New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

The Word on Day Eight.

Posted by gauloises1 on January 24, 2011

Few of the men and women cracking me up today. Good quotes.

Q. You’re so different, at least you seem so different, to Pistolesi. He is always telling jokes. I don’t know if he does it with you. But I know him since he was 18 years old. Do you like the company also or you don’t see away from tennis?

ROBIN SODERLING: No, we spend a lot of time together. He’s a great guy.

I think you’re wrong. I think we’re very similar. It’s just that I don’t tell you guys jokes (smiling).

Q. Well, start.

ROBIN SODERLING: No (smiling).

source

He’s a funny guy.

Q. Do you have a favorite Billy Connolly joke?

ANDY MURRAY: No. That’s the thing. We used to listen to it all the time, from maybe like 10, 11 years old until I was up to 15, 16. Then I haven’t seen that much of his stuff for a little while. I’m hoping I’m going to be able to go along and see it. We got a few little tidbits when we were talking to him.

My mum and dad were pretty lenient with that stuff. Probably why my language is so bad on the court (smiling).

source

 

Q. It was a very exciting and tough match. In the end you lost. Why do you think you lost?
SHUAI PENG: Bad luck (smiling).

[…] The tennis is like this. Like sometimes you down, you win. Sometimes you up, you lose.

source

Wise words.

Q. Maybe next time you go into a Grand Slam, you should have no practice and no matches.

AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA: Yeah, I think I should have surgery before every Grand Slam definitely

source

Q. Do you find it distracting when everybody is calling out, I love you, Rafa?

RAFAEL NADAL: No, I feel fantastic (laughter).

Q. Are you able to block it out?

RAFAEL NADAL: No, I heard everything. But is nice (smiling).

Q. What about when the girls whistle at you and take pictures of you when you’re changing your shirt?

RAFAEL NADAL: That’s a very good feeling (smiling).

Q. Could you tell us more about this Armani campaign? Was it a good experience? What do you think of the pictures?

RAFAEL NADAL: Was a long experience, but very good experience, no? Is always nice to know different worlds. The fashion world is something that I didn’t know before.

Yeah, was a good session of photos, long one. But hopefully the result are satisfactory, so… I worked very hard, seriously (laughter). So, yeah, was nice. A different experience and I enjoyed.

Q. Do you find you sexy on the picture?

RAFAEL NADAL: I’m not the right person to say. I always watch myself so so. But what do you think? Do you like it?

source

Nothing puts Rafa in a good mood like beating one of my favourites.

And my favourite quote of the day …

Q. You won the first set, then what happened after that?

FLAVIA PENNETTA: She won the second and the third.

source

Ask a stupid question …

One Response to “The Word on Day Eight.”

  1. AmyLu said

    I love Flavia. That is all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
