New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Wimbledon: It Begins

Posted by gauloises1 on June 20, 2010

Gentlemen

Draw here.

Projected QFs: Federer-Davydenko, Djokovic-Roddick, Murray-Verdasco, Nadal-Soderling

Ladies

Draw here.

Projected QFs: Serena-Radwanska, Wozniacki-Stosur, Jankovic-Clijsters, Venus-Schiavone

I have to leave in about 8 hours to camp for tickets, so no posting from me at least until Wednesday (sorry, sorry, sorry, I know I suck). I’ll be drunkenly tweeting from @newballsplease along with @crystaleyesd, my camping buddy. Wave if you see me on TV!

We’ll see you there.

In the meantime, can I recommend (i.e. plead) that you participate in the Battle of the Boards bracket challenge, courtesy of the amazing Steve from britishtennis.net? Just fill in the draw according to who you think will win each round, select ‘NB – NewBallsPlease’ from the teams dropdown, then sit back and watch the carnage visited by this blog on all other would-be challengers. Because that will how it will be.

Back Wednesday I promise (I know, nothing but sweet, sweet words that turn to bitter orange wax in your ears). And if anybody out there is going to be at Wimbledon on Monday or Tuesday, or camping tomorrow, drop me a line on ybounden@hotmail.co.uk, and come and say hi. Or just look for the girls with the pink tent and the total lack of any sort of suitable camping equipment drinking Pinot Grigio frizzante and talking loudly about Mario Ancic …

12 Responses to “Wimbledon: It Begins”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    I signed up for that thur website, or so I thought, but now I’m not sure if I did it properly. BUT DON’T WORRY, GAUL, I’LL TRY AND TRY AGAIN!

    Also let me say I am really quite jealous of your Wimbledonianness, although maybe not necessarily so jealous of the camping-on-the-hard-ground part.

    I can’t wait to see your updates! GO FOR THE GOLD!

  2. mina said

    i’d kill to go camping for Wimbledon tickets. i hate you. 😛

    kidding of course. i hope you get good seats, we’ll be waiting for the drunken tweets.

  3. whitelinefervor said

    I’m totally part of the NBracket swingers. Please direct all scorn/blame for poor team performance my way, please. I will be the Boggo (scapegoat) of Battle of the Boards!

  4. jb (what is happening?) said

    pfft. i have hewitt in the semis. I am a willing participant in the battle for you, but really – i just suck. sigh.

    am a VERY good bartender though – so you will NOT regret my being on your team. 😀

    unless they penalize us for general suckiness. 😆

  5. naughty T...urbane gentleman said

    I am in counted on that thur Board Battling… or even boredom battling.. laughing my arse off at the nummber of MAndy.com folk on there.. they are so losing already.

  6. linz said

    I greatly apologize for entering in our group and picking my favorite players to do awesome. I only showed restraint once- I couldn’t pick Johny over Rafa. But seriously- you can blame all suckage on me.

  7. irefusetotellyou said

    We’re such an optimistic group, no? 😆

    DON’T WORRY EVERYONE, I AM CONFIDENT WE WILL WIN!

    MY PICKS ARE SURE TO LEAD US TO VICTORY!

    /pep-talk

  8. lauren said

    I’m in. I’m sunburnt and hungover, so my entry is probably riddled with idiocy, but hey.

    Now I just have to figure out how to watch multiple court coverage on the BBC stream, plus the World cup, and have my in-laws to stay at the same time.

  9. harini said

    Aw I missed joining the bracket challenge. Next year for sure! Go team New Balls, Please!

    And Gaul, have a lovely time at Wimbledon. I’m enjoying your tweets 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
