New Balls, Please

"Climbing the Comeback Mountain with the Tower of Tandil."

  • Recent Posts

  • Unhealthily Obsessed With

    agnieszka radwanska alize cornet amelie mauresmo ana ivanovic andy murray andy roddick aravane rezai ATP ATP week ahead australian open beijing belgrade british tennis bstaad caroline wozniacki cincinnati daniela hantuchova david ferrer david nalbandian davis cup dinara safina doha dubai elena dementieva ernests gulbis estoril fed cup feliciano lopez fernando gonzalez fernando verdasco flavia pennetta francesca schiavone french open gael monfils gilles simon image is everything indian wells jelena jankovic jo-wilfried tsonga john isner juan carlos ferrero juan martin del potro juan monaco julien benneteau justine henin kim clijsters kuala lumpur li na lleyton hewitt los angeles madrid marat safin marcos baghdatis maria kirilenko maria sharapova marin cilic marion bartoli melanie oudin miami mikhail youzhny montreal munich nikolay davydenko novak djokovic paris masters philipp kohlschreiber queens radek stepanek rafael nadal richard gasquet robin soderling roger federer rome sabine lisicki samantha stosur sam querrey serena williams shahar peer shanghai sorana cirstea stuttgart svetlana kuznetsova sydney the withdrawal method thomaz bellucci titlists tokyo tomas berdych tommy robredo us open venus williams vera zvonareva victoria azarenka video wimbledon WTA wta week ahead WTFs yanina wickmayer
  • Categories

Your Semi-Regular Delpo Update

Posted by gauloises1 on February 3, 2011

What’s our favourite world no. 485 up to these days? Apart from being generally perfect.

Well, he confirmed his schedule for the next few weeks via twitter; he’s playing the SAP Open in San Jose (begins 7th February, a.k.a next week), followed by the Regions Morgan Keegan Championships in Memphis and then Delray Beach.

That takes us up to the end of February. He’s also confirmed he won’t be playing the first round Davis Cup tie against Romania in March as he’ll be busy concentrating on building up his ranking. It looks like he’ll be using his protected ranking to enter San Jose, but Memphis have given him a wildcard – and so they should. Can’t quite tell about Delray Beach at the moment, but I hope he has a wildcard there too. He really, really needs to win a few matches during this swing. A 485 ranking is no joke. That’s, like, a British ranking.

The general mood is sombre but resolute, as in his recent ATP World Tour Uncovered video, which I have watched about a thousand times. Once I run across a youtube link for it, I’ll embed. Also, if any NB-readers out there are willing to cop to being one of those girls who stand around beaming nervously at him so that he virtually has to step over them to avoid a trampling, you will become my hero. That is all.

This concludes your semi-regular Delpo update …

EDIT: And if you want an insight into the up-close-and-personal Australian Open practice-court del Potro perving experience, check out one stalker woman’s experience on the great Court Thirteen.

11 Responses to “Your Semi-Regular Delpo Update”

  1. irefusetotellyou said

    WOO WOOO

    I always love me some semi-regular Delpo updates. Although I’m a bit concerned — maybe you should get that checked out or try some Activia or something so you’d be more regular? / (… HAR HAR HAR hilarious joke.)

    Anyway, if I ever see him in person (again — DON’T THINK I DON’T REMEMBER WIMBLEDON ’09 WHEN YOU WERE LIKE 20 FEET AWAY AND 15 FEET ABOVE ME CROSSING THAT BRIDGE TO THE PLAYER’S AREA, DELPOID!), I have big plans to sing “Don’t cry for me, Argentinaaaaa!” as loudly as possible. I’m sure that’ll be attractive and alluring, right?

  2. “Standing around beaming at him” – how did you KNOW? I had already planned my official stakeout of Delpo’s first round match at the Aussie, but as luck would have it, a day earlier I was casually rambling around the outer courts, get to practice court 4 and see someone who looks vaguely familiar, kinda the way you look at a family member or high school close friend you haven’t seen in ages? And they look so lovable and for a second it clicks and then suddenly you’re all… AAH IT’S DELPO, and I won’t lie to you, aside from the warm fuzzy feelings that cascaded through me I literally had tears in my eyes (okay, maybe some fell down my cheeks…) It was so beautiful, watching the whole tennis world stand around and applaud him playing on a practice court like he’d just won Wimbledon. Oh, Delpo, You made me so happy. And the Dudi Sela match. Blissful. I must email you the pics, you’ll cry too.

    • gauloises1 said

      Ah ha ha, I should have known 🙂 I saw your Delpo practice pics that you had on the blog – they’re lovely! Hang about, I’ll link to them.

      Do you know, I have never seen the man in person close up. He just … keeps … avoiding me. I had corporate hospitality for a match of his at the o2, but that’s the closest I’ve come.

    • naughty T....urbane gentleman said

      ct13 pssst that is not Dimitrov on your blog.. it is Raonic. but lovely Delpoopoo pics.

  3. linz said

    I’ll volunteer to be the official Memphis Delpo stalker. Mainly because it will distract me from Rod, Sammy, and Johny losing in my presence.

  4. kefuoe said

    As it happens, my sister won a trip to the Memphis event at a charity tournament she played in. I’m sure she can be persuaded into engaging in nearly any covert mission you might require– clandestine photos, surreptitious sniffing and the like.

  5. robert said

    An interesting bit from an Argentinian journalist (FueBuena on Twitter) about a change in racquet tension for Del Potro after his surgery.

    He tweeted a few pages on Feb. 1st with answers from an official stringer at AO, who gave racquet tensions, racquet weights and string types for various players and explained that more tension gives more control, but then you need to apply more strength to hit. Recreational players should not put too high tension, otherwise their playing arm will hurt. Then he tweeted this:
    Pesa 350 la de Delpo y después de la operación bajó un poco la tensión y usa 58 libras (antes 63).

    Delpo’s racquet weighs 350 g and after his surgery he uses a slightly lower tension of 58 pounds (before, it was 63).

    To compare with racquet tensions of other players: Neto 24 (his is the lowest), Volandri 29, Nalbandian 44, Federer 52, Djokovic 53, Nadal 55, Soderling 55, Monaco 58, Roddick 59, Murray 60, Malisse 73 (his is the highest)

    Racquet weights: Nadal 337, Federer 350…

  6. Hi there exceptional website! Does running a blog such as this take
    a lot of work? I have virtually no understanding of programming but I was hoping
    to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any recommendations
    or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject
    nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
