New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Wimbledon: Day of the Dead

Posted by gauloises1 on June 23, 2010

Let’s take a moment and deal with this.

Two days. Ten hours.

The longest match in history.

The longest set in history.

The most aces in a match in history (Isner), closely followed by Mahut.

By my invariably faulty maths, 144 games without a break of serve.

And it’s still not over.

I will genuinely kill the next person to suggest a fifth-set tiebreak be introduced at Wimbledon.

That is all. Except please, please read this.

The most loveable zombies of all time. 

10 Responses to “Wimbledon: Day of the Dead”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    I pretty much felt like Mahut in that last picture there as the match went on … no disrespect to the players, but that was THE MOST FUCKING BORING MATCH OF MY LIFE.

    I mean, OK, aside from the scoreline and the LONGEST MATCH EVER and the MOST ACES EVER and the EVERYTHING EVER EVER, the tennis itself made me want to punch myself in the face. Or at least take a nap, which I did. And when I got up, it still wasn’t over.

    That said, I cannot even BELIEVE those 2 guys were still standing when the whole thing was (not) over. I honestly don’t know who I want to win … HELP US NEVERENDING TENNIS JESUS!

    • gauloises1 said

      I completely agree … to some extent.

      It was a bit reminiscent of the 2009 final, really. Great drama … very dull actual tennis. That’s why I linked the Guardian article, if I’d actually been watching the whole damn thing rather than having it on the TV above my desk I probably would have gouged out my own eyes.

      But even dreadful experiences became fantastic if they go on for long enough to get through awfulness and punch out the other side. This is what the queue has taught me.

      *ponders writing the Tao of Queue*

    • AmyLu said

      I missed all of it. 😦 I watched the US in World Cup with friends this morning and then had to go write do-files and run a statistical analysis that took all afternoon (and I guarantee that the tennis had to be more interesting than my analysis…). I followed on a scoreboard, my “reward” each time I completed something was to look…it just kept going, and going, and going. And I got really confused when it reverted back to 1 for the 5th set.

  2. Linz said

    I DIED. About a thousand times. From boredom. From excitement. From frazzle. From numbness. There were many deaths.

    Then I got drunk and I STILL CANNOT EVEN BEGIN TO COMPREHEND OMG.

    SERIOUSLY.

    DIED. OMG. DRUNK. ALTERNATE UNIVERSE. BAD COMMENT. I CANNOT BELIEVE MY JOHNY WAS INVOLVED IN THIS MATCH.

  3. tali said

    Jesus what a match! I just couldnt watch at the end I felt so bad for them! It was rather ridiculous yet I cant wait for 3.30pm when they come on court again. Go Isner x

Leave a Reply

 
