New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

“Cramp!”

Posted by gauloises1 on June 30, 2010

In case you weren’t aware, John Isner is the new darling of the talk-show circuit. Here he is on David Letterman (which I know is an American thing), doing some sort of ritualised top 10 list:

Top 10 thoughts that went through my mind while watching this video:

1. Is that Jon Lovitz talking just off-camera, or someone doing an impression of him? Or are American talk shows generally populated by people who talk like Jon Lovitz?

2. So, this Letterman guy is a bit old. Like, Parkinson old.

3. His comedy is also old. Jonathan Ross would be ashamed of that mocked-up photoshop bit.

4. Isner looks hot.

5. Isner looks actually really hot.

6. Isner does not have very good comic timing.

7. Isner looks hot, though.

8. Remember when Marat was on this show?

9. Did Delpo go on this show when he won the US Open? And if not, why not?

10. I miss Delpo.

15 Responses to ““Cramp!””

  1. Hart said

    1. Holy crap, Isner is tall

    2. Did Letterman’s writers go play a 70-68 match before writing these jokes? Can we check if they are still alive?

    3. Eyes off the teleprompter, John!

    4. Pretty sure Isner wanted a challenge on having to say that last joke on national tv.

    5. Am I missing a reference on the ‘cramp!’ joke? Is it funny if you get the reference? Cause otherwise…

    ..yeah, I don’t have anything more. I guess I don’t have that many thoughts.

  2. neilintoronto said

    what a bunch of killjoys, Isner was funny, Letterman’s a beast as usual.

  3. Linz said

    I know I’m predictable, but I’m just going to say *squeeee* *adorable*

    He DOES look hot G. And he’s so adorably awkward that it’s just adorably amazing and did I mention ADORABLE?

    HAVE I TOLD YOU LATELY THAT I LOVE HIM?

  4. AmyLu said

    Marat was absolutely fantastic on Letterman. I still love watching that video.

    And, Isner also got to throw out the first pitch at a Yankees’ game tonight, which is a pretty big deal. Happy for him that he’s getting attention and as a by-product, so is tennis in the US. 🙂

  5. irefusetotellyou said

    I always wished John had a better onscreen personality than he does — I mean, in interviews and stuff. Not that he doesn’t seem like a nice, friendly guy and all, but I guess I expect more Andy Roddick-like wit.

    That being said, I thought he did really well here! #5 and #4 cracked me up — I like how he was obviously enjoying himself. His smile/laugh made me smile! GO IZZZZZ!

  6. irefusetotellyou said

    P.S: Thoughts that went through Delpo’s head after winning the USO:

    10. “Who is this short old white Dick and why won’t he let me speak in Spanish?”

  7. Tracy said

    Mmmm, definitely filing his smile in the “bedtime thoughts” section of my brain.

    And those HANDS! I’m reminded of that slightly awkward line from Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland: “I like largeness.” Hehehe.

    Johnny did a fine job! I’ll admit that the timing needs work. But he compensates well with much largeness and cuteness.

  8. rulin said

    Another timely JMDP post (okay, not really a JMDP post but I think at New Balls, we can hijack anything with Delpo material). I am not sure what I dreamed, but I woke up thinking there had been news that JMDP was actually going to defend his USO. It was cruel.

  9. harini said

    I love Isner’s face when he said “I wish I’d played Federer, the match would have been over in 15 minutes.” GOLD.

    And the no. 1 thing. Hilarious.

    Oh Isner, you are adorable. He reminded me of a taller, not high-cheekboned version of Colin Morgan in this video.

Leave a Reply

 
