s an awfully… pitiful presence? I dunno, that sounds awfully harsh, I don’t mean it to- I just think it’s bizarre that a player that used to inspire so much…animosity…now inspires pity! It’s strange.

      However, I’ve always thought that Djokovic’s career would follow Roddick’s more closely than Fed or Rafa’s, and I think that’s going to be true. He’s always going to be near the top, and will make some resurgences, but I don’t think he’s ever going to be the dominating force that people had hoped.

  3. tali said

    I really hoped there will be Nole Rafa Madrid 2009 rematch! Damn it

    • gauloises1 said

      I’m actually glad to be spared a Rafa-Nole rematch. I love love love watching them play as a rule, one of my favourite match-ups, but with Nole in this form it would have been a 2, 2 and 2 battering, and painful to watch, I think.

      • AmyLu said

        I could very well be wrong, but I thought if Nole made it to Rafa, his play would improve. He’s been rather patchy before he’s met Rafa, and there’s something in that match-up that seems to bring out his intensity and high levels of play (it hasn’t translated to a win on clay yet — but I’d argue Madrid was the best I’ve ever seen Nole play on clay).

        I also think Rafa seems slightly unsettled and unnerved this tournament so I was half-dreading this match (and half eagerly anticipating it).

  4. harini said

    This was probably the most depressing part about the tournament for me. I was on the road all day and had my mother call and update me. Did not want to hear about his loss! Blah!

    I agree what AmyLu and Linz said above. Nole used to scare the hell out of me when I first saw him play Rafa. The way he played was scarily good. And yeah, I want it back too.

    Sigh. I was hoping he would at least take the fifth and just win. But no. Oh Nole 😦

Leave a Reply

 
