New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Wimbledon Day 9: … And The Rest

Posted by gauloises1 on July 1, 2010

OK, I’m so tired I can barely see, so let’s just wrap the other guys up in one mammoth, picture-heavy post …

Rafael Nadal d. Robin Soderling, 36 63 76(4) 61

Odd match, this one. I didn’t see much of it, but what I did see confused me. I looked at the score and Robin was leading 5-0 in the opening set; then I looked back and he was going off on Pascal Maria.

Weirdness. Anyway, Rafa obviously righted the ship and that’s about all I can say about that. So the closest thing that the draw has to a defending champion left is through to the semi-finals. Yay. As for Robin, he fizzled a bit after a devastating start to the tournament, but it’s still a good Wimbledon for him. I want him to keep this up and kick on in the summer. It can happen.

Novak Djokovic d. Yen-Hsun Lu, 63 62 62

It’s remarkable how under-the-radar Nole has been this tournament, even in the quarterfinals. Perhaps that’s exactly what he needed, because something’s working. OK, so it was a tough ask for Lu to back up his win over Roddick with a win over Nole, but from what I saw, Djoko (heh) was playing absolutely fantastic. His semi-final against Berdych should be a cracker, and if Berdych has any kind of a letdown from the form he displayed against Federer, Nole has an excellent chance to make the final. Nole. In the final. It could happen. And he looks like he’s having fun. I think that deserves a small picspam.

Fly, Nole. Fly high.

Andy Murray d. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, 67(5) 76(5) 62 62

This was billed, I think deservedly, as Murray’s first real test of the tournament, and in some ways it didn’t quite live up to the expectations. Murray came out worryingly passive, wasn’t serving great, and the imperious form of the early rounds looked like it might be proving to be an illusion.

As Murray’s early break in the second set dissolved and Jo went up a minibreak in the tiebreak, it looked like a lot of the glee I heard from people in my office at the thought that Federer was out of the way (hello, Nadal?) was going to get the kind of response it deserved. Luckily for Murray, however, Jo made a bizarre decision at 5-5 in the tiebreak to leave a reflex stretch return from Murray, and it dropped in to give Andy a set point which he duly took. That decision seemed to take the wind out of Jo’s sails completely and he rather faded away in the third and fourth sets, allowing Murray to cruise to the finish line.

So a lucky escape for Murray in some ways, but he got the win. He’s through. And from now on, what with that Nadal bloke and everything, getting the win is all that matters.

Keep it going, handsome.

10 Responses to “Wimbledon Day 9: … And The Rest”

  1. kefuoe said

    Nadal, a recent graduate of the Juan Monaco School of Dramatic Gesticulating, was upset that Maria had granted a point rather than a do-over on an overruled line call. Brad Gilbert and others theorized that the contretemps was just the “espresso shot” that Nadal needed to get into the match.

    • AmyLu said

      I had to laugh when he said something along the lines of “what is it with umpires and me here?” I have no idea why the point wasn’t replayed there, but I agree with Gilbert. I think it ended up working very much to Rafa’s advantage, as I think his intensity went up.

    • gauloises1 said

      “the Juan Monaco School of Dramatic Gesticulating”

      But did he get to the point of leaning on the umpire’s chair and looking up at him all puppy-dog eyes and injured innocence? Probably not. I think that’s the advanced course.

      • kefuoe said

        Yes, graduate level course: Ocular Evocation of Sympathy and Guilt

      • lauren said

        Next time he’ll remember to touch the ump’s chair – just by the fingertips, mind, nothing disrespectful – whilst genuflecting in obvious torment. Then doing things with his eyebrows that come straight from the Dynasty School of Hammy Acting.

        *Sigh* Juan, get well soon.

        Actually when mild-mannered Rafa gets angry I get really uncomfortable. It takes me right back to childhood when my mum was always yelling about something but if my dad ever got mad, I knew I had seriously overstepped the mark.

  2. AmyLu said

    I completely missed the first set of Rafa/Robin, but I was happy with Nadal’s play in the sets I did watch (minus the complete lack of focus trying to serve out the third). I do think Soderling was running on fumes, both physically and mentally, by the end of the match, which was a shame.

    I didn’t get to watch much of the Tsonga/Murray match, until the last two sets which were rather disappointing from Jo. Well done to Murray, but I’d hoped Jo would put in a better effort for the entire match, as I had high hopes for this one. Didn’t really care who won, just wanted to see a good contest. If someone could explain to me what Tsonga was thinking at the end of the 2nd set TB, I’d greatly appreciate it. I’m still shaking my head over that one.

    • gauloises1 said

      I think it’s in the Wimbledon air, AmyLu. Tim used to do it on crucial points time and time again. The BBC website coined it the “suicide leave” in his honour and that’s how I’ve thought of it ever since. Forget Henman Hill, that’s his true legacy.

      • AmyLu said

        That’s great — I’d never heard that term before. Can’t think of a better way to describe that type of point, either!

  3. tali said

    God how I wish for Nole Rafa final!!!

Leave a Reply

 
