New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Wimbledon Day 7: Wha’?

Posted by gauloises1 on June 28, 2010

So, apparently I totally jinxed Andy Roddick to a five-set defeat by Yen-Hsun Lu. My powers are greater than I knew.

Sorry, dude.

I only saw this match from 5-5 in the fifth, so there’s a limit to my insight. But I get the impression (confirmed by what I saw) that Roddick’s play was almost bizarrely passive. He seemed to be choosing to enter into these long baseline rallies with Lu, and when he did come into the net his approaches were both tentative and desperate. He got invariably burned and, although it seemed impossible, once the fifth set stretched on with Roddick serving to stay in it, the end felt more and more inevitable, eventually coming at 9-7 courtesy of a Lu passer.

I don’t know if his lack of matches eventually caught up with him or what, but the match for me was very reminiscent of his straight sets defeat by Dudi Sela at Queens; he yelled in frustration to his camp then that he couldn’t see the ball, and acknowledged in his presser today that for the first three sets, he wasn’t feeling the ball at all.

Whatever, it’s a real heartbreaker for Roddick and his fans, especially after last year’s heroics. I can’t bring myself to watch his press conference, but it seems devoid of the fundamentally good-natured gallows humour that he can usually summon at the worst of times.

Q. So tomorrow when you wake up, you think you’re going to be pissed off, disappointed?

ANDY RODDICK: I’m going to be thrilled. I mean, c’mon.

Q. You’ve been through these slams before.

ANDY RODDICK: And it never gets easier. Of course I’m going to be pissed off when I wake up tomorrow. I mean, if you got fired from your job, you probably wouldn’t wake up the next day in a great mood. I mean, c’mon, let’s go. We’re better than those questions.

source

Honestly, after this kind of defeat there’s not much to say apart from asking questions the answers to which I don’t think anyone will enjoy. So there’s that. Sorry, Andy fans.

The fantastic performance of Yen-Hsun ‘Rendy’ (apparently) Lu should not be overlooked, however. I gave him pretty much no chance whatsoever ahead of this match and while there were obvious deficiencies in Roddick’s performance, it would have got it done against a hell of a lot of other opponents with Lu’s ranking and lack of experience at this level. But not only was Lu serving great, he was playing with such patience and cool you’d think he’d knocked out a top ten opponent in the fourth round of Wimbledon many times before. I was so impressed with him, and I don’t think I can be the only one.

His presser was adorable, too:

Q. What were the emotions like for you after the match? You won, sat down in your chair. What was going through your mind after the victory?

YEN‑HSUN LU: Yeah, I mean, for me, because I really thankful for my family. Also because I’m really upset because my father’s already pass away. I make this result. I’m really proud myself to share this victory with him in the sky. I hope he see this match.

So in that moment, I just sit and tell myself, I done it. I done for my father. I done for myself also. I done for all the people support me, yeah.

[…] Q. What was your family doing, your family business?

YEN‑HSUN LU: My father doing, he’s selling the chicken, not the meat, but the live chicken. So they sell the chicken, send it to the farm or something. After, they kill and become the meat. So I can catch a chicken. I can show you. Yeah, serious. I can catch a chicken (smiling).

Q. Can you elaborate on that? Was this like a chicken farm where your dad worked? Did you work with him there?

YEN‑HSUN LU: I tried few times. But I don’t really like because smell really bad. But I know is very tough work. They always working between 1:00 in the morning to 6:00 in the morning, like very early. That time the chicken cannot run away because they cannot see.

Good on you, Rendy Lu. He’ll face Novak Djokovic in the quarter-finals.

As for Andy Roddick, it’s back to the drawing board once again. In fairness, there aren’t many who have demonstrated a greater degree of resilience in their time. He’ll be needing it now.

3 Responses to “Wimbledon Day 7: Wha’?”

  1. Cubbie said

    Feel bad for Andy but congrats to rRndy.

    His interview is utterly adorbale. It made me laugh out times several times.

  2. Ayliya Uy said

    I ignored Rafa’s match (and I never do that) to watch this. After losing the fourth set tiebreak, I kind of lost faith that Lu can take it given that he hasn’t been able to break Andy’s serve all match. But in the end, he did it! Props to Lu.

  3. harini said

    I felt so bad for Andy. And that presser – seriously, what great questions he was asked. /sarcasm.

    Props to Lu though, for sure. I kept thinking he would eventually get broken by Andy and it would all be over for him. Somehow he managed to keep going and eventually take it!

    Good luck to him next match but I’ll be rooting for Nole. Sorry Rendy.

Leave a Reply

 
